We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Simple, Does the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and Simple, Does the Job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed her for 1 night in November 2006. Our room was simple and clean, including a bathroom that transformed itself into a shower stall. It is not centrally located, but about a block away from the tram.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank mucholucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    156
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
104
36
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

This hotel was good value for what we paid - through Orbitz we got a deal where breakfast was included (it was 17 CHF per person otherwise). The english speaking staff were helpful, even had a room ready for us when we checked in at 8am. There is a shuttle from Zurich Airport for 30 CHF, though you are best to ask at the info desk in the airport because it's a bit tricky to find the shuttle stop. Our room with a "city view" (i.e. a back alley view) was a comfortable size, but it was a little stuffy. The bathroom is very small, I believe it was possible to use the toilet, shower *and* sink at the same time! . There is a public transit ticket window and stop nearby, as well as various dining options. Additionally, the wireless internet was about 7 CHF for 15 mins, but it became more economical if you purchased more time. All n' all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maniacmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

We stayed at the Sternen Oerlikon in early June 2006. Oerlikon is a suburb/satellite of Zurich, but this hotel is situated a five minute walk from the station, which has trains into Zurich every two minutes. The hotel is right next to a tram stop and there are buses that run into Zurich. The best part about this hotel was the price - $110 a night with a pretty decent breakfast included. The staff were very helpful and polite and we were able to leave our large suitcase with them while we travelled to Bern and Geneva, before returning for two nights to the Sternen. There are numerous restaurants around including a north Indian and a south Indian resturant, a Burger King near the station which offered a great veggie sandwich (much better than what they serve in the US), and a cafe next door to the BK.
The rooms were clean, though the lift following European tradition is meant for pencil thin models alone! Overall, a great experience. Its much cheaper than the $200 plus you might pay in Zurich city, and the ride into Zurich is 5 minutes or less. Trains run late into the night so you have the advantage of being close to the city but not affected by its noise.

  • Liked — The cost - it was priced within our range
  • Disliked — The layout of the rooms was not very comfortable
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank darashukoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

A very clean room with all the amenities. Pricing is excellent for Zurich. The staff is very friendly and fluent in English (if that is an issue).

Close to the Oerlikon train station and 1 block from the tram and bus stops. Close to stores and restaurants.

We would definitely return (and we did- 3 nights one week, 1 night before our return flight).

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swiss_hikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2005

Other than the reception this hotel has not changed a bit in the ten years that I have used it. Don't let this put you off though as it is extremely well maintained and cleaned. There are all manner of different room layouts, sizes and facilities, so if you don't like the room you get it is worth asking to change. Convenient for Oerlikon railway station and trams into Zuerich, which takes less than ten minutes. The restaurant used to belong to the hotel but is now a separate business serving classic Swiss food in a typical Swiss atmosphere.
For budget travelers there are good options for eating during the day - the best being the self service restaurant in Migros supermarket. Once a week there is a market in the town square.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RogersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2004

The Sternen Oerlikon is a very clean budget hotel located in a nice suburb of Zurich. Our room was small with a comfortable double bed (2 singles put together) and a couple of sitting chairs and round table. The bathroom was adequate but the sink was inside the bedroom. Our room faced the main street occupied by a constant flow of trams, and buses but it was very quiet at night. The hotel is about five easy walking blocks from the main train station in Oerlikon (if you have luggage, you will have to negotiate the steps in the train station). We loved the stay here because it was a good value - about three miles from the center of Zurich, quiet, friendly and easily accessible.

Helpful?
7 Thank 1DW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#21 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Property: Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing