We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but not impressed with their "Executive" Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Zurich City-West
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value, but not impressed with their "Executive" Suite”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel was a good value for our family of 4. However their "Executive" suite was very cramped and was just a regular room with two beds. The hotel is well connected via the tram. A walk to the Zurich Station takes about 20 min or so. Staff was helpful, and the lobby areas were nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay_bhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Regarding your comment about the size of the "Executive suite" I like to explain following. The "Executive suite” means not it is a bigger room but you have all kind of extras like included mini bar or pay TV. For the inconvenience about that I like to apologize.
Feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    591
    211
    52
    20
See reviews for
493
217
65
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the Novotel Zurich City-West on business in May 2012.

The hotel is in a good location, and has car parking. Parking was CHF 29 for a 24-hour period (come on, this is Switzerland, of course it's expensive!). There are regular trams to the city centre, and there are also restaurants, bakeries and cafes in the area close to the hotel.

The rooms are a decent size, and the hotel has the typical feel of a modern business hotel. It has a pool and gym, but I didn't have time to use either so I cannot comment on the facilities.

We had lunch in the restaurant, and the quality of the food was very high, although the choice was slightly limited.

The Reception staff were friendly and helpful, but I would say that the restaurant / bar staff were a bit less friendly, although professional nonetheless.

If you're in Zurich on business, and want to take the safe option on hotel accommodation, then I would certainly recommend this hotel. If you're in Zurich on holiday, I might suggest that you might look for somewhere a little less business-like (or that would be my preference!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angoose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean rooms. Too small swimming pool but the gym is OK. No sauna. Children`s playing area is not very good. Good WiFi. Plenty of channels on TV. A bit outside from downtown but lots of bars and eateries around. Totally overpriced breakfast although the breakfast is good. Bar prices are ridiculous for a non-Swiss. Really nice stuff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer the questionnaire.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is located near the tram services and plenty of eateries.The hotel is clean,modern and Eco-friendly.There are three other hotels sharing the wall which actually gives you to change your mind also if you need at all!The room is okay and bathroom too.They have a good room service menu and the serving is well adequate in quality and quantity.The charges are but high but the services matches the rate-I liked our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer the questionnaire.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here in July for 2 nights. It was a pleasant surprise. The room is modern, comfortable with air con. Most importantly, the size of the room is very big for "European hotel standard". It's quite convenient to get to the city centre, only about 10-15 minutes tram ride. The tram stop is basically around the back of the hotel. There are a few restaurants in the building just across the square from the hotel. The staff are quite friendly. Also, there is a free 20 minutes internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnaureP, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer the questionnaire.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Zurich City West.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped here for a night after flying into Zurich before heading south to the mountains.

On the positive side, the hotel has a contemporary, new, clean design, nice rooms and very cool bathrooms and a great breakfast. We loved the colors, style, and amenities.

On the negative, two things.

First, the location is quite a bit out of the downtown and if you are unfamiliar the roads are really confusing even with good maps and GPS. Very little going on right bear the hotel except a large gravel covered plaza and a rehabbed warehouse space with some surprisingly good food. Its a long but nice walk to the city center, the train is reasonably close by and would have been major form of transport had we stayed longer.

Second, we had a rental car. The hotel had advertised free parking (lot was really tight even though we had a compact car), but we went out for dinner and arrived back at 9 pm to find the lot full for the night and we had to go several blocks to pay for public parking which with kids, jet lag, a walking cast was just too much. The staff just shrugged.

If you stay here, don't drive, take the train, and make sure to have the breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urgeforgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location looks central on the map but there is nothing around there and you are in turn locked in to high priced meals at the Hotel. High priced for it's location, you need to add on 22Frank per day to get back to the city. Add more for the meals in the hotel and you have some 40Frank to play with per day for a more central hotel. 15 minutes to the city.
The staff are great, they are friendly, the Hotel is clean, good breakfast and facilities like Gym, Pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
545 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#53 of 138 in Zurich
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Zurich City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Zurich City-West

Property: Novotel Zurich City-West
Address: Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Zurich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#37 Family Hotel in Zurich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#57 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Zurich City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Zurich City West is a 4 star hotel with 144 rooms in the fashionable Zurich West area. Close to Hardbrucke train station, Escher Wyss Platz tram station and the Technopark. A few minutes from the main railway station and the old city by tramor train. The hotel offers seven modern conference rooms with natural light. An indoor swimming pool, fitness area, bar, kids corner and a restaurant with terrace complete the package. Pay parking garage and airport shuttle (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Zurich City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Zurich City-West Hotel
Novotel Hotel zürich
zürich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing