We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit far from the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Zurich City West
Ranked #52 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is another good IBIS hotel.
The room was clean and quiet, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast is tasty and the dining room is very comfortable.
There is underground parking.
As I like to walk instead of any kind of public transport, I find this hotel a little bit far from the centre - there is about 20 mins of walking to the central railway station which is, in fact, the city centre.
In overall - it's another very good hotel by IBIS, and I can definetely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelK_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
There are newer reviews for ibis Zurich City West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 977 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, I agree:
-Great Value in an expensive city
-Small rooms

Modern, economy, located in a former industrial area that is going through a remarkable revitaization. Lots of pubs, restuarants, cultural venues.And located in the TechnoPark area.

I stayed 4 nights for a business trip.

Check-in, Lobby:
Nice, clean, modern. Staff friendly. I asked for a room as high as possible, as quiet as possible. They didn't hesitate. That's exactly what I got: Room 501. Corner room, far away from elevator. View looking northwest on Pfingstweidstrasse. Let me be clear: A little view, through a small window.

The lobby has a modern interior look, also with a couple of computers for use by guests. Elevators (2) are small, but fast.

Restuarant, meals:
The breakfast is not special, moderate, to slightly below standard for European standards. But it gives you something to eat in the morning before you go to the office, or begin your sigthseeing. My breakfast was included in the cost of the room. For dinner i never saw anyone eating there. So wasn't about to try it. There is also a small bar with 1 or 2 individuals in the afternoon.

There are sooooo many restuarants and pubs in the area, dinner out is the way to go.

Rooms:
Small, maybe tiny. Super clean.
Bathrooms are definetly tiny. I didn't have a problem with the shower door. But did stepping out of the shower. For an older guest with a few mobilitiy issues this could be a problem. Based on the fire escape map in the hallway most of the rooms are as small as mine or slightly smaller. <I should have taken a picture of that map!!! Another reviewer please take that pic??!!>

The desk is small. I arrived on a Saturday for a Monday presentation and had to work in the room nearly all weekend. This is where a larger room with bigger desk would have definitley worked out better for me. Small desk.

Bed was SUPER COMFORTABLE. no complaints here.

the noise level in the room is very good. The advertisments for the hotel say the rooms are sound-proofed: and they are. Very quiet. I couldn't tell if I had a neighbor or not. Quiet rooms. EXCEPTION: the hallway doors are heavy (good) and LOUD, slam.

A few other room suggestions: 502 (across from mine (501)) is slightly larger. 534 is larger but may be a family room. This may be the same on the other floors.

Area:
From what I've heard from my colleagues that work in the Technopark area, it's going through a major revitialization, was a former industrial area, and considered somewhat hip and trendy. I've eaten at the Aya, nice patio in the Steinfelplatz (ordered the burger. good. grilled outside on patio). And at Steinfels, a brew pub, nice modern restuarant inside, very pleasant tables outside in teh Steinfelplatz. I enjoyed the bock, slightly amber beer and ordered the flamekuchen (like a thin crust pizza, try it).

Transportation:
Switzerland, Zurich has great public transportation. Take the A4 tram to the main station and downtown area. The stop is very close to the hotel, 3min walk, now more. Nearby is the station for the main line train, especially the S16 which is the train to the Zurich Airport.

Summary:
Go to this hotel knowing the rooms are small, but the price for a modern, clean room is very good. If you need a larger room, slightly more amenities go to the Novotel, sister hotel, same building. I found the rooms to small. But if you are ok with smalls rooms, and the low cost this hotel may be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 5th floor, quiet, away from elevator. Try to get 501. Local grocery is a Migros in t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DocTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Will consider good value for the price paid to stay in a expensive city. A few tram station away from the train station. This is supposed to be in Zurich West zone, near some of the restaurant, drinking place etc. check in and out are smooth, meet the stand of ibis hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank STS_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in 3 people room in this hotel and found the room very cramped. There was no space to move around and it did not have any shelves and just a single table. Even washbasin was very close to bed and both WC and shower room were very basic. Location is decent; close to Zurich Hardbruecke station. Overall considering price, it is a decent option to stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It is a nice place to stay; but not a nice place to eat. Not because of the bad taste, because of the worst service from the restaurant staffs.

I am an Indian and we visited last week. Check in was pleasant and Mr.Thomaz from reception helped us a lot. Since it was getting late, we decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant itself. But the response from the restaurant staff was really worst. She showcased mere aversion towards us and could feel the typical racism which we have never faced in UK or US. We wondered to see people at the services industry with this mind set. By the time we finished the painful!! dinner, we felt we could have better starved.

The bitter journey continued on the next day breakfast buffet also, but this time with an another restaurant staff. That was the limit and we never stepped-in to the restaurant after that though we stayed 2 more days over there.

Probably it would not have happened, if we are whites !!!

But as mentioned above, reception staffs are really helpful and especially Mr.Thomaz !

So if you are not a white, better not to enter the restaurant though you have a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Perumal_Krishnamoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good value in a trendy part of an expensive city. The hotel is in the former industrial area of Zurich which is transforming to a cultural and entertainment paradise. Theater, restaurants, galeries and clubs, all there. As the hotel room was a bit too warm I opened the window. Unfortunately the base sounds of a nearby club where pretty loud. At Friday it was still acceptable but on Saturday night they really went for it (until 5 AM or so). That club is in an old industrial shack without any noise insulation. Guess with the window closed it should be ok.

Standard Ibis rooms. The TV had only channels in the (Swiss) German language. Didn't try the breakfast. Good parking facility with a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Away from the noise!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#49 of 138 in Zurich
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City-West
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,243 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Zurich City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Zurich City West

Address: Schiffbaustrasse 11, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#9 Green Hotel in Zurich
#36 Family Hotel in Zurich
#53 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $117 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Zurich City West 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Zurich City West hotel is located in a stylish district of Zurich, close to the motorway and 100 m from the Technopark business centre, 9 km from the airport and 10 min from the main railway station. The hotel offers 155 rooms with air cooling (including 5 for guests with limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours and private undercover pay parking. Business guests will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Zurich City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich City West Hotel
Ibis Hotel zürich
Accor Zurich City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing