We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolder Waldhaus
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$219
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$403
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$298
$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$550
$386
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$147
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
63
83
26
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
83
26
11
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 189 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is a little older design hotel, with exceptional friendly staff and an atmosphere of its own. Very nice room, big and comfortable, in an hotel located on a hill near the Zürich Lake with beautifull views on the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene19632110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that our staff was able to make a difference. Please rest assured, that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Zurich is known for it's expensive hotels with very small rooms. If you want a comfortable hotel just minutes away from the city centre, then the Dolder Waldhaus is a very good choice. While the exterior of the building is not attractive - the inside is a different matter. The corner superior rooms are large, comfortable and have great views down across the city of Zurich and the lake. The balconies are a great place to relax after a busy day. Nine of my friends from Australia have just stayed at the hotel for 2 to 3 nights and they all loved the hotel. As the organiser, I was pleased that they got very good value for money and were really comfortable. The reports on breakfast were very good too!
As a little extra, they all loved the little train that runs from the hotel down to Romerhof - they all felt like locals catching the tram into the city! Thank you to the Dolder team for looking after my friends so well!

Room Tip: Corner superior rooms are large and have great views. Worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neptuntravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Madame

Thank you very much for accommodating your guests recently with us and passing on your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that your guests enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. Please be rest assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction.

It was a pleasure to have your guests staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming them back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel doesn't look very good from outside, it's quite charmless. But the location is fantastic, and if you get a room in the upper floors, giving to the lake, you will have the best view you can get in Zurich. Try to book a Deluxe Corner Room, they are very spacious and you will have a lot of light, a (small) balcony and a great view. Restaurant is ok, service adequate if not exceptional.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room with view, Corner Deluxe Room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product.
It is also in my opinion, that the view is one of our highlights here at the Dolder Waldhaus.
In order to improve the look of the building and the design, I am happy to tell you that we are planning a complete renovation in the next few years.

On the other side, I was sorry to hear that the service in the restaurant was not able to meet your full expectations. We continuously strive improve our service and your feedback is therefore very important for us.

I sincerely hope to be able to welcoming you back in the future, before and after the renovation.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We will definitely return. The staff at this hotel are very courteous, professional and friendly, aiming to please. The location is beautiful, high above the city, just down the road from the Dolder Grand and there are many possibilities for walking outdoors in the adjacent forested area. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and the choices included traditional Swiss specialties as well as lighter fare. Overall, we were very pleased with the experience and found it to be a very quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardcourtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and your kind message.
We really appreciate that you took the time to express your experience.

At the Dolder Waldhaus we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to forward your positive comments to our entire staff.
It is a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that especially our food choice in the restaurant was to your liking.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've stayed here several times and I really enjoy the view of the lake and city from the small balcony off the room . Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms have always been clean and well equipped. The hotel offers a free shuttle into the city that runs hourly during the day but I usually take the Dolderbahn which has a station at the hotel. It is a unique cog wheel tram in the public ZVV transportation system. Once you understand how that public transportation system works you can get around the entire city and area very quickly and rather inexpensively.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to hear, that we were able to meet your expectations during your past visits and appreciate your overall positive review.
I have passed on your very kind words to the staff and I hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews