We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this hotel and will always choose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I loved this hotel and will always choose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is near the city center and very good place to stay is Zurich. Hotel amibence is good. Service is very very nice. You will get free pass for the Health club and enjoy the facilities like swimming pool, Jacuzee, Steam bath. Excellent stay her.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HemantBharati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Dear Guest
We were highly pleased to receive your positive feedback. Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write this review about us. Your kind compliments have been forwarded to our team and give us a special motivation. We sincerely hope to be your host in Zurich soon.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    545
    278
    94
    57
See reviews for
154
404
104
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Could be a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location if it were updated a bit. rooms are small but great and look new. everything else needs polishing, i.e. breakfast room, bar, specifically door locks, restrooms in meeting area. overall not worth the price unless there is a huge corporate discount

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jottvau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your compliments for our location and the newly renovated guest rooms! We appreciate that you took your valuable time to write a review about us. We are keen to improve our facilities constantly and would like to ensure you that our prices correspond to the rates of other business hotels of the same category in Zurich. We hope that our professional and friendly service convinces you of our passion for being your host.
We would be very happy to welcome you in Zurich soon.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montceau les Mines, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I choosed Crowne Plazza Zurich because there is a swimming pool and this hotel is in the city.
Very very disappointed ! swimming pool closed at 19:00 on week end and bank holidays and the hotel is in the midlle of nothing.
Much disappointed upon arrival as for a Platinum Priority Member who I got a single room adjacent the lift as I reserved a room for two ! NO UPGRADING ! I got a new room for two but with only 3 pillows and only one pair of sleepers and one bathrobe. Price is very high 280 SFR on bank holiday ! The lobby is very crowdy as this hotel receives a lot of bus and same for breakfast room! Next time I will definitively prefer an other hotel.
This is not a Crowne Plazza !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOPALAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest

We regret to learn about your feelings of disappointment and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had to experience during your stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich. Your comments concerning our service have been forwarded to our responsible managers.

We would like to point out though that our location is clearly communicated on our homepage. Many travelers appreciate the good connections by public transport which directly takes you to the lake and the city center within 15 minutes.

Complimentary room upgrade can be provided depending on availability. As we have participated in Switzerland`s biggest incentive travel project last month, all of our rooms were occupied and we were not able to offer you this extra service.

We also would like to ensure you, that our 4 star hotel meets all requirements of the Crowne Plaza standards. We are happy about every constructive feedback and are keen to improve our service constantly. We hope that we can convince you about this during your next stay in Zurich. We would be delighted to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Zurich.

Best regards
Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

+ it's a very nice, probably recently renovated hotel
+ my room had a Lavazza coffee machine, really great coffee
+ complimentary drink, chocolate was nice
+ swimming pool and nice gym (however, closes at 10 PM and gym opens only at 8AM, pool at 6.30AM)
+ there's a Migros grocery store 1 block from the hotel
+ great opportunities to connect your devices to the TV set
+ you can plug in your EU/US cords
+ really great hair dryer

- there's a construction on the side of the odd numbered rooms (I stayed in 2227), they started working at 6.54AM and it was really noisy even with closed windows
- it's a bit far from city center and you need to walk 3 blocks from the tram (unless you change trams)
- my shower had some hairs in it when I checked in and the floor beneath the sink was dirty as well

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest
We are happy to read your long list of positive aspects concerning our services - thank you very much for your friendly review!
Please allow us to inform you, that the street construction works with increased noise emission have been finished last week. Kindly note, that the tram 2 directly takes you to the city (Paradeplatz, 10 minutes) or the lake (Bürkliplatz, 15 minutes).
We are very sorry to hear, that your bathroom was not immaculately cleaned. Your comment has been forwarded to our housekeeping manager.
Thank you again for giving us feedback and allowing Crowne Plaza Zurich the opportunity to improve. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Zurich again!
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We got a really great rate on this room, and it turned out to be even nicer than we had expected. It is very close to public transportation, so getting around the city from here is quite simple. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind comment! We are very delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that the Crowne Plaza Zurich could surpass your expectations.
We appreciate very much that you took your valuable time to write this review and hope to welcome you in Zurich in the near future.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Crown Plaza was recommended to me by a friend given their worldwide reputation of above-average business travel accomodation. In Zurich, however, this hotel made me wonder whether I would ever stay at another Crown Plaza hotel. The hotel was older however recently renovated. The lobby and the recreation areas were beautiful and I was looking forward to seeing my room.

The room was located on a floor which was formerly dedicated for smokers. Aside from a non-functioning shower drain, that just about caused a flood in the entire unit, the room also had a very strong stale smell of cigarettes and we had to relocate. We were moved into another room which by comparison smelled ok. However it had a broken window, dirty walls and stained carpets. The smell of cigarettes was still very much present which caused me two almost sleepless nights. I am a non-smoker with a fairly sensitive sense of smell.

The internet connection was very unreliable and the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that the staff was actually quite nice and accomodating of our requests.

I reserved a room through expedia and got a pretty good deal, however to extend the stay by just one more night, the room rate was 350 CHF!!!

Definitely not worth it and I'm definitely not coming back.

Room Tip: Go to Basel and stay at hotel Alpha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Guest

The Crowne Plaza Zurich considers guest feedbacks to be a valuable asset and we are keen to improve our service constantly. Thank you very much for your comments which we will pursue. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel.

We would like to inform you, that our public areas and rooms have been designated completely smoke free one year ago and all guest rooms have been renovated in the last 2 years. We endeavor to save and control the first class quality of our guest rooms on a very regular basis. Frequently used hotel rooms might become damaged though just after being checked. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

We receive many compliments for the good Internet connection in our hotel which is influenced by your computer settings. Our superior and deluxe rooms in our garden wing are non-smoking rooms since the renovation in 2010. We would be happy to welcome you in one of these rooms next time and convince you, that we offer a first class guest service as well as modern and elegant rooms.

Best regards

Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

when going to this hotel you can enjoy a relaxing hotel, with a good bar down the lobby.
Probably can be good for business meetings ect.

However as a tourist it was to far from the city center and restaurant areas, that means that you can take a tram or drive a car.

btw- I came with a car and paid 27 euro for parking not being told that it costs money for the hotel guests before I went inside....outside there was a fine free parking.

on a different topic- there is a high city tax in Zurich and the city is pretty boring :) find a better location for your trip, hehe

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your compliment relating to our bar and relaxing hotel atmosphere. We would like to inform you, that parking is free for our hotel guests only on weekends. The price for parking from Monday to Friday is to be found on our homepage.

We are sorry to read that you regard Zurich as being a boring city. Our concierge is happy to provide you with information about cultural programs and various events in Zurich next time. During the summer months, there are diverse natural highlights in and around the city as well.

We would be very happy to welcome you again and convince you that Zurich is worth visiting.

Best regards

Serena Dadon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#71 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City-West
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing