We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
Ranked #45 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Cant fault the location of this hotel. Most places in the city in walking distance.

Our room on the third floor was huge - loads of space and great value for money. Nice balcony windows to see the Christmas decorations in the city.

Staff where really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fairly basic but good value when with the room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 498 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

The company paid my stay and it was quite an expensive stay. I would have been quite disappointed if I'd been on a holiday. The room was ok, clean and nice. One evening and one morning there was no hot water. The breakfast wasn't that good and didn't have that many choices. The staff was polite and helpful and the location is really excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EeeeWok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. As well we would like to apologize inconvenience with the hot water. It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and to show that we can be better than the last time. Please contact me directly during your next visit to our hotel.
Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Due to a business trip prior to the Christmas day - i decided to bring our family out for a special Christmas. The hotel suited our needs and great value for money. The rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel staff were most helpful indeed. A great breakfast and lots to chose from and certainly very filling. The hotel provided us with 10CHF per room to spend at the restaurant in the hotel. One thing to note when staying in Zurich over Christmas - shops close earlyish on Christmas eve and don't open until the 27th. So most of Zurich is very quiet on Christmas Day and Boxing day - all the major shops and the Christmas markets all shut.It didn't matter for us as we planned mountain tours on both days. You will be able to find restaurants around but may need a little exploring to find them out. We found a great eating place ( also serves great coffees) around the corner at the hotel Hilti - serves vegetarian food - fantastic choice, you can top up your plate with as much as you want, you just pay by the weight of the food you have put on to your plate. Excellent value - worth a try.
A couple of things - this hotel is centrally located and great place. 10 minute walk to the station, if you buy a train ticket remember you are allowed to catch the tram ( and very efficient ) network - just check your ticket which areas you can use it in - also its great to hop on to the tram after a tiring day out - the tram stop is very near the hotel. The old town, 15 minute walk away from the hotel - go along the road Oentenbachgasse - this is a quick route to the old town and a lovely olde worlde buildings - great place to go for a drink in the evenings.
Christmas markets close after 8:30/9pm. Also the hotel is very near the coop store - here you can pick up reasonably priced food and drinks - might help with your budget whilst staying in Zurich.
Mountain tours - great value for money.
Will be returning again.

Room Tip: The best tip i can offer is to have a room which faces internally onto the court yard - and not a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your very nice feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. With great pleasure we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This centrally located hotel is terrific value for Zurich. The room was clean and warm and had such comfortable beds. Breakfast was fine and the staff so helpful. The reception staff deserve a special mention, they were pleasant and friendly and fulfilled our every request with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobysmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very glad to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.
Yours sincerely
Matthias Ramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Seidenhof is certainly our hotel of choice for a short stay in Zurich.
Next to Jelmoli parking and very close to the station and the
famous Bahnhof Strasse they offer very good value for money,
notably in the weekends. When you choose a superior room,
you will certainly not be deluded, those rooms are beautiful and very
spacious.
The only thing that is slightly disappointing is the breakfast,
but that is a minor issue compared to the rest.

Room Tip: If you want a guaranteed quiet night, ask for a room on the inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would be very pleased to welcome you again in the Seidenhof. And if you will continue to recommend us, we thank you kindly.
Yours sincerely
Matthias Ramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here only for one night. Reception was very polite and helpful. The room is spacious and clean but the bed was a bit too soft. Breakfast could be better. Location is alright if you do not have heavy luggages. It is less than 10 minutes walk from train station. Good for business trip.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your good feedback. But we feel sorry that we were not able to satisfy all your expectations. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Yours sincerely

General Manager
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed overnight for a shopping weekend. Its in a great location right in the heart of the shopping district, a short walk from the rail station. The rooms are a good size and the breakfast, while not fantastic, is all that you need. Staff friendly. Some noise outside from late night revellers, but the sound proofing is not bad. It is expensive, but in Zurich so is everywhere!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are very glad to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.
Yours sincerely
Matthias Ramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 137 in Zurich
1,021 reviews
Hotel City Zurich
#59 of 137 in Zurich
242 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#47 of 137 in Zurich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#42 of 137 in Zurich
408 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#23 of 137 in Zurich
498 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Seidenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Seidenhof

Address: Sihlstrasse 9 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Zurich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $182 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorell Hotel Seidenhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich's Bahnhofstrasse is Switzerland's best address. It's also the address of the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof. A top hotel in a top location for discerning business and leisure guests in Zurich. The Seidenhof impresses guests with its legendary breakfast buffet and restaurant Mishio with its garden oasis. Guests also benefit from room service, porter service, laundry service and 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Seidenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing