We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy interiors...but a lovely, very very convinient hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Loved staying at the leoneck hotel...its funny interiors :) at a very convinient location. Tram 10 & 6 takes u right to the town area or u could take a 10 min walk down hill. Tram 10 & 6 also takes u to the main train station HB. Tram 10 also takes u right to Zurich airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenise211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Jenise

Thank's a lot for your excellent feedback, which is a great pleasure for us!

Kind regards
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 663 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is a15 minute walk from the train station. If you have a large suitcase, don't walk it. There is a long 2 block long incline stretch before you reach the hotel by foot. The lobby is quaint and the rooms are clean. We found the reception desk people a bit on the stuffy side and not very helpful when asking for help. Breakfast is served in the "cow" themed restaurant. The breakfast staff was very friendly and the food is fine. After you get oriented, the hotel is situated in a nice place, close to a lot night life, pubs and restaurants. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaglebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Beaglbud

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us!

Kind regards
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Centrally located near the central train station, so good for a weekend trip to Zurich. Expensive for sure compared to other hotels, but inexpensive for Zurich. Relatively quiet, clean room and fast check-in

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Matrask

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant weekend with us!

Kind regards
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrrived in Zurich late afternoon after having travelled by train from Northern Italy, so were tired and in need of a good rest. However, trying to find a decently priced hotel in what is an incredibly expensive country was difficult. We started near the station and were getting quotes of 240 Swiss Francs for one night in a double room (extortionate given the quality of the places). Luckily, after heading up the hill away from the station/river, we found the Leoneck Hotel - still relatively expensive at 150 Swiss Francs, but the cheapest we could get. However, the staff were friendly, the room was exceptionally clean, one of the towels had been shaped into a swan on the bed with two complimentary pieces of Toblerone, there were two free bottles of water in the fridge and loads of English satellite channels (not that we had time to watch TV - too much to explore). I also liked the fact that the whole place has a Swiss cow theme going on - each room has a different handpainted cow mural on one of the walls!! All in all, I found it a cheerful, friendly, comfortable stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzzyGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear OzzyGirl

We thank you ver y much indeed for your compliments and hope to welcome you again, if you return once to Zurich!

Kind regards
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is great! Very central and walking distance to almost everywhere!
However the staff is not so friendly.. Customer service in Switzerland sucks in general
Breakfast one of the worse I have had..
Needs a lot of improvement

Room Tip: TIP: If you will not ask, you will not get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eternal_Traveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhz1, Manager at Leoneck Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Eternal Traveller

We are very sorra that you had not a pleasant stay with us. We'll make an improvement of the breakfast and kindness of the staff.

Yours sincerly
Helmut Gold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This cow themed hotel is great fun in a brilliant location for both the town centre and the train station. The room was clean and very comfortable. Arriving early in the morning on a night train from Budapest, we were delighted that our room was available at 8am in the morning. It is a good value affordable hotel in this otherwise very expensive town!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Watkins_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Not very impressive hotel ,Because

1- staff services especially at reception, not very welcoming ...
2- room heating was not very good; we had to get another heater! ....
3- Hotel is even though close to central train station but coming to hotel is uphill and very energetic walk! ....
4- hotel is supposed to be kids friendly but surprisingly they don't have ramp on main entrance?
5-Room was ok but beds 's position were very awkward .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heerranjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
1,061 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 138 in Zurich
1,054 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#53 of 138 in Zurich
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 138 in Zurich
877 reviews
Hotel Montana
#47 of 138 in Zurich
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leoneck Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leoneck Swiss Hotel

Address: Leonhardstrasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $137 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leoneck Swiss Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leoneck Swiss Hotel is decorated in a fancy ethnic design and is located at a prime location in the center of Zurich. A 6-minute walk from the train station, the Bahnhofstrasse, the banking district, the University and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and the major hospitals. Leoneck Swiss Hotel has 81 modern non-smoking rooms, all equipped with bath and shower. Internet is available free of charge throughout the hotel and the rooms are all furnished with air conditioning and a tablet PC. Telephone calls within Switzerland are also included. Parking space is available on request for a Price of CHF 25,- per night. In our small garden you can relax during summer time and enjoy drinks from our Restaurant 8001. In our Restaurant 8001 we spoil our guests with a rich American breakfast buffet, business lunches and a large choice of Swiss specialties for dinner - modern interpreted. We look forward to welcome you! Direct tramway nr 6, 7, 10 and 15, stop "Haldenegg" directly beside hotel, to airport (30 min), main railway station (5 min) and trade fair (20 min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Leoneck Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leoneck Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing