We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotels with a few frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Glaernischhof
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst in Zurich on business.

Better than Premier Inns in UK but then at £200 per night so it should be.

Large Room but shower over bath which I never like. Meant to be a double bed but actually two singles pushed together and they hadn't even bothered to provide one large duvet instead they left two separate duvets.

Restaurants were excellent for dinner and breakfasts were very good..

Cheap for Zurich but still very expensive for what you get.

15 minutes walk from train station.

When I return to Zurich I would stay here again as although it is expensive unfortunately there are very few hotels in Zurich that are cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glaernischhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 458 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Average hotel, nothing special. Great part is the price! I was traveling for business and had a hard time finding something in Zurich for under $700 USD per night. This place was reasonably priced. Bathrooms are nice, rooms are clean. Nothing fancy but fine for business travel. Hotel Restaurant was the best part - great food! Hotel bar... very small. They gave you a free drink ticket upon arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

Our aim and goal is to offer our business guest functionality and convienience for their trip. Therefore we are glad you choose the Hotel Glärnischhof and also took the opportunity to visit one of our restaurants which are newly awarded by the "World Luxury Magazine" for best Hotel Restaurant.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 3 times in September for business, 2 night stay then 2 x 4 nights stays.

Good location, just round the corner from a Tram stop, near to plenty of shops and a Starbucks and central Zurich. Reception were always very warm and friendly and I always got offers of help to find restaurants etc. The rooms are nice and clean and very brights and airy.

My first stay I had a double room on the 4th floor which was very nice, decent sized room, nice bathroom and lots of English tv channels, which was good for when I was in the room. Small fruit plate and bottle of sparkling water in the room on on arrival is a nice touch and there is a decent coffee maker in the room.

On my second stay I had to travel on my birthday :( and without me knowing my husband had contacted the hotel and asked to have flowers in my room for my arrival. Due to this the hotel upgraded me to a suite and put a plate of chocolate and fruit in my room ( along with the lovely flowers) which was lovely. It was a very nice touch and very much appreciated as I was there for 4 nights, so the extra space was great. The room was much bigger, with a couch and large leather chair, much bigger bathroom with separate shower, spa tub and separate room (with a swing door in the middle) for the toilet.

Looking online this room is much more expensive than what I had booked so it was very nice of the hotel to do this.

The breakfast room was also good with a lot of options; cereal, cold meats and cheeses, large bread selection, bacon, sausage, eggs etc very nice to start the day with.

Overall a very good hotel and if I come back to Zurich I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweetiepie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

The hotels location is one of many great benefits which we offer our guests. Most of the major tourist and business spots are reachable within 10 min by walk.
Human capital and trough that our service is, as you mentioned, very important for us and we do improve that on a daily basis.
Thats why we love to surprise our guests on special occasions to simply say thank you.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the first moment of our arrival, tomthe last second of our departure, the stay in Hotel Glärnischhof was excellent. Even a thoughtfull decorated plate with a cupcake, fruits and in chocolat letters happy birthday was part of our memorable stay.
An optimal location, not too close to the city center, but a very acceptable 5 minutes walk to the city center and even closer to the Züricher See.
An absoltue reccomendation !
The rooms are very spacey and well decorated, very comfy beds. For family with kids I recommend the room with bed sofa !
Breakfasu left nothing to desire and the service was kind and thoughtfull.
Parking nicely tucked away behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

Our Goal is to give every single guest an individual and perfectly suited service.
Celebrating a birthday makes every person a very special one and makes it a matter of course
to push us beyond a simple surprise.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Glaenischhof whilst in Zurich for a couple of nights. The hotel itself is clean, dry and warm and provides a good base for spending time within the city.

Whilst the rooms were a little dated, they were well equipped with TV, mini bar, A/C etc which did make for a comfortable stay. I did eat in the hotel restaurant, the food was of good quality, the wine was rather delicious, but I would say a little bit more diverse choice would have made me eat there again.

If you want a room tip, when you get to the hotel, the block it's on is quite small. There are a number of building works currently happening, and whilst it did not affect me in the night, if you did want a lay in, you might struggle to do so. Also, look out on the walls for buttons... I was slightly confused why the curtains did not fit the window width, then realised they had external shutters for that "baton down the hatches" feeling.

The hotel is located only a short walk from the old town in Zurich, and very close to the lake (it's at the end of the street). Good location for exploring, but is on the other side of the city to the train station (around a £15 taxi ride)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

The rooms are decorated and furnished to ensure comfort but equally as well functionality.
Our team is glad that you took the opportunity to visit our restaurant but we also strongly took note that the choice diversity in the hotel restaurant did not satisfy you.
We do offer two restaurants and perhaps you could try our fish restaurant "Le Poisson" for your next stay, which is a well known restaurant in Zurich.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my family in August. Despite the fact that I am frequent visitor to Zurich, but that was my first stay in this Hotel. It was far better than what I expected. Very good location near Zurich Lake, big rooms, nice furniture, great breakfast and friendly staff. Many thanks to everybody in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MENANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Menani

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guest everyday and to improve our service quality.

Through your comment we trust that the Hotel Glärnischhof is on the right track and carries weight to many of our guests.
Even though our valuable location and propinquity to the lake is one of our attribute that makes us very attractive, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and service as well.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back soon in the future.

Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a value proposition. Its just a few mins from barnhoffstrasse and is as central as can be -- the lake is a few minutes too , and the train station is a short ride away -- buses are round the corner -- and the cost half of pricey counterparts. For short business trips where one has no time for the resort and ambience , its ideal.

Rooms are small but very clean.

The food is good to above average. The restaurant is small but functional. A requirement if one wants to get something quickly and retire.

Service is with a smile.

The wifi is excellent and serves good purpose - a must indeed.

Lots of attractions all around.

Its the balance between price and location that makes this a good deal.

Recommend strongly.





Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

We love to hear that you were able to take an advantage out of our central location. It is one of our benefits and equally is our service.
Thank you also for visiting our restaurant. We trust that our improvements in cuisine and service was for your satisfaction, specially now when our hotel restaurants are awarded as Best Hotel Restaurant in "World Luxury Magazine".

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
791 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#24 of 138 in Zurich
484 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#15 of 138 in Zurich
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaernischhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaernischhof

Address: Claridenstrasse 30, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Zurich
#11 Family Hotel in Zurich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $274 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glaernischhof 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant four Star Hotel Glarnischhof is situated in the City Centre of Zurich. Nearby the Financial district the Bahnhofstrasse, the Kongresshaus, Tonhalle and to the lake of Zurich. Each and every room in the Hotel Glarnischhof is furnished stylish and contemporary. In all the rooms, our rich breakfast, the minibar selection, the whole Pay TV range, our Coffee and Tea assortment with our Tassimo Coffee machines and WIFI access are included in the room rates. Our 62 rooms are equipped with our comfortable and adjustable Airlux - Deluxe Mattresses and are responsible for a good and healthy sleep. To welcoming you at our hotel, we offer you a welcome drink upon arrival. On Top of that, you will find a plate with fresh fruits and a bottle of Mineral Water in your room. In add to make your stay even more remarkable, you have got free access to the adjoining Squash - and Fitnessclub "Luxor" inlcuding the use of sauna and steam bath. For guests who would like to make culinary experiences, we've got 2 different kinds of restaurant. At our "Restaurant Glarnischhof", you may enjoy our local cuisine with products from the region. This is where you will find delicate local food same as " Zurcher Geschnetzeltes " which is sliced veal served with Rosti, a potato specialty. In our Gourmet Restaurant "Le Poisson" we serve exquisite seafood and fresh fish courts. In case you don't want to eat fish, we of course also serve excellent meat menus. In the Restaurant Le Poisson, you receive 15% reduction as our hotel guests. The cozy ambience in our hotel bar, invites you to linger with a small snack, an aperitif or cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glaernischhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing