We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I cannot comment on the value as we stayed here on a group trip and don't know the actuall cost. The service was great. The brunch was ok.

The rooms are smaller than what I was used to in the states but enough room to be comfy. The beds were clean and comfortable. The showers were to desired since it did not drain well and the shower head was not functioning correctly and sprayed all over. There is only a small glass door and water goes past it all over the floor.

Otherwise we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1998rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your friendly review which we shared with our team and the responsible managers. Your comments concerning the shower have been passed on to our technical director. Kindly let us inform you, that we offer different bathroom types and are happy to reserve a room with another bathroom style upon request.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    545
    278
    94
    57
See reviews for
154
404
104
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Crowne Plaza Zurich is location bit far from the city. Far is a relative term and Zurich anyway is a small city. It would take about 15-20 minutes from Crowne Plaza to the city centre on a tram or a bus which is not bad for a big city but bear in mind that the trams and buses don't run 24 hours in Europe and if you have to take a taxi, it would be too much expensive and then you can add that money and stay somewhere close to the city. The tram and the bus station is not too far from the hotel.

The hotel is bit old and a slightly better Ibis. It is good value for money as the hotels in Zurich can be extremely expensive. There is a fitness centre in the hotel which is quiet useful.

In a nutshell, it is a basic hotel, staff is efficient and helpful but located bit far from the city center but good for the price that you pay as the hotels in city center will be more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qindeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Verkaufsleiter at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for writing a review about the Crowne Plaza Zurich.
Kindly let us inform you that our hotel is easily accessible by public transportation also at night by bus #14 linking the city center with Albisriederplatz (350 m from our hotel), running every 30 minutes.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you during your next stay in Zurich again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales & Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Pretty standard European hotel. Stayed one night with my wife before a return flight to the US in September 2012. The location is pretty horrible - you are next to nothing. It is a 15 minute cab ride (40-50 Euros) to the airport. Same to the city center.

We got a basic room through Hotwire (room 1303). Room is small but only by American standards. Hotwire deal did not include breakfast (odd for Europe).

One item worth noting is that the bathroom configuration in the basic room is awkward. There is a thin glass door between the bathroom and the room. In our particular room, the door did not shut all the way - left a 1-2cm gap. Even if it did shut all the way, it is extremely thin. This creates some awkwardness if someone is in the room and someone else in the bathroom. Obviously, not an issue if you are by yourself.

This is clearly a popular business hotel. Lots of business/conference guests and there are plenty of taxis hanging out around the hotel.

Zurich is a very expensive city and the food in this hotel is no exception. 10 SF for 2 coffees. 20 SF for a small pizza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awhsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Verkaufsleiter at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zurich for your recent stay! We are very keen to provide our guests with a great hotel experience. We offer different room types as well as various bathroom styles. It would be a pleasure for us to host you again and would like to ask you to make a note about your bathroom preference when booking next time.
We also hope that you can benefit from the close location to the Letzigrund stadium, the venue of fantastic sport and music events or visit one of the most beautiful public baths of Zurich which is also just a few meters from our hotel.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales & Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel in the second week of Aug 2012. We stayed in the junior suite,it was big enough. The room, shower were excellent. Bed was very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was awesome with lots of variety. Tram stop is very close,5 min walking. Tram 3 goes direct to the main railway station. Migros is close and so is Co-op. over all a lovely hotel to stay in :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangeetabhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zurich as well as for writing your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay!
Thank you also for your compliments – our whole team appreciates them.
It would be a pleasure for us to contribute to your positive travel experiences in the future too.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager
In charge of Sales & Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel for business travelers as bus and tram stops are within 5min walk. Also, the hotel offers a free 24h access to a REAL fitness center.
It's a shame that the hotel is far from the city center (20min by tram). It's also far from the airport (40min by bus and tram)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nastya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich! We are pleased to read, that you find our hotel a good one and hope that you will return despite your concerns about the location. Also thank you for mentioning our Fitness Center, which offers a wide range of training possibilities for our hotel guests.
We would be very happy to welcome you again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales & Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my son, during a European tour.
The receptionist was very pleasant and made us feel welcome. However, the feeling of being welcomed disappeared when we saw the room, which was very small by Crowne Plaza stamdards and clearly in need of some refurbishment. For example, there were two holes in the curtains. The pillows were extremely thin and unsupportive. The bathroom was extremely small.

The choice of Wifi tariffs (including a free tariff) was good.
The quality of food in the bar and at breakfast was good, but at the prices chanrged, it should be.

The hotel is a bit outside the city centre, but easily accesible by car and close to a tram station, from where you can travel easily into the city.

Overall ok, but more of a Holiday Inn Express standard than a Crowne Plaza

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zurich for your last stay and writing a review about us!
We appreciate your comments and are happy to forward your compliments to our team.
We are very sorry to hear about the holes in the curtains. The renovation of our rooms has been completed last year. We are keen to provide our guests with perfectly refurbished rooms and have informed the responsible manager immediately.
Kindly inform us about your pillow preference prior to your next stay and we will be pleased to prepare the right ones for you in your room.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales & Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on several occasions even before it became Crowne Plaza Zurich. This hotel is not situated in town area but a tram (no. 2) can easily get you there- There is a tram stop just outside the hotel on the right. The hotel is considered old but has been revamped to make the stay more comfortable. However, the pillows are 'horrible'!! Perhaps cos' I am used to the harder pillows in other hotels. The pillows provided in this hotel is very thin n flat, you may however ask from the house-keeper if you require a slightly harder pillow. The room is comparatively small to other European hotels but it's pretty all right if it is a single traveller. There is several supermarkets nearby & a small mall about 7 mins walk away if you like to do some light shopping. The good side about this hotel... they have fabulous fitness classes (conducted in german) that you could attend & the gym is of a good size for work out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaomei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback! We would be pleased to host you again during your next stay in Zurich. Kindly make a note in your reservation about your pillow preference and we will be happy to provide you with harder pillows.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales & Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#69 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#49 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City-West
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing