We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find in Zurch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This 4 star hotel easily rates a 5 star in my book! We stayed here recently and found the staff very welcoming. From our amazing host Helmut in the dining room who made us feel extra special never even using a menu to order. He made sure we tried all the local favorites including the white asparagus - yummy! Helmut is a "star " and obviously has a passion for his work claiming he doesn't really work, he just welcomes guests into his living room! Melanie at the desk was most helpful with restaurant and sight seeing advice. I especially enjoyed the pleasant man who would offer evening treats via cart service each evening. The tangerines and chocolate treats were especially delicious! I would definitely recommend this hotel. First class all the way!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Switzerland so we wanted a convenient and comfortable hotel. The hotel is extremely clean and the location directly across from the train station was perfect after long days of sightseeing. The beds were comfortable and the room was extremely quiet. Despite being in a busy part of town, we didn't hear any noise at night. The evening butler cart was a cute touch- offering magazines, chocolate, etc. Breakfast was wonderful- lots of breads, cheeses, fruit, cereals, etc.
If I had to pick one less positive aspect of the hotel, I would say the front desk staff is a little "stand offish." For example, they could be a little more outgoing in terms of suggesting dinner venues or sightseeing ideas. However, if you ask them they will tell you; they are just not quite as friendly/talkative as you may expect.
The price is also quite expensive but given the location and comfort of the rooms, it is to be expected.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available. We did and were granted a much larger room (junior suite) than we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a Scenic conducted tour and wow what a choice.The hotel is superbly located on the lake and our kingsize room overlooked it and the road into the cbd only a few minutes away.The staff were most friendly and helpful, a great breakfast and the decor was topshelf.All in all,5 star !!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent staff at the Hotel Schweizerhof - smiling and attentive to all needs. Perfect location as just next to several tram stops with the Bahnofstrasse just around the corner. Lots of small details such as glass of fresh orange juice or white wine and hot flannels offered at check-in. One day we saw that they had small towels, nuts and raisins, and mineral water in the lobby for returning joggers! Top class breakfast selection with tremendous service from René who manages the breakfast room - remembered our name, rushed around to get the newspaper we wanted. Room very confortable, clean, and well serviced with fruit bowl, chocolate, complimentary tea and coffee. The night butler service was excellent - whether it be asking for clean cups and saucers, more fruit, chocolate, yoghurt, or toileteries. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but we did try the Café Gourmand and the bar menu. Again, excellent service. To be highly commended - a very well-run hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Schweizerhof many times and this visit I was with my 9 year old daughter. Multiple stays usually lead to at least one less than perfect experience - not here. The "team" is so helpful, from the front desk to the porters (who bring your luggage to your room and from/to the rail if you request) to the servers at La Soupière. Even housekeeping rang the bell to make sure we had everything - towels, soaps and even a few extra chocolates.

Arriving from America in the early morning has its challenges with hotels rooms, but our room was ready, waiting and spotless. This was very helpful and allowed us to freshen up before exploring the area. I always prefer a larger room, but if traveling solo, the single rooms are equally comfortable. Make sure to request an exterior room with a view as staring out the window down the Bahnhofstrasse or at the Rail City is quite nice. And the interior rooms overlook the courtyard which is not so nice. We had dinner served in our room and it was set up and presented as if we were seated in the dining room. The Veal Zurich style is highly recommended. The TV has plenty of English speaking stations and of course internet access. Free - I think. While every proper hotel in Zurich comes at a price that may seem steep, one must remember this is Zurich. And, like everywhere in the world, you get what you pay for. It is just more money in Zurich. Hotel Schweizerhof is worth evey CHF.

Located across from the Zurich Hauptbahnhof (Zurich HB - Central train station) makes this the ideal location. From the airport it is a ten minute ride on the local rail, which runs frequently, and offers easy access to the hotel directly across the street and rail service to all of Europe! A ticket from the airport to the HB, valid for one hour, is CHF 3.30. A fraction of what a cab would cost.

The personal touch this stay was also quite nice. Since I was staying on my birthday, I received not only a nice card from the General Manager, but a birthday cake which was quite delicious and a nice treat on out train into Austria. I cannot provide a higher recommendation!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Bahnhofstrasse or Rail City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtctdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff at the Hotel Schweizerhof is wonderful. The rooms were clean and sufficiently resourced. The location is nice for walking around as well. Once out of the lobby, the hotel does feel a bit like a chain hotel, but there is nothing specifically wrong with it - just a little impersonal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emergencygetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What an experience to stay at this hotel. We were met at the train station by a uniformed porter, who whisked us and our bags over to the hotel. At the reception, we were offered a glass of fresh orange juice and hot flannels while we checked in. We'd been upgraded to a room which would not normally register on our list of affordable places to stay, but was very comfortable and quiet. There was a basket of fruit and some little chocolates waiting for us, Bulgari toiletries and individual, electronically-adjustable mattresses. There was an unexpected visit from room service each evening, which was delightful for a chocoholic, but I don't want to spoil anyone else's surprise! Or maybe we're just easily pleased...

The staff deserve a special mention, as they were all extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. Impeccable.

The only thing we didn't have, is a view of anything other than a shopping street, but you can't have it all!

Room Tip: I bet they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
853 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
1,056 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
917 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $307 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ZÜRICH, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing