We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible 5 star boutique in Zurich!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We enjoyed two nights at the end of a three week trip through Europe. While we usually book through Amex Platnum, we took a chance on this boutique hotel based on the great trip advisors reviews and the value we hoped to get. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful every aspect of this hotel was. The service was second to none. All of the staff, especially Olivia were welcoming, accommodating and ridiculously helpful. They helped map a route that was perfect for us....we were exhausted after having worked daily for weeks to organize our own itineraries. We were upgraded to a huge one bedroom suite with a fabulous bath and a half. Everything was new, clean, fresh and modern. Bed was great. Free mini bar and snacks were really appreciated after three weeks of
5star mini bar prices. Loved having a free diet coke after arriving to overall Zurich sticker shock...what a silly little treat! The hotel is not located directly in the middle of the old town or the shopping area, but they are a very pleasant 15 walk away from the quiet neighborhood. Doable and enjoyable.
While I wanted to stay at the park hyatt or dolder, I'm so glad we chose the alden and would absolutely return regardless of cost! You will not be disappointed!
thank you to everyone at the alden!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank shaumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear shaumie,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel.

It was also a big pleasure for the entire team to have you as our guests.

It makes us happy to hear that little details like free minibar soft drinks and snacks are appreciated.

Your kind words about our staff made all of them very happy, and Olivia especially.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Alden whenever you return to Zurich.

Best regards,

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We just spent 4 days and nights in Zurich, and choosing the Alden as our hotel was probably the best decision we made. After taking the overnight from Washington Dulles, by the time we arrived at the hotel we only needed to wait about 30 minutes for the room - this at about 9:30 am. Fantastic! The room was very large with a modern, 4 - piece bath set-up with separate room for the toilet. Two TVs, an electronic safe in the room large enough for laptops, and minibar. It should be noted that all of the snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar are complimentary - kudos to Alden for this. It sure is nice not to get ripped off for a nice cold Coke after returning from a day of touring. They leave little Swiss chocolates each night with your turndown service.

As for convenience, there are three tram stops within a 3 block radius of the hotel; one is only a block away. It is only a three block walk to the lake with a park and some nice walking trails. This hotel is in a nice quiet neighborhood only three tram stops from the old city (altstadt), so if you want to be right in the center then this is not for you. However, we found it extremely easy and quick to get anywhere from the hotel using the trams.

Our room rate included breakfast, and it was a very comprehensive buffet with made-to-order eggs and pancakes. The presentation of the buffet was beautiful and impeccable - obviously the Swiss are the world's experts at accuracy. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious and the waiter made an excellent suggestion for wine which came from grapes which only are cultivated in Switzerland.

You will not find a more friendly and helpful hotel staff, and I mean everyone. They provided us with a very detailed city map and gave instructions how to get wherever we needed to go. They all speak English, and were very courteous when I tried to speak with my very broken German.

I'm sure that there is more that I could say, but this review would get very long. You cannot go wrong with the Alden Hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Dan77_13,

What a pleasure to read your kind words about your stay with us.

The entire team is very excited about your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the location of the Alden and felt comfortable in one of our suites and among our staff members.

Furthermore we enjoy reading that you noticed little details like the Swiss chocolates left on your bed with the turndown service.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Zurich.

Best regards,

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed one night at this small boutique hotel. Suite is spacious and luxurious. Great bathroom with separate room for the toilets. Large TV screen in bedroom and in the living room. Website pictures totally in line with reality. Corridor outside of the rooms are a bit 'off' looking more like 3 star material, but I was pleasantly surprised by the very high quality of the suite.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Voyageur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Voyageur H.,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel.

We are happy to hear you felt comforable at the Alden and enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites.

It would be lovely to welcome you back soon.

Thomas P. an the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked one of the two Loft Suites and was really pleased at the overall size and look of the suite, and especially by the huge spa bathroom. There were, however, a number of problems with the suite which weren't able to be rectified during the stay:

1) The huge spa shower with glass roof looked fantastic, but sadly it wasn't a 'rain shower' as expected. In fact it was just an ordinary shower and a broken one at that, as it was impossible to fix the shower head anywhere and it therefore had to be used as a handheld shower. On reporting this, was informed that they were waiting for it to be fixed after the weekend. Why then was this information not provided at check-in, especially as there were many unoccupied suites and an alternative could have been offered?

2) The phone in the room was not working, so ordering room service or reporting faults had to be done at reception...which sort of negates one of the benefits of room service! Again this was reported and someone looked at it, but couldn't fix it. An e-mail was received from the hotel after the stay advising that it had now been fixed. Hmm, great!

3) The door to the private terrace (one of the main features of the room) wouldn't open. Again someone spent 15 minutes trying to fix it, but was unable to. Was offered an alternative access to the roof terrace (via an entrance outside the suite), which was ok but hardly ideal. Once on the terrace, found the air-conditioning unit (presumably for the whole hotel) way too loud to enjoy sitting there for long.

Was really disappointed that none of these matters could be fixed during the stay and although staff were very friendly and apologetic, no effort was made to offer an alternative suite, or a goodwill gesture, or perhaps a small reduction in the bill to reflect the problems encountered.

Overall this is a lovely place, with great staff and there are some nice little touches (e.g. complimentary snacks and soft drinks from the mini-bar), but it's not quite 5* in terms of making people feel valued and special and going the extra mile. If only they had gone out of their way to rectify the problems, or offer an alternative solution, or done something to make up for the shortfalls...such a shame!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan_2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014. A wonderfully comfortable place to stay. Spacious and beautifully furnished suites. Wonderful service level and very conveniently located with just a short stroll to Lake Zurich and comfortable walk to centre of Zurich. Tram close by if feeling lazy. Could not recommend any more highly? Hope to return.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Alan C.

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

It is lovely to hear felt comfortable at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel and enjoyed its central location.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you on your next visit to Zurich.

Best regards,

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you're after an outstanding hotel experience, look no farther. I visited the Alden Hotel with my family, and we all agreed that the staff was as attentive, professional, and hospitable as any we've come across. The rooms are large, well-appointed, modern, comfortable and the amenities are generous. The Alden is located close to the park and a two minutes walk from Lake Zurich. It's also a nice leisurely walk to Old Town with its Medieval and Renaissance architecture. My two sons-in-law chose the Alden for us, and the rest of the family have all been continuously complimenting them for such a successful choice. One other small point, but it's one I remember: when we left, several of the staff came outside the hotel to see us off, making us feel like valued guests. It's a small touch, but it made us feel great. I'd love to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Mitzi and family,

It is so lovely to read about your stay with us. I assure you the pleasure was ours to meet you and host you at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel.

We are happy you spent such a great day in and around Zurich and that you can remember it as its best.

Your words about our staff touch us especially and we are happy we made you feel comfortable.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Alden to finish a recent holiday and loved every minute. Our beautifully appointed and very spacious suite made us feel less like guests at a hotel and more like we had our own apartment close to Lake Zurich. The bed was very comfortable and the massive bathroom with large spa bath deserves special mention. The suite was spotless and every need provided for. The location cannot be faulted. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KT_in_Europe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoram B, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014
Google Translation

Dear KT_in_Europe2011

Vielen Dank für Ihr wundervolles Feedback über unser Hotel.

Wir freuen uns ausserordentlich zu lesen, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben. Es bedeutet uns sehr viel, wieder Ihre Gastgeber sein zu dürfen.

Das ganze Alden Team freut sich auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Park Hyatt Zurich
#5 of 137 in Zurich
954 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
513 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#20 of 137 in Zurich
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Baur En Ville
#87 of 137 in Zurich
128 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
844 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich

Address: Spluegenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $346 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing