We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Zurich City West
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel was very clean, just like Switzerland. Staff great, breakfast was yummy with plenty to eat and would suggest you book it as it is not cheap to eat out in this country. Location was great. Only a 10-15 minute tram ride into town and this country has an awesome transit system. There's a Migros grocery store through the mall across from the hotel front doors. Good bang for the buck if you book ahead. Remember you will pay considerably more if you stay in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalieilovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel and it was a very nice experience. The rooms are clean and the staff are nice and polite. The only disadvantage is that it is a bit far from the old town. However, you can buy a tram ticket at the hotel's reception. Breakfast is good too.

Room Tip: High floor room is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loloisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Two major issues with this hotel. Firstly the bed sheets and duvet were very synthetic and horrible. Secondly the power socket design is such that my adapters were rendered useless as the casings were too narrow and they were trying to cram three outlets into one socket. So I couldn't work and couldn't sleep.. Not great for a business visit. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was expecting more of an 4 star Hotel in Zurich. You have to pay for everything extra (like parking). The room was not cheap as well. The Hotel is also not located close to the main attractions.

The Breakfast was good, I liked the variety of choices, but I was surprised when I checked out, that the breakfast was not included in the price, well my fault but overall it makes it a too expensive Hotel (with too many extra costs).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here one night in early June 2013: two adults, and two children under the age of 3. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable; perhaps slightly on the small side yet adequate for our family of four, although note that there's no bathtup, just a shower (this was true of a lot of the hotels we stayed at, actually). Breakfast buffet was plentiful if generally standard fare.

Lobby was interesting, with an xbox machine and PCs and such; I suspect families with teenage kids would appreciate that touch.

The hotel location itself isn't great, although to be fair we didn't really do any sightseeing around the area. It's probably too far from the main train station (Zurich HB) to walk with a normal amount of luggage, but it's a very easy, short tram ride: take a number 4 tram heading towards Bahnhof Altstetten, get off when you see a big blue neon sign (the hotel is right next to an IBIS hotel as well so it should be fairly easy to spot. Can't be more than 5-10 minutes, max, and getting around the next day into the Old City was a breeze.

One point to note, and I wish I had been aware of before going to Switzerland: outlets in general are often not flush with the wall, but instead are inside a hexagon-ish shaped indentation in the wall. And your standard adapter (such as I bought here in the UK before traveling) will almost certainly NOT WORK: it won't fit the oddly shapped indentation, and the adapter prongs won't be long enough to reach the actual plug.

This was the case with the Novotel - every outet in the room was indented - but the front desk was able to provide a usable adapter.

Overall, we thought the hotel was a very pleasant stay and good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent service, clean and confortable rooms, breakfast was very nice as well.
Location is not excellent, but the hotel can be reached with a 2 minutes S-Bahn ride from the main station.
Didn't have time to go in the swimmimg pool, looked nice anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dvds-mrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you’re looking for no fuss, no frill hotel in Zurich, you won’t find much to complain here. Do remember, check-in is at 12 noon. The hotel is conveniently located just around the tram station which takes you to the heart of Zurich in 10-12 minutes. As a tourist, having a Swiss saver pass is a boon, as you can hop on an off trains, trams, buses and boats without a care !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positiv comment that I have transmited to my team. This feedback encourages us in our daily quality efforts, which I hope will allow us to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Yours sincerely,
Arnaud TOURIN,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 138 in Zurich
2,354 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#54 of 138 in Zurich
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
615 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#49 of 138 in Zurich
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Zurich City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Zurich City West

Address: Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Zurich
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#57 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $142 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Zurich City West 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Zurich City West is a 4 star hotel with 144 rooms in the fashionable Zurich West area. Close to Hardbrucke train station, Escher Wyss Platz tram station and the Technopark. A few minutes from the main railway station and the old city by tramor train. The hotel offers seven modern conference rooms with natural light. An indoor swimming pool, fitness area, bar, kids corner and a restaurant with terrace complete the package. Pay parking garage and airport shuttle (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Zurich City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Zurich City-West Hotel
Novotel Hotel zürich
zürich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing