We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walhalla Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$268
$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$410
$291
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$236
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baur au Lac(Zurich)
$709
$661
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveler rating
274
359
79
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
359
79
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationguest houseold townexcellent locationnational museumzurich hbconvenient locationtriple roomfew minutes walkwithin walking distanceshort staymain stationshopping streettop floorstreet noisepleasant staycold cuts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 750 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our second stay at Walhalla. We loved how close it is to the train station. Additionally, we found out how convenient it is to the street cars - a stop right around the corner. The room is was clean, the bed comfortable, nice little touches like slippers and other little amenities. The bathroom had double doors that opened out to a balcony! There was also a window in the bedroom. The breakfast is varied and very good, starting at 6:30 am to 10 am. The Walhalla Zurich is a good value. The only complaint was a bad odor outside in the hallway by our room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Originalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were catering an event at the old Lowenbrau factory, and the hotels at the Limmatstrasse were a good choice for the location and price. We book 8 rooms for one night at this hotel.

We were given 6 rooms at the hotel and 2 rooms at the guest house, one block away from the hotel building. At the hotel, rooms were good as per comments from other colleagues. My room was at the Walhalla Guest House, and as per my experience from other hotels and locations in Switzerland, it is not a 3 star hotel room. The room was narrow and the basic confort was there if you're not claustrophobic and used to one star hotel rooms! The extra pillow on the cupboard had no pillowcase - impossible to use!!; The bathroom is a plastic box inside the room and has a toilet, lavado and shower. The lavabo is so small that we can't wash our hands without splitting water all over the place! The door to the bathroom is a glass door and gives no privacy if you're sharing you room (it was not the case!).
Also, if you're staying on the main building, you can buy chocolate bars and drinks from the show case next to reception. If you're staying at the guest house, you can buy it too, but need to walk on the rain to go to reception and get it!

Internet connection is free on both buildings but you should ask reception to give you an acess code. The receptionist in the evening told us to enter our cell phone on the welcome page to get an access code via SMS (if you're on rooming it is stupid to pay for receiving a code by SMS when you can get that code for free from reception!) We all got internet access codes from reception when getting back from dinner (it was a different receptionist!).

At breakfast, the basics are in there, but when visiting the buffet twice on a gap of 10 minuts, I found totally different choices of cold cuts or breakfast rools - either they have no standards at breakfast, either they're passing on the buffet whatever is left in the fridge! The only hot breakfast available appart from coffee or hot milk is boilled eggs!

To sum up, location is very convenient as it is one block away from the train station and walking distance to the Bahnhoffstrasse, Niederdorfstrasse and many Zurich attractions. Rooms, food and service are below the 3 star level announced at the door and are a real lotery depending on what you get at arrival and who's there welcoming you. On an "hotelier" language, severe service standards (like those from hotel chains - even budget hotel chains) should be implemented and followed as on a group paying the same rate and getting different levels of confort, it is just not fair!

Room Tip: location is good and convenient to get to the train station of to the shoping disctrict. If you want go stay in this hotel, get a writen confirmation stating that your room is not at the guest house as you pay for confort and can't get it there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nuno Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I loved the location of this hotel,it is right across the street to the main trin station and very ideal if you have to stay for a night or take trains at early hours.It has nice and spacious rooms and depite being next to the hauptbahnhof,we did not hear the trains.The bathroom was very neat and nice. The staff at breakfast was exceptionally courteous and the spread was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anshita68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have loved my stay in this hotel in Zurich. Its prices are reasonable by Zurich standards and its location is very convenient: immediate access to tram and buses and across the street from the Main Rail Station, aka Rail City. You can walk anywhere from here. Walk out of the hotel and and through the main Rail Station and you are in the middle of everything. Keep walking along the River Limmat and you will be in Old Town Zurich.

The morning breakfast is very nice: fresh fruits and juices, nice selection of fresh breads and croissants, oatmeal, dry cereal, and coffee, cappuccino, and hot tea.

Rooms are modest: no coffee makers or refrigerators, no a/c, but rooms stay cool enough with windows open. Place to unpack and put clothes away. Nice sized bathroom. Adapters available at front desk for anyone who forgets that their stuff won't plug in here. Comfy beds with feather pillows.

Very friendly staff - all of them speak English, but learning some German is always helpful.

Ask for a room that faces the river because it will be less noisy. Ask for rooms at the end of the hall away from the alley if you can't get that. Bring earplugs as a last resort! Buses and business get started early here.

I will definitely come back here with my husband in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river because it will be less noisy. Ask for rooms at the end of the hall away from the alley dumpsters if you can't get that. Bring earplugs as a last resort! Buses and business get started early here.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesamineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is located across the street from the train station. And Zurich is small enough that you will not need public transport to get around.
The room was clean, especially the bathroom!
The breakfast was good. They offered all kinds of cereals, salami, marmelades and breads. Its all you can eat buffet.
The staff was hdlpfull. They also have luggage room.

But when I was running late for my train I appreciated the location the most of all things above. :))

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews