We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very sweet swiss experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Hospitable and helpful english speaking staff at reception especially the Filipino staff(Felix). GReat food at their lobby restaurant -where we had a wonderfully different gastronomical experience upon our arrival(what a way to serve salad and chicken sandwich) LOve the complimentary non alcoholic beverages, chips, chocolates and peanuts in the room. HUge and classy suite room. GReat service! Happy people ready to serve their hotel guests. Lovely lake and the old town nearby as well as other major tourist spots. They have soft beds but amusing because they can recline like hospital beds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshamanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arrived on a Friday and because I think they cater for more business people than tourists the hotel was nearly empty as everyone had left town for the weekend. This was good as we had only booked a room and were upgraded to a suite at no charge. Ladies in reception were attentive and charming. The room is very soundproof so you'll sleep well. Located at the lake end of the city about a 30minute walk to the Bahnhoff where the tourist tours commence from. Restaurant was very good but expensive, but so is everything in Zurich.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Alden hotel Splugenschloss is indeed a joy to stay in and made more wonderful by the attentive and personal connection between the guests and staff. My wife and I enjoyed being in the hotel as much as we enjoyed the wonderful city of Zurich and will definitely come back to this hotel. The most enjoyable part of our day was coming down to the intimate restaurant (more like a beautiful living room) for the daily breakfast which offered an incredible variety of delicious treats every day. Our room was comfortable and very spacious and the service from the cleaning staff through the hotel manager was as good as I have ever seen in any hotel; and we have stayed in some very wonderful hotels over the years.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

we liked evrything about this hotel location the old style service with tru passion for what they do

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benigolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

In a city of small and expensive rooms, why not go for a hotel with large and expensive rooms? The room I had was fantastic and probably 5x bigger than an equally expensive room at the Baur au Lac. The staff was delightful and helpful in all matters. And the breakfast was top notch. Wonderful place...I'll definitely stay there again next time I'm in Zurich.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
Thank ReluctantReviewerNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

From the moment you arrive at the Alden you are made to feel welcome. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and stylish whilst feeling comfortable. Situated in an ideal place as very short walk to the lake which is beauitful and about a 10 minute walk into the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekkib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I don't think I'm going to say anything that hasn't been said already, but I have to say the Alden Hotel is fantastic. We also got upgraded to a junior suite (how often does that happen?) and they even changed it to a more modern one when my sister didn't like the traditional Swiss chalet-style one they suggested. The suite was clean and spacious with plenty of room for meeting with clients. The location may not be absolutely perfect, but both the lake and the city centre are a very short walk away and it's nice to stay in a quieter area than usual. It's a lovely, cosy hotel and the best thing about it is definitely the staff; so friendly and attentive, they were perfect. I'd definitely stay here again next time I'm in Zurich.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myearsarealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
895 reviews
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#23 of 138 in Zurich
366 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 138 in Zurich
488 reviews
Savoy Baur En Ville
#92 of 138 in Zurich
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich

Address: Spluegenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $374 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing