We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #65 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“home away home”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

crowne plaza zurich is very suitably located.The staff & concierge persons are extremely helpful.During my stay there almost for a week they so planned my tours of switzerland which was very enjoying & economical too.The morning breakfast is sumtuous & prepares you well for the day ahead.Rooms are very comfortable & service prompt.I look forward to stay there again & I highly recommend this hotel to other people too.

Room Tip: ask for front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva2casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review and for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been forwarded to our team.
It would be a pleasure for us to be your host again and we would like to ensure you that we will do our utmost to make your stay a pleasant one.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    565
    291
    99
    59
See reviews for
163
420
109
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I am a platinium priority club member, and I am very familiar to Crowne Plaza hotels around the World. I noticed that this CP offer a wide range of TV programmes selection (62) but not for Italian guests. You can have 2 chinese channels, Thai channels, spanish, german etc, but NO one Italian TV programme (RAI or MEDIASET) but just a single Italian Swiss Channel that doesn't represent anything for Italian guests. This is very insulting in my opinion. When I asked explanation to the hotel management in the lobby, I was told: "there is the Swiss Italian Channel, for us is enough"! but when I explained that this is not the case, they seems don't care about.

If you come to Zurich, choice other hotels, I am really upset about this obvious discrimination to all Italians visiting Zurich..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaroShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Our main goal is to provide our guests with a pleasant stay and outstanding service; therefore, we are very sorry to read about your negative impressions. We offer 68 national and international TV programs, three in Italian: Rete Uno, Rete Due and Rete Tre. Our hotel management is keen to negotiate with our TV service partner for the best conditions and a wide range of programs. The answer you received does not reflect our usual efforts and standards. Kindly let us apologize.
We would like to underline that we do not discriminate any of our guests. It is our passion to be a good host and to welcome our guests in a friendly and polite manner. We are also proud of working with a very international team in a constructive and positive atmosphere.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Crowne Plaza hotel in Zurich is nice hotel located in the suburbs of Zurich. It is about a half hour walk from the main train station, not ideal if you have bags to lug. The hotel staff were friendly, the rooms were small but adequate. Very good utilisation of space, however, not very practical. The entrace to the en-suite was through a sliding door, was translucent and even with the door shut, you could drive a bus through the gap between the door and frame. As a result, after a shower, the room was filled with steam which made it rather stuffy. The air-con was rubbish and we had to open the windows to air the room out and this was rather inconvenient as we visited Zurich in the Dec of 2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldnavigator92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your review! Your kind compliments have been passed on to our team.
Kindly let us mention that our hotel is easily accessible with public transportation. The tram #2 (Lake Zurich) and tram #3 (Main Station Zurich) link our hotel with the city center. The tram stop is just a few minutes from our hotel. Detailed location information is posted on our website.
Concerning the air conditioning, we would like to ensure you that our team is always happy to assist you in case of any problem with the room equipment.
We offer guest rooms with different bathroom designs and doors. Kindly note your preference when booking again. It would be a pleasure for us to be your host during your next stay in Zurich.

Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A good general impression: room is clean. Bed is comfortable. Desk people are nice and helpful. Security is a serious matter: even the lift works with your room card!!

But in our room, there is no cupboard to put your cloths or things. Except a range of hangers in the entrance, and a place to put and open you suitcase (in the room entrance too).
There must be a "room bar" because there was heat coming out of the back of a closed cupboard. But it was closed with a real key. Yes, I could have asked to open it... Pffft.

There was a bottle of still drinking water in the room when we first came in. And the ladies changed it when it was empty. Well done! This is rare and really appreciated.

In the bathroom, there is hardly a place to put your stuff. No place for the soap. Whatever you do, you quickly end up in a puddle on the sides of the "modern" hemispheric lavabo (washbasin). And the shower is not closed (nor closable), so this "helps" to the puddle ambiance... A mess!

According to the latter, we "had" to ask for cleaning the room every day. And to ease the cleaning, we tried to gather our stuff in our suitcases (since there is no other place, except for raining coats on the hangers). But my wife forgot her toothbrush in a plastic cup, aside the lavabo. GONE! They washed it away!! She had no toothbrush any more for the rest of our stay. And this was over a week-end, of course. Thanks.

Instead, we had 2 chocolate ladybirds, as it was New-Year's eve. Mmmh.
Consolation prize?

The restaurant... "Letzileu", is in the same building as the hotel. Nice looking place. But the "substantial breakfast from the buffet" is only convenient for the ones who eat like dogs at mornings.. Baaarg! You simply cannot have just a "gipferly" and a coffee mug. No! Get out to the street, and go for the cross road's "Bäckerei", opened every day of the year.

One evening, we just wanted something small to finish the day. The same Letzileu restaurant refused to serve us what they did have right there!!!, in the buffet, pretending they cannot make it, except if we pay for the "buffet à gogo" at 45 bucks per head. The smallest dish "à la carte" was 20 bucks for spaghetti with tomato sauce. Same price without the sauce! We preferred passing the meal.

Yes, there is a bar inside the hotel, where they serve small things to eat. But the prices are not that small at all. And the place is so dark that my wife didn't even want to get in, to have a look...

Last but not least of our experiences:
This is about a bad "free wifi" presentation, so that "everyone" must fall into the trap.

Wifi is said to be free on the Ad. You connect and it asks for room number and your lastname. Ok. Submit!
NO!! Don't do that!!!
There is an option that is well hidden (one could really think it was done on purpose!!) on the faaaar right of your telephone screen (you don't see it, for sure), that is set to "pay 10 bucks a day" to get the fastest download speed...
As you connect to a "free wifi" (according to the advertisement), you don't even imagine that you are paying 10 bucks for that!!
I only realized the trap when I connected from the PC that is in the entrance of the Hotel.. (for free!), 2 days later... Too late to be canceled.

If I ever knew that, I would have connected directly through my operator, since I have 300 free Megabytes in my credit.

Many thanks to all of you for your interest and your patience at reading my blah blah.
Yes, I would recommend this hotel, but BE VERY CAREFUL with your toothbrush and stuff.. Hahaha.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of a corridor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your detailed review as well as for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich! We are sorry to read about your disappointments and would like to answer to your comments as follows:
Thank you very much for taking your precious time and writing about your impressions. All your compliments are much appreciated and forwarded to our team.
Our guest rooms offer minibar service. It is a common standard in hotels to provide the key for the minibar upon request at the reception desk.
Guest rooms are cleaned by our housekeeping team daily. Let us apologize for the inconvenience regarding the toothbrush of your wife. It must have been an unintentional action of our cleaning team. (Kindly note that small cosmetic items like toothbrushes can be received at our reception desk complimentary.)
We offer free early bird breakfast containing “Gipfeli” and coffee early in the morning and à la carte room service breakfast. During the week, our hotel bar provides further breakfast alternatives from 08.00 a.m. As you have mentioned, the restaurant “LetziLeu” offers buffet breakfast.
Late snacks such as baguettes, toasts, soups or quiches are available at our bar until 11.30 p.m. Our prices correspond to the price level of other bars in Zurich. We are sorry that your wife did not like the atmosphere of our bar. In the evenings, the light is dimmed to provide an atmosphere for chilling out after an eventful day. The walls are decorated with contemporary artworks.
We do offer complimentary internet access in all rooms and areas of the hotel up to 256 KB. For a faster connection, a package of CHF 09.95 / 24 hours (per gadget) is available. We are sorry to read about the troubles you had when using our internet service. Your comments have been forwarded to our responsible manager.
We hope, you will choose our hotel again when lodging in Zurich next time.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night before my connecting trip from Zurich. I booked this hotel as they were offering a discount when I book (It was very cheap when compare to other hotels in Zurich), I knew I will be spending only 10 hours in this hotel for some sleep at night therefore I did not expect much. Room was clean, however the bathroom was relatively small (with shower only).

You do need to walk from the tram station to the hotel, it was approimately 10 minute including the time to navigate yourself after your get off the tram. There are signs near the tram station and along the street to tell you where the hotel is.

I would recommend this hotel for business purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkjk-bjbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and your recommendation as well as for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zürich for your short stay in Zurich. We would be pleased to be your host during your next visit in our beautiful city again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefollonico, Italy
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very cordial and welcoming. The room I was in was large and cosy. What I missed was that the Wardrobe had no door. But everything else was pretty smart. It is around 20 minute Tram ride away from the City Centre. The personnel was very helpful. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: You can take a Cab to the airport which is around the same distance from the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been forwarded to our team.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you in Zurich again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Our family was excited to be staying at crown plaza Zurich but didn't realise that it was a 15 mins walk from the tram station. If it wasn't raining and snowing, this wouldn't be a problem but it was and it was a real chore getting to the hotel in the rain and snow. The rooms was cosy but the pillows was just too soft for my liking. Overall, I would choose a hotel in the city if I came back to Zurich.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ELNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to read about the inconveniences upon your arrival. Our hotel is located 350 meters from the tram station “Albisriederplatz” (#2 and #3) which is approximately 4 minutes’ walk away. Detailed directions can be found on our website.
Kindly let us ensure you that we offer a wide range of bedding and are happy to provide you with a pillow of your preference any time.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again.
Best regards

Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 139 in Zurich
625 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
2,162 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
519 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#70 of 139 in Zurich
507 reviews
Crown Plaza Zurich
#103 of 139 in Zurich
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing