We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Zurick and the lake”
Review of Dolder Waldhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolder Waldhaus
Ranked #99 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views of Zurick and the lake”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Dolder Waldhaus is the poorer cousin of the Dolder Grand but shares its great location on a small mountain overlooking Zurich and the lake. Lake view rooms are a must. The staff have a fantastic service ethos and the food is good too. The best way to reach the hotel is by tram and then rack railway up the mountain. Both Dolder hotels have their own railway stops and the 5 minute ride lets the day's troubles fade away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and the explanations about how to reach the Dolder Waldhaus. We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations with our service and product. Please arrest assured, that we will hand over your kind words to our employees.

The Dolder Grand is certainly a beautiful building which we are proud of, as it is our 5 star sister hotel. Due to the fact that our present building does not meet current operational or energy requirements, there is a need for renewal. We are planning to replace the present building, which dates from 1975, with a new-build project. Construction work will commence in 2016 at the earliest. Until then, the Dolder Waldhaus will continue to operate unaltered.

We would be happy to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    83
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
60
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow Oblast, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good value for money. Room was very comfortable, smart organized and big. Nice City view from the balcony. Location is good for who wants to stay away from city voices having the birds serenades every morning

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We appreciate that you shared your positiv thoughts on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear that you were satisfied with your room. We agree that the view from up here is spectacular. Our biggest goal is to have our guests happy and confident. It seems that our provided service was able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel.
Honestly, it does not look nice from the outside. However, the personal was very helpful.
The room was clean and convenient for a short stay and the view on ZH and the lake is a plus.

The breakfast was ok but could be better for a 4 stars hotel...
What I really did not like is the bed blanket. In synthetic and not feather, you are either too warm or too cold...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanThi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Especially your comments about our staff is very motivating to us. We will definitely hand them over to our employees.

We understand that our product is in some respects outdated. Due to this fact, we are happy to tell you that we are planning a complete renovation in about two years. The Dolder Waldhaus will be closed between 2016 and 2018. We are sure, that the new product will convince you to come back after the reopening.

Concerning the breakfast we kindly ask you to tell us your wishes up on your next stay. It would be a great pleasure to meet your expectations. For the bedding we have in fact different possibilites. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance of your next arrival so we can prepare the room to your satisfaction.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is bit far from main Zurich city but it takes hardly 30 mins to reach the main hub by tram. We loved the location and the view from balcony was really awesome but if possible try to stay during clear weather as foggy weather will block awesome view of the lake as it happened to us.

If you are travelling from Airport then you can take a Taxi for which you will need to pay around 50 to 60 CHF and if you coming from train station then you can take tram number 3 to Klusplatz and get down as Romerhof where you will get small mountain tram, once you get that small mountain tram you need to get down at second stop which is Waldhaus Dolder which is just next to Hotel

Zoo is 5 mins drive from hotel so if you are getting your car then you dont need to worry about travel but if not then you can get taxi from hotel which where you will need to pay around 13-15 CHF or if you are in town then you can get a direct tram to Zoo (number 6)

While booking the room make sure that you ask for a double bed because they gave us two single beds which were just joined together which was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Choose room on higher floor if possible so that you have a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viren_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and the detailed explanations about how to reach the Dolder Waldhaus from the city and airport.

We are pleased that we were able to convince you of our product and services. Please do not hesitate to inform us upon your next visit, that you prefer a king size bed and we will be happy to make the arrangements for you.

Also kindly note, that besides the public transport and car, one can easily reach the hotel in 15 minutes, by taking our shuttle bus to «Münsterhof» in the city centre. Our shuttle bus is complimentary for our guests and runs every hour, between 9.35am and 5.35pm.

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and hope, that we will be able to welcome you soon again to the Dolder Waldhaus.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel positions itself as the sister hotel to the Dolder Grand. I stayed for one night in November and the hotel was fairly quiet. This might have something to do with its location. If you are after easy access into the city centre and old town then this probably isn't the hotel for you. However this hotel does provide a peaceful setting up in the hills with some great views over the city (albeit on a clear day).

The pool and spa area was clean and the room in which we stayed (double suite) was adequate for our needs. The staff were very accommodating in the restaurant and reception and spoke English well. WiFi signal is a little intermittent. No signal in the restaurant area, plus it times out which means you have to log in every time you want to use it.

Overall no real complaints. A good hotel with helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sando77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your valuable feedback and thoughts on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We especially appreciate the encouraging words about our staff of the Restaurant as well as of the Front Office. Please rest assured that we will forward those words to our employees as they are a good motivation for them to carry on in the same way. It is our biggest goal to persuade with our product and our services and meet your expectations.

We are sorry to hear about your problems with the internet. Please contact the Front Office the next time you are here and we will be happy to help you with this issue.

Please do come back and visit us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Beware inflated reviews. One below here says "a little older design…" The place is *dreadful*. For the price there's simply no excuse. It's awful, dirty, old concrete towers thankfully perched high above the city. The furniture is as outdated as the building, walls paper thin. I can't imagine what other reviewers are thinking, even though Switzerland is expensive and you grow used to high prices here. Really… there's no excuse for this kind of facility at this price. Anyone who's traveled extensively will be disappointed with the ambience, food, price. It's outrageous.
I even had a special event rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movingtoLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and sharing with us your detailed feedback.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment that you encountered during your stay. We are sorry that we fell short of your expectations regarding the furniture and design of our rooms.

We wish to mention that although the services and technical equipment mostly date back to the origin of the building (1975) they are well kept and maintained. We do offer various categories of rooms, offering different styles of designs, some of them are newly renovated (in 2012). We are planning to replace the present building, with a new-build project. Taking into account the necessary proceedings, planning phase and building permit, construction work will commence in 2016 at the earliest. Until then, the Dolder Waldhaus will continue to operate unaltered.

Please note, the selection of dishes and the services offered in the restaurant are constantly being optimised and enhanced in order to accommodate all guests likings.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Dolder Waldhaus soon and have the opportunity to convince you of our product and services.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the dolder Waldhaus for one night on a business trip.

From outside the hotel doesn't look great however it is really quiet and there is a little balcony in the room with really nice views of Zurich and the Alps.

The receptionist was not particularly helpful - a bit weird - and the staff doesn't speak good English.

Breakfast selection is a bit small but ok.

There is only one towel in the bathroom and the toilet paper holder is located very near the floor (a bit unusual, have never seen this). There are few plugs in the room and the internet connection keeps cutting off so you have to log yourself back in with your password every time.

Overall this hotel is good value for money considering its pleasant location.



Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank odyssea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments and the time you took, to share your feedback about the Dolder Waldhaus. We appreciate your positive overall opinion of your stay with us and your helpful suggestions.

We also think, that the magnificant view from our balconies is one of our highlights up here.

On the other hand I regret to hear the comment about the staff at the reception. At the Dolder Waldhaus, we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. However, your comment will give us the opportunity to follow up on this and improve the points mentioned.

Regarding the breakfast buffet, we are happy to tell you, that it is already planned to add a bigger selection of fresh products. Hopefully, we will get a chance to impress you in this matter the next time.

Please do come back and visit us again in the near future. We would be happy to help you as well with the internet connection and bring you some additional towels up on your request.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
The Dolder Grand
#5 of 139 in Zurich
1,015 reviews
Fluntern
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
#61 of 139 in Zurich
291 reviews
Hotel Hottingen
#79 of 139 in Zurich
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
659 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rigiblick
#101 of 139 in Zurich
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolder Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolder Waldhaus

Property: Dolder Waldhaus
Address: Kurhausstrasse 20, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#49 Family Hotel in Zurich
#54 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#62 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolder Waldhaus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated location on the Zurichberg yet only a few minutes away from the city centre, the Dolder Waldhaus offers a wonderful panoramic view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. The ideal setting for business trips and city breaks if you wish to combine peace and relaxation. Pool closure 2016 Due to maintenance work the pool area will be closed from 11 to 17 January 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolder Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dolder Waldhaus
Dolder Waldhaus zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing