We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #31 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“3 nights”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic for a business trip. Newly refurbished in a smart, modern fashion. Spotlessly clean and a nice, basic breakfast. Only down side is the showers have shower curtains (a pet hate if mine) but they were perfectly white, not the manky type you tend to come across!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear traveller

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that we could persuade you with our hospitality and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    159
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
105
37
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just a few minutes away from the fair I had to work during the weekend. Very tidy room and not a sound from the outside even though the room was situated on the street side. Breakfast was very good, and had a wide variety of choices. The welcome gift was very appreciated and needed after a day of work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FMV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear traveller

Thank you for your time to share your experiences with other travellers. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards.

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights for business in Oerlikon. Reasonable value given Zürich prices, free welcome drink, friendly staff, small, clean, functional room. Convenient public transport: direct tram line to airport (#10) and to central rail station(#10, 14). Only caveat: front-facing rooms have rather loud tram noise until late. Not a central hotel but good for Oerlikon work. Excellent authentic Vietnamese restaurant across the street.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank EVT-PQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we could satisfy you with our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is terrible. The restaurant was closed when I arrived hungry, "because it was Sunday" I was told, so no food on Sundays! The room was very cold, actually freezing, I couldn't sleep at all. The breakfast was cold and basic. I enjoy cooking for myself at home, but not when I or my company are paying for the breakfast. And the elevator has only one button to go up and down, so I had no idea which way it was going, I went the wrong way and then I waited so long that in the end I had to take all my luggage down the stairs and slipped and almost broke my neck.

So, worst hotel I have stayed in ever! And believe me, I stayed in some quite terrible places while inter-railing as a student 25 years ago, but at least then it was fun.

Room Tip: To get a good room, choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Kelvin S

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon and your time write this review. The opinions of our guests are very important for us to be able to improve our service.

We are very sorry that our service and hotel-equipment could not suite your expectations of a 3star hotel. We apologize for the heating problem. The heating was forgotten to be turned on in your room. Please accept our sincere apology. As we have a night auditor, he would have been happy to provide you with an extra planked or heating.

Our elevator is usually quiet busy on mornings with a fully booked hotel, we are sorry for your waiting time.

We hope very much to receive a second chance to convince you of our service and friendliness.

Sincerely regards from Zurich
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice - superbly clean with stylish rooms. The service staff was welcoming and very helpful. The location is spot on - 5 mins from train station and then 7 minute ride from the airport and 7 mintue ride from Zurich Central. The only downside was terrible WiFi - appallingly slow. Oh, and if you have more devices (like smartphone, tablet), make sure you request more passwords - one is for one device only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear traveller

Thank you very much for your time to share your experiences at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers.

We are happy you enjoyed our hospitality.

Our Wi-Fi system tends to slow down a bit with many guests online. We are very sorry for this. Unfortunately this problem can't be solved before end of summer. The different accesses for each devises are necessary for security reasons, but we are happy to provide you with more accesses for each devise.

We would be happy to welcome you another time again.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great hotel outside of the city, 10 minute walk to the train. A near by outdoor market is nice to grab a quick snack. Friendly and helpful staff. I really enjoyed my room. Contemporary design with heated bathroom floor. Quality liquid soap was enjoyable. Unexpected and nice balcony on top floor. Firm bed was nice but only one pillow but i didn't mind that. Nice assortment of cheese with breakfast. It was expensive but expected. The attached restaurant is very good. A good amount of restaurants around the hotel and a small shopping mall. I would book again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trotpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, General Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear traveller

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could persuade you with our hospitalty and our service.

We also took note for a second pillow for your next stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next time.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed two nights en route to Zurich and chose this hotel from review on Trip advisor. Their hotel website is very helpful with directions to the hotel and we had no trouble following them and catching the train from the main station which only took 5 mins. Our welcome was very professional and friendly - a basket of fresh fruit is by the front door which is a nice touch! Our room was on the 4th floor and was generous - we had more than enough room. liked the touch of 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water - there is no fridge or tea/coffee facilities but given that we hardly spent any time there except to sleep not a problem and there is a small bar area in the foyer if needed. Bathroom clean and great shower. Great soundproofing - didn't hear a thing from any other room.

Breakfast was delicious with the usual array of various meats, cheeses, rolls, pastries, good range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and eggs.
location - whilst a little way out of the main tourist area we chose this hotel on affordability as well and truly it exceeded our expectations. The transport card is 24 hrs and about 8 CHF each and trams 14, 10 and 11 were within a stone's throw to whisk us back in for our sightseeing - approx 15--20 min trip.

Room Tip: We had room 415 which looked out over the back of houses towards the church -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Virginia

Thank you very much for your very extensive feedback to your stay.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

For 2014 we wish you all the best and lots of happiness!

Best regards

Susy Pfister
your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Coronado Hotel
#26 of 139 in Zurich
405 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
2,162 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
768 reviews
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#38 of 139 in Zurich
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Property: Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing