We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“minimum service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich
Ranked #70 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“minimum service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent week-end at Alden, Choice was made in relation with attractive week-end prices. The hotel seemed very empty which is fine. Reception upon arrival was kind but not at departure. When I requested a 12 noon to postpone check out to 1pm, it was immediately refused and we were called in the room 20 mimutes later to speedup. Not very commercial attitute. Instead to have minimum service during week-ends due to low occupancy, the management should instead provide top service and be flexible in order to have clients coming back. It proves again that low prices have an impact on quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pad1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    61
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
50
111
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived for a 2 night stay just before New Years Eve. The welcome at reception was excellent, we couldn't ask for any better service. Location was peaceful and close to everything. We definitely have a great impression of Switzerland. Dinner was very good. I would recommend some "Main Stream" meals to be available on the menu. Thank You.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bosspac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent new year's eve there and the hotel was a walking distance from a privileged place we could see the fireworks.The hotel's positive aspects: Very good service, staff very friendly and helpful. Good location. Quiet neighborhood. Near shopping area and tram stops.
Negative points: breakfast not so good, very noisy elevator.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and was somewhat disappointed. First the positives: The service at this hotel is outstanding. A few days before you check in they write you an email asking what they can do to help you and they mean it! The hotel itself is attractive. We stayed in a suite which was large and with a pleasant decor, but not especially memorable.
We thought breakfast was fine, but nothing special. Many reviewers noted proximity to downtown. We were there during Winter and it felt like a long way to us, but perhaps in warmer weather it would feel closer. Our rooms were very expensive and we left feeling we didn't quite get our money's value. Of course, one may feel this way in all Zurich hotels as this is a very expensive city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colprubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We left the last 2 nights of our honeymoon open and decided last minute to spend them in Zurich since we were flying out of there to go home. The hotel is a very nice boutique hotel and its location is within walking distance to Bahnhofstrasse which is Zurich's main downtown street and one of the world's most expensive and exclusive shopping avenues. Although we didn’t shop for more than some chocolate, the area is wonderful, clean and the buildings and churches are just beautiful. The hotel staff are very friendly and we were surprised with Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate shortly after our arrival. The room was clean and quiet, only 3 rooms per floor made you feel very private and secluded in a good way. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed getting in the last of the wonderful coffee that Europe has to offer. We highly recommend this if you are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peppah5803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed but two days, yet we found the manager and her staff thoughtful and very helpful. The Alden and Zurich are fortunate to have such a customer oriented staff. My wife and I were shocked when we returned to our penthouse suite to find a bottle of champagne on ice. I had merely mentioned that we were on a tour of Europe to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary while checking in. We will cherish your thoughtfulness forever.
The room was impecable as was the fruit basket and two, large, flat-screen tv's.
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ModestoDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Alden for two nights with our young son and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We were upgraded to a luxury suite and we were very impressed with the quality of the furnishings and fittings of the rooms. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the housekeeping staff went the extra mile with lovely touches such as "turning down" my son's cot blankets and tucking his teddies into bed. He was very impressed! The room service and hotel breakfast were also great.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank fismeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Park Hyatt Zurich
#8 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#31 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 134 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Hotel Ascot
#81 of 134 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich

Property: Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich
Address: Spluegenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Hotel Splugenschloss)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing