We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, But No Gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good location, small/cramped room, typical of European hotels, but friendly service and fast Internet. Sadly, for such a high-priced hotel, there is no gym, and the referral they provide to a nearby gym (Holmes Place) does not include a voucher, so one has to pay to use that facility.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed often at this comfortable convenient hotel. It is across the street from the main train station and at the end of the Bahnhofstrasse. Zurich is an expensive town and the hotel is expensive too especially during the week as it is a business hotel.

The rooms are comfortable, large TV, fresh fruit, and customer controlled AC and heat. The hotel is quiet as there is a double door to the hallway.

Breakfast is excellent with specially prepared eggs and a top assortment of foods on the buffet. A small pitcher of orange juice is on each table. Newspapers in many languages are available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppy157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were not aware that the Hotel was fully booked out as the service and attention to our needs was excellent until breakfast when we had to join a queue outside the dining room before finding a spot to eat. The Staff were run off thisr feet yet still off ered he best of service and the buffet was always filled and delicious. Yes, the location is brilliant. Right next to the centre of town which has to be explored to appreciate the Swiss culture. When we got lost the first person we approached gave us excellent instructions. It is our intention to return and there is no question as to where we will choose to stay when in Zurich.

Room Tip: We asked for a "good" room and that is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HabTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I can hardly improve on the comments of previous reviewers; you only have to look at the consistently high star ratings to see that this wonderful hotel lives up to its reputation. And no wonder.
It is so convenient for the train station. When we arrived we were immediately offered hot towels and orange juice. Such a good start. The reception staff is exemplary – so helpful and they make you feel like very special guests. Our room was beautifully appointed – very clean and large enough with a good bathroom. We slept well in the very comfortable bed.

The breakfast is simply superb – everything you could possibly wish for AND Champagne too if you wanted it!

All the staff members were very courteous, friendly and helpful; they even offered to send someone over to the station with us to ensure we caught the right train next morning. We didn't need it, but how’s that for service!

Oh – and there is a Swarovski shop right next door. Perfection!

Room Tip: Room 210 was quiet and we slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed 3 nights in sept 13, real convenient base to visit Zurich and nearby towns up to bern, basel, luzen, rhinefalls. staff super efficient and friendly. made our stay like a home away from home.
location cannot be beaten, right infront of central railway station. 4 minutes safe crossing over, with free hotel greet and send off at train platform if needed.
room adequate for 2 large bags, clean and comfy Bulgarie bathroom accessories. turn down service. my room had bowl of fruits, chocolates, bottle of water.
French restaurant with really nice food. half board available - you get spoilt with dessert tray full of delicious dessert. breakie with complete selection and eggs to your satisfaction, even at 10 am there is still adequate choice.
front desk is superefficient, just ask and they have it-zurich tram/train/bus card no worries, directions no worries and even offered to post package for us overseas if needed.
have a good time

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PjKcontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night as stopover from a holiday in Italy. This was our second stay and once again we found the experience fantastic. Superb service especially from the 'butler' who served us at both gourmet café and breakfast. Will definitely be returning for longer break.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikka8433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friday to Monday long weekend

Location location location - right across the road from the main railway station.
Room was very generous size with a huge comfortable bed and a real key to open the door!
Bathroom facilities lovely and TV had all the channels you need and more.

Staff extremely professional and courteous and a very knowledgeable and helpful concierge - (Andre I think).

Breakfast very relaxed but a lot of variety.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tddentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
988 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 137 in Zurich
800 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 137 in Zurich
848 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
887 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#24 of 137 in Zurich
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $312 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing