We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy Cow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
Ranked #49 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Crazy Cow!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Crazy Cow theme grabs your attention, modern art, quirky interior design is cool...basically comfortable, small, clean, warm, basic rooms. Great location both for exploring Zurich and just 30 mins to the airport, tram 10 stops infornt of the hotel...and can be picked up from the rail station. The male staff at the desk where very helpful and happy to answer questions...however, the female staff never made eye contact and only answered questions if they really had to! Breakfast expensive, do your own thing, plenty of cafe's within walking distance...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    254
    116
    31
    16
See reviews for
109
134
51
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Leoneck is a 5 to 10 minute walk (partially uphill - but not very steep) from the Zurich Hauptbahnhof or Central Station. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel; in fact the 10 line goes out to the airport - very convenient.

As for the hotel, the lobby decor is a bit odd. Front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Our room 416 overlooked the street and was on the corner - lots of light, clean, comfortable and easily accommodated my family of 4. The balcony and small fridge were nice amenities. In spite of the tram lines below, the room was relatively quiet thanks to the double glazed windows.

I don't like spending more than $200 per night on a hotel which is why we often rent short-term apartments when we travel. The Leoneck was 250 Swiss francs per night but given all the positives, I think it was worthwhile and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentMillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and the rooms were warm and clean and the staff very friendly. Switzerland is expensive, so the rooms are expensive for what you get but if you are looking for somewhere clean and close to everything then you cant go wrong. I thought the breakfast was expensive so we didnt have it in the hotel but then finding a alternative was not that easy either.

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor and wasnt too noisy.... we had a family room so plenty room.... Internet VE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here about five years ago and were charmed in a strange way by the cow theme at the entrance to the hotel and in each room with cow themed cartoon murals. Now five years on the hotel has been updated and the theme watered down somewhat, with murals replaced by pictures.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but adjoins The Crazy Cow restaurant where a fairly basic breakfast can be obained.
For those visitors with automobiles there is a facility with a garage some two or three streets away providing three or four individual garages allocated to the hotel at a cost of 25chf per day.
The Leoneck is clean and comfortable and located right outside is a tram stop with trams going directly to the centre of the city in one direction and to the airport in he other. For those not familiar with the tram system an wishing to explore Zurich by foot, the main shopping street, the Hauptbahnhof (Central Station) and a number of restaurants can be reached within 10 to 15 minutes.
We probably will go back again at some time in the future for nostalgia's sake.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPlummerBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Pluses: Big 3-bed room - quite a small apartment - generously furnished, 2 TV sets, big bathroom, balcony, lot of windows; nice view overlooking the city. Chocolates on the pillow every day, slippers (that’s nice - and useful as it’s freezing in the room). Transfer to airport in 30 minutes with tram 10 stopping in front of the hotel. Free wireless internet connection, although slow and with interruptions. Good price for Zurich. Not too far from the main attractions of the city when you get used to all the up-hills.
Minuses: NOISY hotel, thin walls and ceiling, trams rolling and screeching every few minutes, church bells several times a day at the cathedral next door - and all these with closed windows, I can imagine how it is in summer. Not mentioning the change of floor carpet in front of our door for as much as two days – but this was just our luck. Housekeeping a bit too early in the morning, though nice lady. Pillows not comfortable at all, too soft and soggy. The staff isn’t the best - they should stay less behind their computers looking busy and be more friendly.
All in all, not the worst experience but next time I’ll choose another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilviaT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We liked the Cow theme, not sure everyone will like it, but don't think in the worst case it will annoy you. The room and bathroom were ok. Unfortunately there is no view from the balcon, but the hotel itself is located in a good and quite place, 5 minutes from the center of the city.
One day we came back at 0.30 a.m. and the door of the hotel was closed! We waited for 20 minutes outside with +10C, because the responsible staff probably walked somewhere, I found it terrible (good luck if you are goind on the party!). The breakfast hovewer was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

a straircase at the entrance.

smelly room. just basic room nothing fancy. even the furniture looks old i dont bother hang my clothes into it. not to mention creepy weird painting. when at first, i book the hotel, i thought the deco is OK. But when i entered the room, and i noticed a lizard painting on top of the headstand of the bed i was like what was that?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Hotel Montana
#47 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leoneck Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leoneck Swiss Hotel

Property: Leoneck Swiss Hotel
Address: Leonhardstrasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leoneck Swiss Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leoneck Swiss Hotel is decorated in a fancy ethnic design and is located at a prime location in the center of Zurich. A 6-minute walk from the train station, the Bahnhofstrasse, the banking district, the University and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and the major hospitals. Leoneck Swiss Hotel has 81 modern non-smoking rooms, all equipped with bath and shower. Internet is available free of charge throughout the hotel and the rooms are all furnished with air conditioning and a tablet PC. Telephone calls within Switzerland are also included. Parking space is available on request for a Price of CHF 25,- per night. In our small garden you can relax during summer time and enjoy drinks for our Restaurant Crazy Cow. In our restaurant Crazy Cow we spoil our guests with a rich American breakfast buffet, business lunches and a large choice of Swiss specialties for dinner - modern interpreted. We look forward to welcome you! Direct tramway nr 6, 7, 10 and 15, stop "Haldenegg" directly beside hotel, to airport (30 min), main railway station (5 min) and trade fair (20 min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leoneck Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leoneck Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing