We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

An expensive but excellent hotel, with many welcoming touches - you get what you pay for. Very professional & helpful staff, comfortable rooms & a superb breakfast. The location could not be better - right across the street from the main station & at the beginning of the lovely pedestrian Bahnhofstrasse.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    202
    42
    18
    4
See reviews for
155
363
110
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We sometimes find posh hotels intimidating, but not the Schweizerhof. All the staff, including the receptionist, luggage porter, room service, housekeeping and breakfast waiters, were very friendly even though we arrived looking rumpled after a long train journey. They offered us a free drink on arrival and even upgraded us to a bigger room without being asked.

The room was beautiful without being overdecorated or furnished and the bathroom perfect, with nice toiletries. There was complementary fruit and chocolate, and a smart suit carrier in the wardrobe, with a label inviting me to take it away because it wanted to see the world! The air conditioning fan was quiet and the temperature easy to adjust.

At breakfast the food was good and the service brilliant. The head waiter and others noticed our wants before we expressed them, bringing extra grapefruit juice and coffee spontaneously. Checkout was swift and efficient, and we were given a bottle of water and chocolates to take away.

The hotel is in a perfect location right next to the railway station with the old town and numerous restaurants within easy walking distance.

This could cause us to get a serious addiction to glamorous hotels!

Room Tip: There might be a problem with noise from the trains on the front of the hotel. Our room was on the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripItAsYeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My stay at Hotel Schweizerhof was excellent, my best hotel stay in recent memory. The staff were a joy, as nice and as helpful as anyone could ask for, taking care to see that my stay in Zurich was wonderful. The hotel is located next to the train station, which was very convenient for me and for my brother who came in to visit. The buffet breakfast is very good, offering an assortment of choices to cater to different preferences, including smoked salmon with the usual accompaniments, fresh fruit, cheeses, eggs, breads, and champagne. At night I was brought a bowl of fruit, a few chocolates, and a Lucite apothecary jar with samples of night creams and lotions. Robes and slippers are in the closet in the room. The hotel is lovely, but it's the people that make it great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I staying for one night this week in this excellent business hotel. The welcome was good and very quick. The Resturant is excellent serving very high quality Swiss food. Breakfast is very good and is a must. The rooms are small but for one person are ideal and very clean. Try to get a 5th floor room. T he location next to Zurich Rail Station is ideal if you are travelling around the country. We certainly will be using this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Go for a 5th floor room Breakfast is excellent Have a dinner there too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I regularly come to Zurich on business and alternate my stays in different hotels. The Schweizerhof is one of them, that I appreciate for it's convenient location, well appointed rooms and usually good service. I consider it as a very good city hotel with usually friendly and helpful staff. My last checkout experience was however very bad as they charged me a breakfast that I did not take. The friendly receptionist checked and asked her manager. Then came the manager who insisted that I took the breakfast when I did not and insisted that my signature was on a bill when this was not the case. Not a word of apology for the mistake and a rude attitude that I did not appreciate at all. The breakfast was taken off the bill but the poor experience remained.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSwissTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Schweizerhof a few times over the years for business and every time the service has been excellent and attentive. There's something about this hotel that's uniquely Swiss. It is precise, punctual and somewhat understated. The hotel decor is a little dated admittedly, as some reviews have noted, but for me this is part of the appeal, because despite the chandeliers and wood panelling there are hints of the modern world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel clearly has many positive reviews on this site but I was left feeling that an exceptional level of service is used to mask a somewhat dated hotel product. I stayed on the second floor in a small room with a tiny bathroom. The sound proofing was not very good. The décor and furnishings were outdated. Many Swiss 5 star hotels now provide Nespresso machines while here you get a kettle and a sachet of Nescafe. The service is really very good and helpful, the location is in the centre and the restaurant and café are pleasant but what is really needed is a modernisation programme.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof, General Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

We thank you for having chosen our HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH and your time for your honest feedback on tripadvisor.
It was most gratifying to learn that our staff was very polite and helpful during your stay at our hotel and you could enjoy our services. You can be assured that I have shared your comments with all the staff.
I have taken good notice of your comment regarding the décor and furnishings in our rooms and regret that you could not enjoy your stay to the full. In March 2013 we reopened our 4th floor, which has been renovated and rebuilt in order to increase the satisfaction of our dear guests. The smaller room categories were adjusted to create more spacious rooms and the interior design as well as all technical equipment has been modernized (for example we replaced our coffee makers with Nespresso machines). In the end of this year, we start to do the same procedure in the 5th floor.
As it is of utmost importance for us to make the stay very comfortable, we are happy to receive such important feedback from our dear guests. It would be very helpful to find out, in which room category you have been.
If you are interested in trying one of our newly renovated rooms on your next stay with us, you are more than welcome. Just contact us directly (reservations@hotelschweizerhof.com).

We are looking forward to welcoming and pampering you at your next stay with us at the HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH!

Kind regards

Jörg Rudolf von Rohr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#26 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing