We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for an Overnight between Trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walhalla Hotel
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
404 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Perfect for an Overnight between Trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We needed a place to sleep in Zurich before continuing on by train to tour Eastern Switzerland. The Walhalla was perfect -- a block from the station, newly renovated, clean and well-run, only a little noisey from being at an intersection, but that was to be expected, given its proximity to the train station. Also an easy walk to a park, a supermarket and other amenities before it was time to depart. There's even a Starbucks downstairs, if you just can't do without!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    318
    65
    12
    12
See reviews for
121
179
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We chose Walhalla because of its nearness to the train station and the bus station (my husband has difficulty walking). It was definitely the right choice. They allowed us to check in early, so that we could refresh ourselves from the overseas flight. There were 2 very good restaurants within the same block. Surprisingly, it was quiet at night. The breakfast buffet was open very early (6:30 am) so that we could eat before catching the train.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleDerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

The hotel is very close to the central station and trams and provides easy access to other sights in Zurich. The hotel is good and comfortable, with friendly staff. Ideal for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adarshry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stumbled upon this hotel after having had a bad experience at the insufferable Best Western Montana and how fortunate I was - The Walhalla staff was very accommodating to my early check-in. This hotel is ideal for value shoppers who must feel overwhelmed in a city like Zurich. Throw in a train station across the street and a coffee shop below (guess which one) and this place belies convenience. It's just quaint enough to exude bed and breakfast charm but large enough to accommodate corporate get-aways of less than 12 or so. A few groups were doing just that which might explain the high demand for rooms. Oh, and the breakfast is well-attended to by staff. Though not elaborate, it's not continental breakfast either.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed at the Walhalla based on previous reviews, its location near the train station, and the nightly rates which were lower than most in Zurich. It is an easy block to walk (even dragging luggage) to the left from the end of track #18. I was there in December when there is a large Christmas Market set up in the train terminal so I actually spent more time in the station than I had anticipated.

The hotel is basic but the female staff were pleasant and very helpful although the male staff were just basically there. One of the the young female staff spent about half an hour getting my laptop onto their free internet system, even calling for tech support when she got stuck. She really went above and beyond.

The single room I had was interesting. The floor tilted. The high end of the room was just to the right of the window when facing it. The lower end of the room was diagonally across the room to the left of the door as you entered. You had to step over a sill to get into the room where it was obvious the hallway was higher than the room floor. The hallway looked like it slanted upward slightly but my room was the first one on the floor so I didn't test that. The bed was against the higher wall so it tilted too - downward so it felt like I was going to roll off it during the night. I didn't sleep very well since I woke up with a start every time I rolled over.

The bathroom was very large for European standards. Fortunately the floor did not tilt. It looked fairly new so it was probably renovated and for safety was leveled.

Breakfast was included with my room. It was okay but nothing special and the serving room and eating rooms were very basic. The best food was right next door at a large Starbuck's. I stopped each day for a latte and a sandwich or dessert. It was a nice treat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

As rail travellers we found the location of the Walhalla, just across from the main station, ideal. OK, it isn't the most plush of hotels, but provided you accept the workmanlike approach, there's no real problem with the place. The breakfast is a bit basic, and the rooms have seen better days, but for the price and the location in one of the most expensive cities in the world, you can't complain. The noise problem noted by others wasn't an issue for us, because we were on the top floor at the back of the building, having asked for a quiet room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

We were in Zurich for only one day and traveling by train so the hotel's location was important in our decision to stay at the Walhalla. As stated by others, the location is next door to the train station and the trams are right outside the hotel taking you either to Old Town or Bahnhofstrasse, the major shopping street in Zurich. It is also a 5 min. walk to the National Swiss Museum which also has a boat stop if you wish to cruise back to the hotel from the lake.
We stayed in room 401. It was clean and just fine for a short stay. Based on other reviews we were willing to accept the noise for the location. However, the noise from the trams was was not as loud as we had expected it to be with the windows open and the room was quiet with the windows closed.
Breakfast was included and was very good. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in their directions to Zurich's sights and they offered to check out the train time and platform for our next leg of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Montana
#45 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#89 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Property: Walhalla Hotel
Address: Limmatstrasse 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walhalla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing