We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of nights in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Glaernischhof
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Glaenischhof whilst in Zurich for a couple of nights. The hotel itself is clean, dry and warm and provides a good base for spending time within the city.

Whilst the rooms were a little dated, they were well equipped with TV, mini bar, A/C etc which did make for a comfortable stay. I did eat in the hotel restaurant, the food was of good quality, the wine was rather delicious, but I would say a little bit more diverse choice would have made me eat there again.

If you want a room tip, when you get to the hotel, the block it's on is quite small. There are a number of building works currently happening, and whilst it did not affect me in the night, if you did want a lay in, you might struggle to do so. Also, look out on the walls for buttons... I was slightly confused why the curtains did not fit the window width, then realised they had external shutters for that "baton down the hatches" feeling.

The hotel is located only a short walk from the old town in Zurich, and very close to the lake (it's at the end of the street). Good location for exploring, but is on the other side of the city to the train station (around a £15 taxi ride)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

The rooms are decorated and furnished to ensure comfort but equally as well functionality.
Our team is glad that you took the opportunity to visit our restaurant but we also strongly took note that the choice diversity in the hotel restaurant did not satisfy you.
We do offer two restaurants and perhaps you could try our fish restaurant "Le Poisson" for your next stay, which is a well known restaurant in Zurich.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my family in August. Despite the fact that I am frequent visitor to Zurich, but that was my first stay in this Hotel. It was far better than what I expected. Very good location near Zurich Lake, big rooms, nice furniture, great breakfast and friendly staff. Many thanks to everybody in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MENANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Menani

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guest everyday and to improve our service quality.

Through your comment we trust that the Hotel Glärnischhof is on the right track and carries weight to many of our guests.
Even though our valuable location and propinquity to the lake is one of our attribute that makes us very attractive, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and service as well.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back soon in the future.

Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a value proposition. Its just a few mins from barnhoffstrasse and is as central as can be -- the lake is a few minutes too , and the train station is a short ride away -- buses are round the corner -- and the cost half of pricey counterparts. For short business trips where one has no time for the resort and ambience , its ideal.

Rooms are small but very clean.

The food is good to above average. The restaurant is small but functional. A requirement if one wants to get something quickly and retire.

Service is with a smile.

The wifi is excellent and serves good purpose - a must indeed.

Lots of attractions all around.

Its the balance between price and location that makes this a good deal.

Recommend strongly.





Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

We love to hear that you were able to take an advantage out of our central location. It is one of our benefits and equally is our service.
Thank you also for visiting our restaurant. We trust that our improvements in cuisine and service was for your satisfaction, specially now when our hotel restaurants are awarded as Best Hotel Restaurant in "World Luxury Magazine".

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in Zurich for two nights for our honeymoon. The staff at the hotel were wonderful particularly Denny who looked after us and organised for gifts on arrival. The gym just up the road (1 minute walk) is great with everything and the price for a room is reasonable for Zurich. The location is more in the business area of the city but is close to the water and the trams make it extremely easy to travel around. We ended up with two single beds pushed together into a queen which was probably the only negative about the visit. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sboscos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a very pleasant week in this hotel. Only good things to talk about! For Zurich standards it is a midprice hotel and it certainly delivers a lot of value for money. Very, very friendly and efficient staff, nice rooms, adequate airco, good breakfast menu, free wifi of good quality, free usage of the gym nearby, nice gestures such as a fruit platter as a welcome gift. We stayed here during the Street Parade, when Zurich seemed overcrowded by drunken youth. The staff kept us well informed about this event. We found the location of the hotel perfect. It is in a quiet neighborhood but very close to the lake and you can easily walk to the city center in about five minutes. A minor discomfort is the tiny breakfast room, which can be crowded when many people want to have breakfast at the same time.

Room Tip: Our room was at the backside of the hotel. We did not have much of a view, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchtourist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located very close to main bahnstrasse, old city, and the lake. It is not in central street, but the rooms are clean, plain design, that keeps things simple suited for short stay.
The room had coffee machine with tea and coffee capsules, which is nice, you can have coffee before breakfast.
Toilet and bathroom is separate, which I really consider thing to think when you are two people.
Breakfast was plentiful, and reception was friendly.
Overall I enjoyed my 2 day stay in this hotel with my husband.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njchocolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at the Glarnischhof for two nights in July.

I walked from Zurich HB with cabin baggage but I'm not sure I would want to do this with a large case. It took about 20 minutes.

Room on 2nd floor overlooking the street. It was quiet. Double room with two single beds upgraded from a single booked.
Late evening check in handled quickly by friendly staff. Free welcome drink in the bar (wine or beer only)
Effective air conditioning kept the room cool while it was 31deg outside. Free fruit and water (Valser). Bed and pillows lovely and an option to change from a wide range of pillows. Room very clean. Espresso type coffee machine in room. Not overly generous with the cream though, just two small pots and no milk for tea. This was a very minor matter.

Flat screen TV , BBC 1, BBC News. So much better than CNN. Couldn't avoid the royal birth though, :-(

The batteries in the Air Conditioning remote were dead and couldn't switch off the AC at night, it was a bit noisy but putting my own batteries in got it working fine. Plenty of mains sockets and free WIFI which worked well.

Breakfast was OK, not a big choice but good. 3 hot items and a small selection of cold cuts.
Efficient maid, room made up while at breakfast. There is a free gym next door but didn't have time to go. Not all that much around the immediate streets but the centre not far and the lake just a few minutes also. A couple of clubs around the block and swimming in the lake is just minutes away.

Highly recommended for business or leisure but it seems to be primarily a business hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
901 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#21 of 138 in Zurich
498 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
824 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaernischhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaernischhof

Address: Claridenstrasse 30, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Zurich
#11 Family Hotel in Zurich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $240 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glaernischhof 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant four Star Hotel Glarnischhof is situated in the City Centre of Zurich. Nearby the Financial district the Bahnhofstrasse, the Kongresshaus, Tonhalle and to the lake of Zurich. Each and every room in the Hotel Glarnischhof is furnished stylish and contemporary. In all the rooms, our rich breakfast, the minibar selection, the whole Pay TV range, our Coffee and Tea assortment with our Tassimo Coffee machines and WIFI access are included in the room rates. Our 62 rooms are equipped with our comfortable and adjustable Airlux - Deluxe Mattresses and are responsible for a good and healthy sleep. To welcoming you at our hotel, we offer you a welcome drink upon arrival. On Top of that, you will find a plate with fresh fruits and a bottle of Mineral Water in your room. In add to make your stay even more remarkable, you have got free access to the adjoining Squash - and Fitnessclub "Luxor" inlcuding the use of sauna and steam bath. For guests who would like to make culinary experiences, we've got 2 different kinds of restaurant. At our "Restaurant Glarnischhof", you may enjoy our local cuisine with products from the region. This is where you will find delicate local food same as " Zurcher Geschnetzeltes " which is sliced veal served with Rosti, a potato specialty. In our Gourmet Restaurant "Le Poisson" we serve exquisite seafood and fresh fish courts. In case you don't want to eat fish, we of course also serve excellent meat menus. In the Restaurant Le Poisson, you receive 15% reduction as our hotel guests. The cozy ambience in our hotel bar, invites you to linger with a small snack, an aperitif or cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glaernischhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing