We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb Staff and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb Staff and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there recently after a night on the town. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The room I stayed in seemed a little old fashioned and I was surprised to see, that they still use real keys.
The whole place seemed very clean and there were nice little details in terms of customer satisfaction (i.e. free apples in front of the elevator, a little bag with assorted chocolates upon departure etc.). The hotel is located centrally and I would certainly recommend it to anyone traveling to Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gone_aforeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    172
    39
    17
    4
See reviews for
137
316
99
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff in this hotel. They started by meeting us on the train platform with a luggage trolley which was swiftly loaded and transported to our rooms. Rooms were very comfortable and well stocked and the little extras were a nice touch. An extra course at dinner, water on leaving and the offer of chocolate each afternoon. Loved the styling and the ever-present brand of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place gets a 5 star for room quality and service level, with a higher end breakfast thrown in. No pools and I didn't check for spas, but this seems to cater to shorter stay, business oriented customers. This wouldn't discourage me from using it for family purposes if you can afford the overhead; excellent location if you have lots of luggage from the train, and short walk down Bahnhofstrasse to the old town. High end restaurant appeared to be mothballed, but other food outlets available in the hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very good, so upgrades aren't necessary unless you are really trying to impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have really enjoyed staying at the Schweizerof. The hotel is very, very good. It is clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. The staff is very helpful. The location is great. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRetirees92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Schweizerhof many times. It seems like our home away from home In Zurich. The Hotel is comfortable, the staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is yummy and the location can't be beat. I want to return right now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiberpetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel located across the street from the train station. The service is impeccable, room was very nice with a very comfortable bed. Lots of extras - chocolates, turn down service, fruit in the halls, water when we left, etc. the breakfast is extra good. Eggs, omelets, fruit, breads, fresh squeezed orange juice on and on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped here for an overnight break on our rail trip to Venice.
We were met at the station which was a really nice touch.
When we got to the hotel we were offered hot towels and refreshment.
The room was spotless and well furnished, also had sweets chocolates and fruit.
The beds were superb each bed had it's own reclining sysyem. We had a evening mea lwhich was beautifully cooked. As was the breakfast. The attention to detail in this hotel is second to none. We cannot wait to stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asisHaverhillSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Baur au Lac
#4 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing