We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Choice for Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Zurich City West
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed in Ibis Zurich City West with my wife and 3 years old daughter right after 2013 New Year’s celebration. They have the well know Ibis standard (which we consider excellent for most of our vacationing needs, except for the lack of the microwave + fridge pair in the room). The rooms are very clean and we were given one of the rooms with the extra bed for our daughter – in this case we found that the room was sensibly larger than the rooms from other Ibis hotels we stayed, what we found to be excellent. The only not so good point is that, from this hotel, one depends on using the public transportation system and/or taxi to get to the center and main train station – this is not really a big deal in Zurich, where the public transportation system is excellent, but we did have to grab a taxi as we arrived in the main train station in a rainy day and taxis are not that cheap in Zurich... The front staff was helpful in giving us directions of the surroundings and how to better use the public transportation system. Overall, we liked the place and I would recommend to friends and family in case it keeps being sensibly cheaper than similar options in the central area as it was in our case.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Excellent choice hotel for those on a budget; 10 mins from the centre on the #4 tram of 2 mins on the S-Bahn to Hardbrucke from Hbf.
The hotel is the usual chain experience; Very clean and pleasant which were very helpful. We didn't have any issues with walking around the area, it seemed very safe and was quite vibrant, however it can be more expensive that the City Centre, I paid 8CHF for a beer at the near by Steinfels brew-pub (right by the tram stop)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_bates09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milan t
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was perfectly located, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The only point that wasn't good was the breakfast that could be a little bit better composed (a couple of warm food like scramble eggs would turn this hotel perfect to stay).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alois_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis_ZCW, Manager at ibis Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Alois,
First of all thank you for being our guest. I very much appreciate your kind comment, will definetely share your thougths with my Team and wish you an excellent day.
Leandro Renggli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days for business and was content with my stay. Didn't expect much (on business) though. About a 10 min walk from Oerlikon train station (might want to consider taking the tram from Zurich if you have heavy bags as you have to cross a quasi-overhead bridge), Rooms were clean as they should be. Breakfast was basic but decent. Staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheleMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I tended to avoid the IBIS City West in the past. However, since it was revamped/ renovated a couple of years ago, it is now one of two hotels in this part of Zurich that I prefer to stay at when I visit on business. (For reference, the other is the Senator and both are within 5-10 mins walk of our office).

First things first, for a UK resident (live in the South West) ALL hotels in Zurich cost the earth.

Secondly, at the end of the day, this is an IBIS and paying well over £100 a night, for room only, is a lot - though clearly for Zurich is very little.

That said though and as my title reflects - what the IBIS provides is what it pretty much promises. It is a comfortable hotel, with good rooms, comfortable beds, well equiped and clean bathrooms and reasonable facilities (free Wifi, nice bar area, reasonable restaurant that serves a pretty decent continental breakfast) and good attentive staff.

I would recommend to anyone needing to find a decent hotel, who need to get a good night's rest and a reasonable breakfast - all at a pretty reasonable price for Zurich.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#52 of 138 in Zurich
665 reviews
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 138 in Zurich
434 reviews
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Zurich City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Zurich City West

Address: Schiffbaustrasse 11, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Zurich
#9 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#36 Family Hotel in Zurich
#53 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Zurich City West 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Zurich City West hotel is located in a stylish district of Zurich, close to the motorway and 100 m from the Technopark business centre, 9 km from the airport and 10 min from the main railway station. The hotel offers 155 rooms with air cooling (including 5 for guests with limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours and private undercover pay parking. Business guests will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Zurich City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich City West Hotel
Ibis Hotel zürich
Accor Zurich City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing