We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed from 5/8/14 to 5/10/14. the hotel is on a hillside, but transportation is right outside or it is a very short walk to the city center down the hill. The hotel is well managed and the personnel are very helpful. Rooms are "eurpopean" nicely amended and ours had a great view over the city.
There is a restaurant attached which is OK, after a day of touring it was nice to go there and have a few drinks. As a note, just down a half block at the corner across the street is a very tiny beer garden. A younger crowd is usually there.
We traveled here with 5 couples and they all thought the hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: none of the 5 couples had a complaint we were spread front to back of the hotel. We luckily had a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellyRollBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Mr Roll

For your feedback many thanks. It's a motivation for our work and helps to optimze our service. Kind regards
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 649 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

stayed 3 nights with my family. the room was basic but clean. Air-conditioning is a necessity in the hotels around Asia and it did not occur to me that it is not so in Switzerland. great to learn that i can have it running by adding CHF20 per day. the summer heat in Zurich can be unbearable without air-conditioning.
we were given the password to the wifi but it did not work the 3 days we were there.
The location is excellent- walking distance to the Zurich HB (approximately 10 mins downslope) and tram station opposite the hotel. lots of good food and supermarket around the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llp2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear customer

We are happy that you had a good stay with us. As we have not yet AC in all rooms we have an extra charge for it. We are sorry that you had troubles with the WiFi. We had an update at these days and it was during the day once not running for 2 hours only.

Yours sincerly
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a nice hotel which is very central and easy to reach. It has good connections to local transport (the train station is just a stone throw away). The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean (albeit small). My shower was not very good as it was loose and far to low down for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear client

For your comment many thanks.Our showers have the height of the room. We are sorry that it was not high enough. The showers have the height of the bathroom, 2.40 meters.
We hope you arrived well to your next destiantion.

Yours sincerly
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in the heat wave in this wonderful hotel. The room was immaculate, and comfortable and the air-conditioning was a welcome relief in the heat wave. The hotel was walking distance to the old town. We made the mistake of walking from the Bahnhof which was too far for eldery people in the middle of a heat wave.
We did not have the breakfast but enjoyed the free coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvyseventies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear client

Many thanks for your feedback of your stay with us.
Yours sincercly
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The room is spacious, nothing special but clean, comfy & the wifi works well. We didn't like the system in place with the rooms keys. You are too leave your key in the box on the desk when you leave & pick it up from reception when you return. There were a few times our key was still in the box on the desk (for anyone to grab) when we returned.

There is a lovely church right next door, but the bells are quite loud & they seem to ring for ages.

The location is very convenient, we walked from the train station & although it's all uphill it was only a 10-15min walk. Alternatively the tram stops right outside the hotel door. The old town with plenty of options for food is only a short walk away as is the local supermarket.

This hotel is good value for money, with a few minor con's but we will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank P0ppy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Customer

We thank you for Feedback and the you felt well in our hotel. Our keybox system we will optimize. The chruch bells are only ringing on Sundays or if there is a special event.
We would be glad to welcome you on your next trip to Zurich.
Yours Sincerly
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is an adorable hotel with a cow theme carried throughout, there are cows painted in the lobby and hallways, as well as cow themed art work. It is cute and inviting. The staff is very helpful. The room was small but clean and the Wi-Fi worked great. There was only the BBC TV channel in English. We did not include the breakfast in our reservation; the average price of coffee is around $5.00. We found a local's place and got double espressos for about $2.00 The location is great, just take the tram #10 from the airport towards Flughafen or Bahnhofstrasse and get off at Haldenegg. The hotel is right in front of you. If you are confused, just ask; lots of people speak English. The Alstadt or Old Town is right down the hill. You are just a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants, and beautiful Lake Zurich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the garden in the back. You can hear people talking at night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferwilliams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, the room was spacious and clean and had everything I required.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and happy to help with anything!

Location is great and is walking distance from the main train station, the main shopping street and old town! There is also a tram stop literally outside the front door!

As in all of switzerland, the room was expensive for what it is as the hotel is becoming a bit run down - but still was a comfortable stay and would happily stay again.

Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but this is a nice, safe, comfy hotel, perfect for a short stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 137 in Zurich
1,039 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montana
#46 of 137 in Zurich
966 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#53 of 137 in Zurich
502 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leoneck Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leoneck Swiss Hotel

Address: Leonhardstrasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $127 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leoneck Swiss Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leoneck Swiss Hotel is decorated in a fancy ethnic design and is located at a prime location in the center of Zurich. A 6-minute walk from the train station, the Bahnhofstrasse, the banking district, the University and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and the major hospitals. Leoneck Swiss Hotel has 81 modern non-smoking rooms, all equipped with bath and shower. Internet is available free of charge throughout the hotel and the rooms are all furnished with air conditioning and a tablet PC. Telephone calls within Switzerland are also included. Parking space is available on request for a Price of CHF 25,- per night. In our small garden you can relax during summer time and enjoy drinks from our Restaurant 8001. In our Restaurant 8001 we spoil our guests with a rich American breakfast buffet, business lunches and a large choice of Swiss specialties for dinner - modern interpreted. We look forward to welcome you! Direct tramway nr 6, 7, 10 and 15, stop "Haldenegg" directly beside hotel, to airport (30 min), main railway station (5 min) and trade fair (20 min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leoneck Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leoneck Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing