We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Florhof
Nearby Hotels
$402
$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$207
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$226
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$348
$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$569
$413
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$146
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
106
62
15
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
62
15
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming hotelold townlarge luggagestyle hotelnice amenitiesearly departurestay there againno air conditioningstayed one nightnice breakfastcentral locationwithin walking distancenight's sleeprooms are smalltram stationbusiness tripuniversity
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 195 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

When we arrived in pouring rain, I was informed that there was no porter to take the 5 bags up 10 steps to reception. The receptionist said she was the porter, but she was tied up taking an interminable time with another guest. So I lugged the cases up myself to get them out of the rain (travelling with my daughter who is not strong). We were told our booking was for only one person, when two people were definitely on my booking slip from the travel agent. We had to wait for 30 minutes or so while they changed the room from a double bed configuration to two twin beds, although again the travel agent had requested this. Then we learned that there was no electricity in the room so they changed us to another room and we went through the entire procedure again. Happily the new room was on the first floor rather than the third because the following day the lift broke down. Lastly, we discovered that the renowned restaurant was not open for lunch or dinner on Sunday or Monday! We'll never know if it was renowned or not because we left on Tuesday morning. Staff were pleasant except for one pretty surly young man - the female staff were very obliging and helpful. Charming rooms but no air/con except in a few, so we were glad the weather was cool. It would be unbearable if hot. I would never want to soak up the boutique ambience of THIS hotel again!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an air conditioned room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brockie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms, the service, the food and the communcation with the hotel for all arrangements and bookings is absolutely great, we stayed there already 4 times and we laways feel like coming home, very close to the city center, very friendly crew, the garden in back of the house is absolutely wonderful, all in all in city like Zürich a small bigu

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

When we moved to Zurich we stayed in the Florhof for several weeks prior to moving into our own house. We were made most welcome and felt like part of the family. Beate and Brigitte looked after our every requirement. The rooms are quite charming, well appointed and very comfortable. The food and wine amongst the best we have ever had. Both the Courtyard and the amazing wine cellar are wonderful and quite different areas to dine. As newcomers to the city the location proved to be just perfect. You can walk for just a few minutes and be right in the centre of Zurich and enjoy all the quaint little streets and shops. We continued to visit the Florhof for dinners and lunches for our entire stay in Zurich and have recommended it to everyone going to Zurich. Can't understand some of the spiteful reviews posted. They are not talking about this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved hearing the music drifting in from the music school nearby.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuga24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel Florhof is in a beautiful mansion with wonderful common areas including its sitting room and breakfast room. The common area are that of a four star hotel. The rooms are really that of a three star. A quick improvement, get rid of the bed spread (which reminded me of my grandma - both in look and smell) and just leave the standard white down duvets which were hidden beneath it.

The shower handle is set too low. I am just 5'9'' and found it difficult to shower, someone taller will think even less of the showers.

The front desk was very helpful with restaurant bookings and recommendations, directions and arranging for a van to take us to the airport. My wife forgot some clothes and the hotel delivered these items to our friends hotel nearby to return to us. Very impressive and yet they forgot the wakeup call on the morning of our departure.

We did our homework when booking our Zurich hotel and found that the Florhof was about 40 francs a night more than most hotels with similar stars, locations and ratings. Something to consider when two rooms are required over several nights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

A small to medium sized family run hotel just outside the old town but within easy walking distance of the lake, shopping, restaurants etc. Rooms are a good size, well equipped and quiet. Hotel would be a good option for couples or business people - less so for families. Restaurant is well known in Zurich for it's quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Only downside is the price but that's Switzerland for you. The Florhof is reasonable compared to ther options.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews