We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creepy deco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

a straircase at the entrance.

smelly room. just basic room nothing fancy. even the furniture looks old i dont bother hang my clothes into it. not to mention creepy weird painting. when at first, i book the hotel, i thought the deco is OK. But when i entered the room, and i noticed a lizard painting on top of the headstand of the bed i was like what was that?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 616 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

went there with my gf for a couple of night. Nothing exceptional. The hotel is very basic, as well as the room we stayed in. Early in the morning the housekeeping was talking loudly and it got annoying very quickly, forcing us to wake up. Then they started cleaning and it was impossible to get back to sleep. I understand they need to clean but it was really too early.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I was travelling with my mom who is 60 years old and two big luggages from Paris at 9am. Could have taken the tram but I didnt want to lug luggages up and down so took a cab to the hotel which was less than 5 mins away. Check in was efficient-took less than 10 minutes and was given a room on 1st floor near to the stairs. Room is located on the right side of the street, next to the staircase to somewhee which I didnt explore. I can hear people going up and down the staircase but they cant see me. Phew! Bed and pillow was comfortable, bathroom was clean with basic amenities and TV and WI-FI worked fine. Didnt use the air conditioning as the fan is enough to keep the room airy and comfortable during the day and night.

Went out to Co-op to get some lunch-walking distance was 7 mins walking down the hill and 10 mins walking up the hill back to the hotel. There were some restaurants around the corner down the hill and right next to the hotel which I didnt try because menu prices looked expensive. Walked all over the city centre and saw sights on a bright sunny day and easy enough to walk back to the hotel to rest before going out for dinner.

The next day we walked to the train station (a light sweaty workout going downhill with heavy luggage!) around 10am. Picked up some breakfast at the train station (Migros sandwiches and juices). Booked room via Booking.com-easy and painless.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb_ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for three nights booked and paid for by work.
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel has this weird laughing cow theme throughout the hotel, including the shower curtain, cow hide in the lobby and a rainbow coloured porcelain cow to greet you out the front.

The room was very basic although quite spacious. The facilities are old but functional. The TV is quite small and Wi-Fi reception barely goes beyond the hotel lobby. The iron and ironing board is limited to a small dingy broom closet on the third floor.

The hotel restaurant is average and overpriced. I found myself having a coffee and pastry for breakfast from down the road in order to avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERAMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I arrived at the hotel very late, around 4AM. It's a quirky-looking place, with a "cow" themed bar next door. The receptionist was very professional, informative (regarding how to get to the train station by foot, as well as a few shops around the corner), and nice. I had to fill out a form asking for my info since I had never stayed at this hotel before.

The room was small, clean, and great for a one-night stay. It was clean and had a large bed (very important). The radiator didn't work very well, but thankfully, I didn't need it.

Unfortunately, my biggest complaint was the housekeeper. I was looking forwards to a great nights sleep, at least until 10AM (after getting in so late), but was woken up by a very loud housekeeper screaming to her colleague right outside my room. Add the occasional sound of a vacuum, and it was a recipe for disastrous sleep.

I didn't make it to breakfast on time (located at the car-themed bar/restaurant next door), which ended at 10.

A big positive with this hotel is that it's accessible by foot from the Zurich train station.

Overall, I'd probably find another hotel in the vicinity, but this isn't the worst I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanteusecrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Very basic hotel (tv, room, etc.) - breakfast limited, no irons to the room, must go to "ironing" room on the 3rd floor which is very small.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTooFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

the most tacky place I ever stayed... The paintings in the wall of our room was ugly as you can imagine. The bathroom very tiny. The only good thing was the balcony and I was in the top floor facing the front. It was quiet and clean.
Breakfast pricy and not great. The restaurant located in the Hotel is a ripoff and the food is no good... If you want save money you will ind much better food at the GB station. it's very close and the tram pass right in front of the Hotel.

Room Tip: better in the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monixbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#48 of 137 in Zurich
489 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#25 of 137 in Zurich
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leoneck Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leoneck Swiss Hotel

Address: Leonhardstrasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $145 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leoneck Swiss Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leoneck Swiss Hotel is decorated in a fancy ethnic design and is located at a prime location in the center of Zurich. A 6-minute walk from the train station, the Bahnhofstrasse, the banking district, the University and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and the major hospitals. Leoneck Swiss Hotel has 81 modern non-smoking rooms, all equipped with bath and shower. Internet is available free of charge throughout the hotel and the rooms are all furnished with air conditioning and a tablet PC. Telephone calls within Switzerland are also included. Parking space is available on request for a Price of CHF 25,- per night. In our small garden you can relax during summer time and enjoy drinks from our Restaurant 8001. In our Restaurant 8001 we spoil our guests with a rich American breakfast buffet, business lunches and a large choice of Swiss specialties for dinner - modern interpreted. We look forward to welcome you! Direct tramway nr 6, 7, 10 and 15, stop "Haldenegg" directly beside hotel, to airport (30 min), main railway station (5 min) and trade fair (20 min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Leoneck Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leoneck Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing