We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choco-heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
South coast of England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Choco-heaven!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What an experience to stay at this hotel. We were met at the train station by a uniformed porter, who whisked us and our bags over to the hotel. At the reception, we were offered a glass of fresh orange juice and hot flannels while we checked in. We'd been upgraded to a room which would not normally register on our list of affordable places to stay, but was very comfortable and quiet. There was a basket of fruit and some little chocolates waiting for us, Bulgari toiletries and individual, electronically-adjustable mattresses. There was an unexpected visit from room service each evening, which was delightful for a chocoholic, but I don't want to spoil anyone else's surprise! Or maybe we're just easily pleased...

The staff deserve a special mention, as they were all extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. Impeccable.

The only thing we didn't have, is a view of anything other than a shopping street, but you can't have it all!

Room Tip: I bet they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    224
    46
    21
    4
See reviews for
170
397
118
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Bardfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After arriving from Paris on the evening of 16 March 2013we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes. Warm towels to freshen up with and a glass of sekt at reception! The porter carried our bags to our luxurious room which had everything you could require. Breakfast the next morning was just as enjoyable - with every kind of bread, cheese, cereals, cold meat, fruit etc., you could wish for, and a glass of champagne served by the charming Rene really made our stay one to remember. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel offers great service with friendly people in a perfect location. some rooms are bigger than others, but the beds were comfortable. the breakfast is terrific. being right across from the train station makes travel so easy. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Both the hotel and restaurant were absolutely perfect in every way. So much attention to detail that I hardly want to reveal all the surprise extra touches that make this Hotel truly a delight. Drinks upon arrival, an afternoon fruit bowl and chocolates delivery, a sublimely delicious meal in the 'Restaurant La Soupiere' with the knowledgeable and friendly host 'Helmli', to more after dinner complimentary treats (twice!). A hop and a skip from the main train station and easy access on foot to all the main Zurich sights makes for the perfect location too. Whoever ignorantly said the Swiss were not friendly and helpful have clearly never stayed here.
I travel frequently for work and pleasure and this is one of the most lovely Hotels I have ever experienced. Book without delay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaJa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidingö, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great place to stay if you are doing business in downtown Zurich. The welcome is excellent, the rooms are well appointed and clean. Internet is free and works well. The breakfast is very good and served in a personable and period dining room which would also work for a working breakfast. The hotel is right next to Zurich's most fashionable shopping street if that is what you are after. Highly recommend and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or the trams may keep you awake. Also there are a lot of smoking rooms so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled by train from Manchester to Budapest via Zurich and Vienna. The two highlights of this trip were the train ride from Zurich to Vienna and The Schweizerhof Hotel. We were met on the platform by one of the hotel's very smart staff who carried our suitcases over to the hotel. On check in we were given hot towels and a choice of drink (other hotels take note!). They also advised us of an upgrade to a corner room as it was our anniversary together with a bottle of Champagne delivered to the room by the butler.A big thank you to all the staff at the Schweizerhof, Your standards of service, courtesy and care are a benchmark for other hotels.
Marion and David Bowers
P.S.Have travelled and stayed in many hotels but this was the first time we felt compelled to write a review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dbower187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Excellent hotel close to the Central Station in Zurich. The service is really immaculate. They even have a butler-service at night, one member of staff - in my case a distiguished gentleman in his 60s- knocked on the door to see if I would like to have a magazin or newspaper or chocolate or something else before bedtime. The breakfast is also excellent. Well spent money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 189852Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
954 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
779 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
788 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (10 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing