We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Zurich City-West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Zurich City-West
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Turned up and the rooms were not ready. Without asking they upgraded me. Very comfortable and very clean. Right next to the office and a tram stop to get to the city. Everyine, from the restaurant, check-in staff, and cleaners were very polite. Mini bar well stocked, but I did not use it.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible. It's in a busienss district, always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    552
    197
    51
    18
See reviews for
447
207
61
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked 2 rooms (superior and executive) for 2 nights over the weekend at Novotel Zurich City West. It was our very first time in Switzerland. Rooms are comfortable, clean and furbished in modern way typical for Novotel hotels.
By car the hotel is easy to find and only 10 min. by tram from city centre. Parking space is good to request in advance. Overall we were very satisfied and the breakfast served in the morning is one of the best I have ever had in the hotel of the same category. The staff is very professional, kind and helpful. Front office supervisor "Yvonne" did a great job and appreciate very much her professional, kind and very friendly approach.
Looking forward to visit Zurich once again staying in Novotel.
Peter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai, india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Myself, my wife and our 1 year old son stayed at Novotel in first week of Oct 2012 for 3 nights. We did a 10 day Switzerland tour and Zurich was our first halt. I had read positive reviews about this hotel on trip advisor and it was available at a good price on Expedia (breakfast included in the price). Overall we were satisfied with our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had all basic amenities like TV, phone, internet access, locker facility, electric kettle for making tea/coffee, etc. The staff at reception was courteous and helpful. The room service was also prompt and courteous. We did not use the bar and the gym / pool facility, so can’t comment much on that. The breakfast had nice variety and was good enough to start your day. However it is expensive if not included in your package (approx 28 swiss francs per person). If that is the case then there are some options nearby including a Migros (which had quite a few options for a quick bite at a reasonable price). This hotel is located in the Zurich City West area and is around 15 minutes by tram from Zurich HB station. But trams are quite frequent and the tram station is just opposite to the hotel. We never had any problems in commuting. The Hardbrucke train station is around 10 minutes walking from the hotel. But we used the Zurich HB station more compared to Hardbrucke. Overall we were quite satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hotel because it had a pool, which was to be the highlight for our kids.
The "heated" pool was small and uncomfortably chilly, not to mention the poolside was filthy! We sat on the loungers only to find that the poolside dirt including used bandages (yuck!) had been swept just behind them. The kids didn't notice but we were a bit disgusted.

We paid 29 Francs per day to park in the hotel's garage, only to find upon returning at 9PM one night that the garage was full and we could not enter. The front desk had no solution for us other than to drive around the area and find another spot (which also cost money). After 45 minutes of searching, a spot became freein the garage. What a hassle.

As for the rooms, they were a bit small but nicely kept and functional.

The hotel's breakfast buffet was great- they had anything you might want and attentive service.

The free wifi and friendly lobby were appreciated.

All in all, the stay was OK but next time we'll try the Ramada even though there's no pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnShaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear JohnShaft

Thank you for tell us your opinions about your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.

I'm very sorry that we haven't met your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Regarding the pool I have sheared your comments with the housekeeping manager and we will improve the cleaning service to be sure to provide always a clean pool area.
About the parking, I'm very sorry for the inconvenience caused but we do not reserve it because it is a public garage. The price of CHF 29 it's a special offer we have for our guest, the normal price would be CHF8.00 per hour.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Patrick Bonnaure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Rooms for family are very small, but in general it is a good value for the money. The location is nice just close to the Schiffbau. Parking facility is not enough for all the guests and was an inconvenince during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo30061967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was a nice, bog standard 4* hotel. Nicely kept, clean, etc. Bed was a little too soft for my liking (but I like very hard beds) and location was poor (nothing close by, not near the city) unless you are looking for somewhere quiet/out of the way. Swimming pool looked beautiful (albeit small) but I didn't use it. Value for money, as it is everywhere in Switzerland, was poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Novotel Zurich City-West is a good place to go for both family visit and business. Very swift service, nice rooms with great amenities. Convenient localisation - close to center but not in the middle of the crowd. Breakfast: good choice of food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DariOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear DariOlio

Thank you for staying at the Novotel Zurich City West.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Patrich Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#52 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Zurich City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Zurich City-West

Property: Novotel Zurich City-West
Address: Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#37 Family Hotel in Zurich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#57 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Zurich City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Zurich City West is a 4 star hotel with 144 rooms in the fashionable Zurich West area. Close to Hardbrucke train station, Escher Wyss Platz tram station and the Technopark. A few minutes from the main railway station and the old city by tramor train. The hotel offers seven modern conference rooms with natural light. An indoor swimming pool, fitness area, bar, kids corner and a restaurant with terrace complete the package. Pay parking garage and airport shuttle (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Zurich City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Zurich City-West Hotel
Novotel Hotel zürich
zürich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing