We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Glaernischhof
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for one night in July and the hotel was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. Got a second room for my parents who were traveling with us and they loved it. Would stay there again in a second. Walking distance to fantastic parts of Zurich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonwolf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great little hotel in a quite part of Zurich near my client's offices. I had a 'Relax' room. They offer basic (for one person), a 'comfort' room with no desk or table, a 'relax' room with desk and couch and a few more expensive room types. I would have to say it was the most peaceful and quite room I have ever stayed in, and I stay in too many hotels. The ceilings are very high. There was an elegance to the room - understated, elegant and really conducive to sleeping. The lighting was really tasteful. The staff is incredibly helpful, the breakfast in the morning is fine (Swiss - you are not going to get an American breakfast) and included in the price. Really classy, but in no way pretentious. Just really tasteful. I love the automatic metal shades (just push a button) that come down outside of the windows that completely block out any light and all sound. It has more of the feel of a B&B with the personal attention, a small quite lobby and good restaurant. Wonderful place. Expensive like everything in Zurich. One more thing - you never hear the heater or A/C. Unlike so many hotels where it comes on and off and you can never get it right. I set it once and it just kept the room at a perfect temperature and never did I hear it operating.

Room Tip: The 'Relax' rooms are roomy with a desk, which is important if you are traveling on business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a great 2 night stay in Zurich. It was our first time in Zurich and we loved it. Zurich is an expensive place and I thought we found value in this hotel. It's in a great location, but Zurich is small and everything is pretty walkable. It is also close to train station. Zurich is an extremely safe and clean city with a lot to see. The bed was really comfortable. I recommend this hotel for a couple nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Rooms in a decent Zurich hotel at under SF400 are usually ultra-tiny. We chose a "relax" room at Glaernischhof, at SF325 and it was spacious, quiet and well equipped. The hotel is set in a quiet street, within 5 minutes walk of most places you would want to visit. Trams 6,7,11 and 13 take you from the main station to Paradeplatz, 2 minutes from the hotel, quickly and cheaply.
There is free, fast wifi and friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast, included in the price, is of good quality, with lots to choose from.
We ate at their fish restaurant, with a good looking menu, but an unacceptable 40 minute wait between courses. Maybe Monday is not the best day for service.
All in all, this is a first rate hotel and excellent value, given its location.

Room Tip: Don't stint, choose the bigger, better equipped, "relax" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Impeccably clean, great staff, comfortable bed, terrific location. I had my pocket picked at the airport and arrived at the hotel with nothing but a reservation for one night. The staff could not have been more understanding.

Wi-Fi is fast. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upwindskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Zurich is veeery expensive, the airport downtown cab costing SF$ 65,00 for a 15 minutes ride, so your wallet can become pretty skinny in a blink.
If you are there for your own, in other words, if your company is not footing the bill, you may choose , for instance, the Hyatt one block of distance and pay SF$ 800,00 for the room or wisely opt for the Glaernischhof and pay SF$ 350,00.
It has an excellent downtown address close to banks and to the main shopping street, the Bahnhofstrasse.
The lobby is not plushy, but with a side saloon with enough armchairs for all your group rest during check in and etecetera.
The room is very clean and the shower, u la la , the shower has a real strong stream of water , different of the US hotels where water laws induce you to bathe in the dry-clean system.
Very thick towels, toiletries and a reasonable area make the bathroom very functional.
The TV set is tiny, so you must ask if they have real TV set on any rooms or just the computer monitor that I had in my room.
Breakfast is of good quality , bread, eggs and ,if you wish, custom made omelettes.
Silverware in breakfast is very beautiful- picture enclosed.
They have a fish restaurant but I did not try it.

Room Tip: Try rooms in the back as Claridenstrasse can be a bit noisy if you want to wake up late in week days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EyeDocBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very friendly staff and although the room was not enormous it was very well fitted out in a modern style. Very comfortable. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Three mins walk from the Lake and central to all the smart shops. Has its own carpark which they charge you for then it is Switzerland!

Room Tip: It is in a quiet road so no issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
917 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
853 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 138 in Zurich
424 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#22 of 138 in Zurich
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaernischhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaernischhof

Address: Claridenstrasse 30, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#9 Business Hotel in Zurich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $232 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glaernischhof 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant four Star Hotel Glarnischhof is situated in the City Centre of Zurich. Nearby the Financial district the Bahnhofstrasse, the Kongresshaus, Tonhalle and to the lake of Zurich. Each and every room in the Hotel Glarnischhof is furnished stylish and contemporary. In all the rooms, our rich breakfast, the minibar selection, the whole Pay TV range, our Coffee and Tea assortment with our Tassimo Coffee machines and WIFI access are included in the room rates. Our 62 rooms are equipped with our comfortable and adjustable Airlux - Deluxe Mattresses and are responsible for a good and healthy sleep. To welcoming you at our hotel, we offer you a welcome drink upon arrival. On Top of that, you will find a plate with fresh fruits and a bottle of Mineral Water in your room. In add to make your stay even more remarkable, you have got free access to the adjoining Squash - and Fitnessclub "Luxor" inlcuding the use of sauna and steam bath. For guests who would like to make culinary experiences, we've got 2 different kinds of restaurant. At our "Restaurant Glarnischhof", you may enjoy our local cuisine with products from the region. This is where you will find delicate local food same as " Zurcher Geschnetzeltes " which is sliced veal served with Rosti, a potato specialty. In our Gourmet Restaurant "Le Poisson" we serve exquisite seafood and fresh fish courts. In case you don't want to eat fish, we of course also serve excellent meat menus. In the Restaurant Le Poisson, you receive 15% reduction as our hotel guests. The cozy ambience in our hotel bar, invites you to linger with a small snack, an aperitif or cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Glaernischhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing