We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ending to an amazing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I spent 12 days touring Switzerland and made Zurich our entry and exit city of choice. On our last night in Switzerland we booked ALDEN Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich to be centrally located and easy connections to the city walking or by tram. not only is this a great easy location BUT the service, rooms, food and everything about this property was amazing. The staff did everything to make sure we had our needs met and if any questions had the answer or found it for us. Next time I am in the area this will be my only option for hotel.

Room Tip: If you can book the Suite you will be happy you did with all the comforts of home and complementary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swooley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 310 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This Hotel is elegant yet perfectly unpretentious. The staff are all very kind and attentive and there is a lot of attention to detail. The rooms are comfortable and perfectly designed, the courtyard in the back is a treat. We had dinner at the restaurant and were so impressed by the delicate flavors and the inventive dishes of the young chef !
Would certainly recommend this hotel, if you are in Zurich for business or pleasure.
We had an enjoyable stay.
D

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaphneGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have just returnef from Alden Hotel after spending two nights in one of its suits. The room was nice and very spacious though looked a bit tired with marks on the carpet and on the walls. Overall the stay was pleasant, the receptionist was very friendly and polite. The main disappointment was the very rude waitress during the breakfast! We have never come across such attitude in '5' or even a three-star hotel. She was very bitter, unhelpful nd even told us off for keeping a highchair in our room the night before. If the hotel wants to keep its high rating and have more returning customers they should seriosly consider changing some of their staff. The food in restaurant was ok, but could also be improved, given the prices are very high. The quality of bread searved with one of our dinners was appaling - looked like left-overs from the night before!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bealer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I chose this hotel via TripAdvisor and was very , very happy with our choice. They made us feel special as we arrived - drinks, service and made to feel very welcome. A small thing - but the cool drinks in the mini bar were free. That doesn't cost the hotel much but summed up why this hotel goes the extra mile.

Our room was spacious and a wonderful big, comfortable bed. The shower was fantastic.
This will definitely be our choice when we go back to Zurich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baroness V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

First bad experience was parking. Started on a warm September day. When I asked where I can part, the rude reception seems surprised at my question and did not give me a friendly clear answer. I was run around for 5 minutes. The air-conditioning did not work and the room smelled like dirty feet. How can this be a 5 star hotel? The only good experience was being served tea at the bar. The blonde young lady was very very pleasant, spoke clearly in English (a big surprise in Switzerland!) and would be the only reason to remember this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tein s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this property and I would highly recommend. It is a small, boutique property with an intimate feeling. We stayed in a junior suite on the first floor although as on a side street, it was quiet.

The room was very spacious and clean and we felt very comfortable...it felt good to come back after a long day of exploring. It was well stocked with pillows, towels and toiletries. The mini bar is complimentary (excluding alcohol). The bed was very comfortable and I appreciate that each had their own duvet for their own comfort. The entry way and living room area were very large, bedroom a good size however the bathroom was a bit tight. Very nice decoration and quality.

The staff were very professional, kind and helpful and I appreciate that they provided early access to room based on availability.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the train station, 5 minute walk to lake promenade, 10 minute walk to old town, 30 minute walk to main train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a small hotel steps from the main banking and business area of Zürich. Rooms are spacious, something rare in Switzerland, service is attentive and knowledged, atmosphere is almost like going home. Actually, this is my very first choice in Zürich, where I go for business at least 4 times a year. Only strange thing in this hotel, is that wi-fi services are payable. Quite strange in a hotel of this category, but OK, nobody´s perfect... - will certainly keep on coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 137 in Zurich
937 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
711 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
500 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#8 of 137 in Zurich
1,070 reviews
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#25 of 137 in Zurich
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich

Address: Spluegenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $352 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing