We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Zurich City-West
Ranked #48 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is very good as a 4 star hotel. We stay in a classic double room and there is not any negative point about the room; room and bathroom was clean(very important point in every hotel),sleep quality was also good but room service can be improved(one day, they forgot clean the room until we asked on 4 PM).
Generally reception staffs were helpful and friendly except one man who made me upset, when I asked him to late checkout(3 pm), he said that " it is not possible because the room is reserved." next morning when I asked about luggage keeping from another staff, she told me "late checkout is possible up to 3 PM "
Another positive point about the hotel is easy to access (from airport, central train station and Zurich old town), tram station is about 1 min walk from hotel.
American breakfast was good and high quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, General Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank very much for your positive feedback that I have transmitted to my team, and we look forward to welcoming you next time after having dealt with the remaining improvement points that you described.
Arnaud Tourin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    566
    202
    52
    20
See reviews for
468
211
62
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
craigavon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is well located. It only takes a few minutes to reach the tram going into Zurich city centre and about 5 minutes to get to the train station going straight to the airport. I liked the hotel . The rooms were very clean and quite large with a nice bathroom. And tea and coffee in room. Reception staff were very good and friendly. There are computers in the foyer area with free use for guests. The only downside is the immediate view outside the front door as the square is grey and rather a depressing place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigavonMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, General Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback regarding our service and quality. I hope next time we can give you all the tips to enjoy the booming trendy City-West area we are in the middle of.
We really look forward to welcoming you warmly again very soon.
Arnaud Tourin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Zurich for one night during our Europe tour. The hotel was easy to find, check in was smooth and it was convenient to go into town with public transportation literally right outside the hotel. The staff was friendly, parking (though there was a charge) was easy and the rooms were clean. The only slightly annoying thing was that for every device that you had that needed to connect to the internet required its own username and password. With 3 people and 2-3 device each, it got confusing which user/password was whose and for which device.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asheky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, General Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the "good value" you mentionned in your comment. We have also read that the connection with our free wifi could be better explained, and be assured the Front Office Team has already improved the information on this matter.
I Look forward to meeting you personnally during your next visit in our Hotel.
Arnaud Tourin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an upmarket hotel just 15 minutes by Tram from the train station. The rooms are very comfortable & nice. We had a pleasant stay & would visit the downtown area using tram which would take no more than 15 minutes. Also, there are night clubs just walking distance from the hotel, besides there is not much to do near the hotel, but everything is reachable with tram. If you do not mind a travel by Tram to the downtown area then everything else about the hotel is good. We did not mind this tram travel at all as it is very comfortable & the tram station is just there in front of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for business or for lea sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishekmaniktala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, General Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your Business or Leisure recommandation, and we are happy to read that you appreciate the tram station doorstep from the hotel.
We really look forward to welcoming you very soon.
Arnaud Tourin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff are good, friendly & helpful. The hotel is next to the Tram station so location for getting into the city centre, about 10 minutes ride is great. But the breakfast, its all there but what a mess, please teach the breakfast chef fry eggs gently, grill bacon nice & crispy, the has browns are a total disaster. Rooms are good, English channels as well, thats good.

Room Tip: We got the building site, you need to ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toilManchester_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, General Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our rooms and location. I also transmitted your breakfast comments to our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure your full satisfaction during your next stay in our Hotel.
I wish you all the best back to work, and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Arnaud Tourin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was nice but nothing special. But I was very happy it was so clean. The dent desk staff was very nice. We did not used any other amenities in the hotel. Zurich clearly is extremely expensive so it was good we booked there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Kind regards

Arnaud Tourin
Gerneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#55 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Zurich City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Zurich City-West

Property: Novotel Zurich City-West
Address: Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Zurich
#35 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#37 Family Hotel in Zurich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#57 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Zurich City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Zurich City West is a 4 star hotel with 144 rooms in the fashionable Zurich West area. Close to Hardbrucke train station, Escher Wyss Platz tram station and the Technopark. A few minutes from the main railway station and the old city by tramor train. The hotel offers seven modern conference rooms with natural light. An indoor swimming pool, fitness area, bar, kids corner and a restaurant with terrace complete the package. Pay parking garage and airport shuttle (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Zurich City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Zurich City-West Hotel
Novotel Hotel zürich
zürich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing