We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist, Sparten, clean and well thought out, in an IKEA flavour.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Zurich City West
Ranked #52 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The strength of the Ibis hotel theme is the fact that you know exactly what you will be getting when you arrive. There are no unwanted surprises. I see Ibis hotels as the Mc Donald’s of the hotel chains. A Big Mac is a Big Mac, from Amsterdam, Singapore through to Zurich the rooms with be the same, with the feel of being furnished from an IKEA catalogue. This is a good thing. They are always value for money no matter which country they compete in. They appear to run them on minimal staff, so midnight room service is usually picked up by yourself from the night front desk. [No one to bring to your room etc] At Zurich the staff were friendly natural and helpful. Interesting marketing strategy has the Accor Hotels company feedback email linking directly into Trip Advisor and promoting the site. I find this an interesting marketing symbiosis.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John14638545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
There are newer reviews for ibis Zurich City West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 977 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Switzerland is soooooo expensive for accommodation. We just wanted somewhere to lay our heads for the 3 of us sharing (1 double, 1 single). The service at all Ibis is budget (ie not much), but the room was clean and compact. They are usually a little bit out of the way and harder to get to, but often a 5-10 minute walk to train/bus to city. We felt like locals, rather than tourists, and we loved that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janni_NZAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The ibis hotel in Zurich is located in the west of the city, not really close to anything of interest. However, especially if regarding the price level of hotels in Zurich, it is good value for money. You can go there by tram and then walk for a couple of minutes. The rooms are quite basic and do not offer any luxurious comfort, the same is true for the bathroom. Howevery everything was clean and I had a good night's sleep. Breakfast is okay and served in the back of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank TripReporter177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Our team arrived at the Ibis Hotel in the very urban area of Zurich. The hotel is very central to the city and the public transportation is very good and easy to navigate for english speakers. The bar/lobby is well laid out and the breakfast is good also. We enjoyed the free internet in the lobby as well. The rooms were what one would expect for European standards, very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n17wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed for two night on a weekend break with a friend. We had a twin room. There wasn't a lot of spare space, but it was spotlessly clean, well looked after, and pretty new. The same applied to the bathroom which had a great shower. Staff were really very friendly and helpful (although they didn't know a massive amount about tours in and around Zurich - they did direct us to the tourist info office which of course had all the info we could ever need). Free internet in the lobby was readily available. Nice restaurant. Breakfast buffet at 10.30am was a bit limited so we went out for breakfast.
Overall, for a reasonably priced hotel, I would definitely recommend the Ibis West.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljs3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I visited this property late December on a business trip and I was very well impressed.
You can find this hotel in a quite corner of a refurbished and nowadays trendy industrial site of the city of Zürich.
It provides parking garage with direct access to the hotel, which it is shared with the nearby Novotel: and in a rainy and cold winter evening, I can tell you this is a great plus. 3 tram lines are steps away to take you into the city centre as well as to the central railway station in about 8/10 minutes and the motorway is not far either.
The rooms are standard Ibis, modern, basic but well functional. The corridors have a different and more modern/upscale touch then other properties.
There is a full restaurant at the hotel serving Swiss Specialties, a Bar and a lounge corner with free Internet Wi-Fi.
Wi-Fi in the room is available at extra charge, which also differs from other hotel of the same chain where it is simply not available.
The breakfast buffet was also inviting and offered a good value for money.
I found the staff friendly, helpful and professional and I would like to recommend this place to anyone, businessmen or leisure travelers alike.
That said, please keep in mind that Ibis Hotels are certified to be a 2 star hotels: if your standard are fixed on top range properties then this is not completely your place. Though I still suggest: give this place a try and you will notice that even some of the 3 and even 4 stars hotel will straggle to keep up with this level of service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVE-CH-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#48 of 138 in Zurich
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City-West
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,243 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Zurich City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Zurich City West

Address: Schiffbaustrasse 11, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#9 Green Hotel in Zurich
#36 Family Hotel in Zurich
#53 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $117 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Zurich City West 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Zurich City West hotel is located in a stylish district of Zurich, close to the motorway and 100 m from the Technopark business centre, 9 km from the airport and 10 min from the main railway station. The hotel offers 155 rooms with air cooling (including 5 for guests with limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours and private undercover pay parking. Business guests will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Zurich City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich City West Hotel
Ibis Hotel zürich
Accor Zurich City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing