We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #9 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Schweizerhof in Zurich for a few days in December on holiday before we went skiing and it was absolutely amazing! Stunning rooms with lots of space, friendly staff, amazing breakfast and happy atmosphere! Definitely a must for anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mazarine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    212
    44
    21
    4
See reviews for
160
370
111
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I've visited Zurich for the New Year Eve, and stayed for four lovely days at the Schweizerhof Hotel. The hotel staff was very kind, and helpful. The breakfast at the Restaurant La Soupiere was delicious. I love their fresh breads and cheeses. The room was comfy with an awesome view to the main station and shopping street. Starbucks is just across the street from the other side of the hotel, that I can see it from my room windows. Coffee maker in the room + little pieces of chorale, fruit basket, and free bottle of water. The day of my arrival when i came back to my room at night I found a red XMAS slippers with pieces of chocolate and a lovely letter from the hotel management.
Most importantly, the hotel is just in front of the main central train station. it took me only 15 minutes ride from the airport to the station. The hotel also offer complimentary escort from the train station to the hotel. The day I checked out they offer me free bottle of water at the reception + chocolate and an escort to the train station.
I loved my stay at the Schweizerhof Hotel, and definitely would not stay anywhere else when I get back to Zurich.

Room Tip: I choose the deluxe room and it was a good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meemana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed in Zurich a few times but this is the first time staying at Hotel Schweizerhof. From the first entry to the hotel the service was exceptional. We had used a railway luggage trolley to take our luggage from railway, which is just over the road, to the hotel. The porter, without request returned trolley for us. Check in quick and efficient. Room well appointed and comfortable. Chocolates, fruit. Facility for tea. Dining for breakfast and dinner well worth using their facilities. Huge meals, could buy one and share!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Schweizerhof Hotel for the third time and it is a great hotel. Service is top class and the breakfasts are very good. The situation opposite the main train station is very convenient. We also liked th extras such as the snacks and drinks in the foyer. Gandkfromoz

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GandKfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our original hotel had double booked us and sent us here instead, which turned out to be great as it was much better than the previous hotel. It was situated right next to the train station and near the main part of town which is very convenient and easy to take train to the airport with your luggage. Very clean and would recommended, however it is rather expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airporteuphoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very central - very friendly staff and great decor -breakfast was great - large variety and choice
Of dishes. Staff we're very friendly and cooperative - nothing was to much trouble . Just across from central train station and large shopping centre - lots of eateries and restaurants

Room Tip: Our room was great. Very roomy and bed comfortable and treats at bedtime. Much appreciated . Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Schweizerhof is an old-fashioned and understated hotel located by Zurich Station. Be warned - your first impression will be very underwhelming.Indeed it has such a small lobby that you think you have turned up at the wrong hotel.
Sadly I had a really bad start - my room stank badly of stale cigarettes. I instantly complaned to the porter and he told me that all the rooms were non-smoking and suggested I opened the window to let in some air! As it was a cold, snowy night I was unimpressed by his solution.
So I went downstairs to complain - only to be told that I was in a designated smoking room and they were happy to move me straight away. So in this instance, the porter simply could not be bothered to deliver service. Given that this hotel was over $500 a night, I remain very unimpressed. My second room was fine, quite old-fashioned but perfectly comfortable (excellent bed) but with a very weak shower.
For the same price I could have stayed in the Hyatt - a much better and more modern hotel. However I would like to commend the front desk staff (who are great), the comfy and clean rooms and the location.

Room Tip: Aviod the smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing