We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, hotel is OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location is great, hotel is OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days. It is kind of dissapointing that this hotel has no character at all. The rooms are very generic, just a bed, bathroom and that's it. (no carpet etc. ) The breakfast is nothing special either and the dining area is very small and dark.

The good things about this hotel are the friendly and helpful staff and the location. It is a couple of minutes walk from the main train station and other attractions in Zurich. Overall, the hotel and the rooms are pretty clean too.

I'd recommend this hotel only if you don't usually spend much time at the hotel room and most of the time outside.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    507
    184
    35
    16
See reviews for
302
269
105
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol for just one night after flying into Zurich from the U.S. We found this hotel in the Rick Steve's Switzerland guide book. It was very easy to get from the airport to this hotel by train.

The hotel is nothing very fancy. It's just a basic 3 star european hotel. But it was very clean. Our room was spotless. For train travellers, you can't beat the location. It is a short 5 minute walk to the Main Zurich train station. It is also walking distance to the shops and restaurants along the river.

We were told all the double rooms face the street and therefore are noiser than other rooms. Our double was on the second floor facing the street. We found it to be quiet enough with the widows closed, even during the day.

Breakfast was fine. Cereal, bread, juice, coffee and hard boiled eggs.

There is one computer in the lobby for internet access. I believe it is a 5 SF charge.

In summary, I probably won't recommend this hotel for an extended vacation. But it seems ideal for those travelers passing through. Especially those traveling via train.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2006

We stayed at the Bristol Hotel in Zurich one night before heading out for skiing. We liked it. There's nothing special about it, but it's a good place to stay if you just want a place to sleep. The location was good - a little further from old town than some places, but not much at all (at least if you're used to walking). We found it was an easy 5 minute walk from the old town (although this depends slightly on what you define as old town). It's probably a 15 minute walk from the main train station. We took the 'Ben Bus' from the airport to the hotel - a shuttle run by several hotels for a fee (we paid 25 Swiss francs for two of us). Service was good. Breakfast was typical Swiss and good (an array of cold items with some fresh coffee, tea or hot chocolate). The room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KerryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2005

This small hotel is a good find. Although it is in downtown Zurich, the price is fairly reasonable. The rooms were good sized and well appointed. The decor was nothing special, but it was very clean and well maintained. Although the lift was small (like most we encountered in Europe) it worked well and was well located and lit. The staff were wery friendly and helpful. We had an early morning train and the walk to the train was so short it was not a problem. The property sits far back enough from the main streets that the night noise was not an issue. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank drdanmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2005

Arrival and area:
We arrived quickly and easily at the hotel from the airport. We were a bit sorry we used the expensive shuttle service instead of the inexpensive and very convenient public transport. The hotel is located 5-7 minutes walk from the bahnhof - the main station and there is also a tram station located about a minute or two from the hotel.
It's a very quite and pleasant area. You could sleep with the windows open...
The room:
We asked for a family room, which apears to be very large, according to the photo published on the hotel web site. We were offered a family room for all 5 of us for 260CHF per night including breakfast. On arrival we found out that the room we got bears no resemblance to the one in the photo. In fact we were under the impression that we were squeezed into a triple room - the third bed near the wall was opened to a double and a fifth folding bed was set beside our double bed (see photo). After this there was hardly space to open a suitcase in the room... When we asked the reception about it they said that the family room in the picture is more expensive and we asked for the best deal...
Since we were only there for 2 nights, and the room was full of light and air (corner room) we left it at that - but if you are in for longer stays - think very carefully of your requirements and needs.
The Breakfast:
At our homeland, breakfast is a big and rich thing. The breakfast served there wasn't enough - although locally it is considered reasonable: it includes coffee/tea, milk and cereal, coissant and bread or rolls, hard boiled eggs (for fried you are required to pay separately), yoghurt, butter, jam. There was a fruit cocktail for tins (cans). No fresh fruits or vegetables. No selection of cheese or other things.

Summary: a good choice for short stay when you need to be close to the center of Zurich. For longer stays of FAMILIES - not sure this is the best choice. Nor for stays including destinations which are out of the city (the hotels which are not in the center are cheaper).

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank mom_of_s_n_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#48 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Hotel Montana
#45 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#31 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Zurich

Property: Bristol Hotel Zurich
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern facilities and amenities; centrally located, convenient for city exploring; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing