We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3-star hotel that behaves like 5 stars”
Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walhalla Hotel
Ranked #35 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A 3-star hotel that behaves like 5 stars”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is marvellous. The location is excellent -- next to the train station and very close to the city center. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was superb -- just like rooms in 5-star hotels -- very big, pretty, with everything we needed. Breakfast was a real treat -- very tasty and with lots of choice. Although the location is in a noisy area, the room is very quiet.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor was very big, probably bigger than rooms on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Shira K.
Thank you very much for your feedback. This is a really good start into the day and I will definitely share your comments will all my team members. After a lot of changes we went thru last year it seems that we are on the right track. It makes me proud of my team and thank you again for taking the time to fill out the survey.
I wish you all the best and let me know if you plan to come back to Zurch in the near future. It would be my pleasure to welcome you personally.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    321
    67
    12
    14
See reviews for
124
183
71
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed from 13 - 17 Feb 2013. Primarily chose this hotel because of its location - very near Zurich HB, which makes traveling convenient. I read from brochures that there are day-tour buses departing from the bus terminal opposite the hotel. If I had find out this earlier on the internet I would have made arrangement to visit one of those places.
What I like most about this hotel is its towel heater rack. This is the first hotel I have come across with such thing. To have a warm towel wrap around your body after a bath is just fantastic; more so during the winter!
The wood flooring in our room have aged though. We can hear the squeaking as we walk and it is not even on some part as well.
Overall, Walhalla is a decent hotel and I had a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 46squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Walhalla for one night in February 2013 and used it to pass through on our way from Paris to Italy. It was ideally located to us as about a minutes walk from the central station. Room was very clean, breakfast was a continental buffet and free wifi. Compared to other places we looked at good value and excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastMidsTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the walhalla for 1 nite -3 adults in room 411. The room was very pleasant- clean & tidy - modern ikea like furnishings, with nice bathroom fittings etc. the staff were very friendly, and the breakfast - continental was good. The location is very convenient, and a very short walk from the train station- most of which is undercover. I'd read some other reviewers comments about the noise from the train/ trams, but we had no such problems, as the windows were double glazed. I would definitely return to this hotel, if I were coming back to Zurich.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joanne017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Free wifi, great breakfast buffet included in price, free water bottle in room: costs you at least 30chf in other places: add friendly staff and great location close to main station and you get a great value for money place in Zurich down-town!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmandoTroncana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Walhalla. The reason why I choose this hotel is that is very close to the Zurich Banhoff, has a Tram station right next to it and a Starbuck Coffe. The rooms are ok and very clean. The breakfast is ok but when I asked one of the staff for a glass she just told me they had run out of clean glasses which even if it was the case she didn't try to offer a cup or anything else, in general their service is not really very good. Another thing that we didn't like is that the hallways always smell a bit, the good thing is that the room was very clean and had no smells.

The one thing I like the most about this hotel (location) could also be a negative for you since you can listen to the trains coming and leaving but if you are a heavy sleeper like me then that won't bother you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nothing so special with this hotel, it's clean and close to the city center. Room was OK, clean, not too small. The hotel itself is quite old but it's more good than bad thing. It gives somekind of uniq to it. Breakfast was really good though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Montana
#46 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#90 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Property: Walhalla Hotel
Address: Limmatstrasse 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walhalla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing