We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #65 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Good location”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on business. Reception staff were very friendly. Room was not the biggest but clean and good desk space for working. Bed very comfortable and room was quiet. Internet connection is fast.
Location is great. Tram a few hundred yards away and goes straight to the old town.
Breakfast is expensive so I had mine at a local Café. There is a Migros supermarket very close too.
I would recommend hanging your do not disturb sign up as the cleaners were knocking to clean my room at 0800!!

Room Tip: Front room face the main road - I had a room to the back which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rup_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zürich for your recent stay. Your kind feedback is much appreciated. It is a great pleasure for us to read about your positive experiences. We hope that you will consider our hotel for your visits in Zurich in the future as well.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    565
    292
    99
    59
See reviews for
163
420
109
436
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Martin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I wanted a nice hotel. Central Zurich hotels seemed to cost 300+ euros a night. This was half that and not far from the center with good public transport.

The room was nice, not too small. Nicely laid out, good facilities, nice extras like a plush dressing own and slippers.

Free 256 wifi worked fine for email and Skype. Hi speed add 9 euros.

Generally a good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 1. take tram 3 from the train station. Albisriederplatz and walk 150 meters up Bardenerstrasse to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YodaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich as well as your kind feedback. It is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return to our hotel and ensure you that we will do our utmost to make your stay a pleasant one again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Zürich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here due to a conference for two nights including breakfast plus lunch and reception on the conference day.
The breakfast is charged extra (CHF 29,-) but it offers a wide range of food, drinks ans fruits which is more than reasonable comparing to the prices of Switzerland.
The same applies for the food and service of the lunch and reception.
However, the breakfast hall can be quite crowded and you might find yourself navigating among heaps of Japanese tourists.
The building itself is made of preproduced elements therefore looks unfriendly from outside. The single rooms are small, it's remarkable that two rooms have been done from one previous one. The beds are sinking, bathroom is small no toilet brush available. In my room the hairdryer was not working.
When I wished to sleep a bit I woke up that the neighbour is having a shower. At first glance I thought he is doing it on my head...! :(
Definitely not happy with the room...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisztina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich recently. We are sorry to read about your negative impressions. Kindly let us ensure you that our guest rooms have not been partitioned but carefully renovated during 2010. Due to our hygienic standards, there are no toilet brushes in the bathrooms but our house keeping team is happy to provide you with one upon request. We are keen to control all room equipment on a frequent basis and would like to apologize that the hairdryer in your room was not working. Of course we replace or amend all devices promptly if they do not work properly.
We are also sorry to see your bad mark for the sleep quality. Our Sleep Advantage program has been created to offer an outstanding sleeping experience for our guests. We recommend you to ask for the quiet zone when booking again.
It would be a pleasure for us to be your host in the future too.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in 2012-I echo the words of Mrs Bartos review-Good base for sightseeing away from the city centre but with great transport links into the centre in approx. 10 minutes. Friendly staff , and good service. Recommended.

Room Tip: Overlooking the green /park area rather than the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zürich for your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to ensure you that your compliements have been passed on to our team. Your feedback is a great reward for our daily effort to offer an outstanding service.
It would be a pleasure for us to be your host again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,549 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We are on a whirlwind driving tour of Europe and I stayed in Zurich with my partner, On our way to Vienna? I chose the Crowne Plaza, as I am a member of the Platinum Priority Club Rewards Ambassador.

On arrival to the hotel, we were greeted warmly and were given a nice compact room that had a a welcome letter and a small box of chocolates, being Switzerland it might have been a tad bigger. This is also the first of 15 IHG hotels not to give me complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. But I'm sure the place was busy we saw bus loads of tourists arrive. I'm never sure why my tittle is so confusing as well its clearly on my drivers license and profile.

The room was is as I said small but compact nearly all you would need including safe, tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar, and very clean the bathroom facilities, kept my partner very happy.
Breakfast was very good, as was diner the night before, the staff are very helpful and friendly. theres free internet which was enough for us to use our iPads and to keep in touch on FB and check emails.

All the staff were unbelievably helpful, and very friendly, if i was coming as a tourist for a few days i might want a hotel in the city, but this one suited our purposes and would certainly suit the business traveller. Great location in west Zurich, and within close proximity of nice and affordable restaurants.

This year in June 2013 the Priority Rewards club gets a revamp, a new name and new benefits, with some better reward opportunities and will be called the IHG Rewards Club, so look out for those exciting changes. As an IHG Platinum Ambassador, I can recommend this Hotel and the rewards program.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Your loyalty and detailed feedback are much appreciated! Thank you for choosing the IHG properties for your hotel stays. We are very happy to read about your positive experience and to pass on your warm compliments to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in Zurich again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

In a city where a burger with drink costs $15 and a reasonable meal easily costs more than $30, I would say this hotel is a great budget option if you can get the price below $150 (or in CHF). The hotel is located on the West side of Zurich, perhaps in a more residential area. But tram 2 and 3 goes to the Albisriederplatz, and then it's a 5-10 minute walk from there, and you can find a couple of grocery markets on the way, which are quite helpful if you can afford the hotel but not their pricey breakfast. The hotel is really close to the Letzigrund, the home stadium of FC Zurich, so if you are really boring go there for a soccer game.

The room is very clean although a little small. There are international power outlets near the bed, but at least the US outlet doesn't seem to work properly for me(so bring your adapter or ask the staff for one!). The bathroom has some design flaws, the glass door cannot be moved or closed, and thus when taking a shower, it's very easy to get the bathroom flooded.

Nevertheless it is still a nice hotel and I am especially happy with the box of chocolate as a welcome gift to Platinum member, at least it's not the chocolate bar or veggie dip you might get in a US hotel :-) Also you get free high-speed wifi (wifi at a slower speed is free for all guests) and late check out too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junglyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing the IHG hotels during your travels. We are pleased to read your review and highly appreciate that you took your precious time to write about the Crowne Plaza Zürich.
We are looking forward to contributing to your positive hotel experiences in the future as well.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is not close to town, but is halfway in-between stops on the number 3 tram which only takes 13min to the HB Main Station. It is not too far to walk if you have a bag with wheels and is reasonably priced. Lovely new decor in rooms the only thing I would say is that the doors can be a little noisy but not very often that you hear that. The concierge is very helpful, the gym is really great with everything you would need, lots of business people there but we were sight seeing and really would recommend this hotel. The city is very easy to get around the public transport is very safe, easy to use and very on time like the swiss are !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Bartos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind feedback as well as your compliment regarding the „Swiss exactingness“. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Zürich and hope that you will be our guest again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Directof of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#47 of 139 in Zurich
626 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
2,164 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
520 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#71 of 139 in Zurich
507 reviews
Crown Plaza Zurich
#102 of 139 in Zurich
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing