We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just a few minutes away from the fair I had to work during the weekend. Very tidy room and not a sound from the outside even though the room was situated on the street side. Breakfast was very good, and had a wide variety of choices. The welcome gift was very appreciated and needed after a day of work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FMV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear traveller

Thank you for your time to share your experiences with other travellers. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards.

Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 407 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights for business in Oerlikon. Reasonable value given Zürich prices, free welcome drink, friendly staff, small, clean, functional room. Convenient public transport: direct tram line to airport (#10) and to central rail station(#10, 14). Only caveat: front-facing rooms have rather loud tram noise until late. Not a central hotel but good for Oerlikon work. Excellent authentic Vietnamese restaurant across the street.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
6  Thank EVT-PQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we could satisfy you with our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is terrible. The restaurant was closed when I arrived hungry, "because it was Sunday" I was told, so no food on Sundays! The room was very cold, actually freezing, I couldn't sleep at all. The breakfast was cold and basic. I enjoy cooking for myself at home, but not when I or my company are paying for the breakfast. And the elevator has only one button to go up and down, so I had no idea which way it was going, I went the wrong way and then I waited so long that in the end I had to take all my luggage down the stairs and slipped and almost broke my neck.

So, worst hotel I have stayed in ever! And believe me, I stayed in some quite terrible places while inter-railing as a student 25 years ago, but at least then it was fun.

Room Tip: To get a good room, choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Kelvin S

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon and your time write this review. The opinions of our guests are very important for us to be able to improve our service.

We are very sorry that our service and hotel-equipment could not suite your expectations of a 3star hotel. We apologize for the heating problem. The heating was forgotten to be turned on in your room. Please accept our sincere apology. As we have a night auditor, he would have been happy to provide you with an extra planked or heating.

Our elevator is usually quiet busy on mornings with a fully booked hotel, we are sorry for your waiting time.

We hope very much to receive a second chance to convince you of our service and friendliness.

Sincerely regards from Zurich
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice - superbly clean with stylish rooms. The service staff was welcoming and very helpful. The location is spot on - 5 mins from train station and then 7 minute ride from the airport and 7 mintue ride from Zurich Central. The only downside was terrible WiFi - appallingly slow. Oh, and if you have more devices (like smartphone, tablet), make sure you request more passwords - one is for one device only.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear traveller

Thank you very much for your time to share your experiences at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers.

We are happy you enjoyed our hospitality.

Our Wi-Fi system tends to slow down a bit with many guests online. We are very sorry for this. Unfortunately this problem can't be solved before end of summer. The different accesses for each devises are necessary for security reasons, but we are happy to provide you with more accesses for each devise.

We would be happy to welcome you another time again.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great hotel outside of the city, 10 minute walk to the train. A near by outdoor market is nice to grab a quick snack. Friendly and helpful staff. I really enjoyed my room. Contemporary design with heated bathroom floor. Quality liquid soap was enjoyable. Unexpected and nice balcony on top floor. Firm bed was nice but only one pillow but i didn't mind that. Nice assortment of cheese with breakfast. It was expensive but expected. The attached restaurant is very good. A good amount of restaurants around the hotel and a small shopping mall. I would book again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trotpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, General Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear traveller

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could persuade you with our hospitalty and our service.

We also took note for a second pillow for your next stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next time.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed two nights en route to Zurich and chose this hotel from review on Trip advisor. Their hotel website is very helpful with directions to the hotel and we had no trouble following them and catching the train from the main station which only took 5 mins. Our welcome was very professional and friendly - a basket of fresh fruit is by the front door which is a nice touch! Our room was on the 4th floor and was generous - we had more than enough room. liked the touch of 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water - there is no fridge or tea/coffee facilities but given that we hardly spent any time there except to sleep not a problem and there is a small bar area in the foyer if needed. Bathroom clean and great shower. Great soundproofing - didn't hear a thing from any other room.

Breakfast was delicious with the usual array of various meats, cheeses, rolls, pastries, good range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and eggs.
location - whilst a little way out of the main tourist area we chose this hotel on affordability as well and truly it exceeded our expectations. The transport card is 24 hrs and about 8 CHF each and trams 14, 10 and 11 were within a stone's throw to whisk us back in for our sightseeing - approx 15--20 min trip.

Room Tip: We had room 415 which looked out over the back of houses towards the church -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Virginia

Thank you very much for your very extensive feedback to your stay.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

For 2014 we wish you all the best and lots of happiness!

Best regards

Susy Pfister
your host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

If you need to stay in Oerlikon area (you can get from there to the city center by train in 7 mins or by tram in 20 mins) Sternen Oerlikon is a very good choice at a very fair price for Zurich. Personally I like it more than Swisshotel Oerlikon which does offer a better view to be fair. The design is very nice, modern, minimalist but comfortable, very clean with very helpful staff. The breakfast is good and the coffee excellent. The restaurant/bar very nice to grab a bite or for a late drink.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, General Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Traveller

We thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

It is nice the see that we could persuade you with the design of our house and our hospitality.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stay at Zurich.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 138 in Zurich
434 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,303 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#17 of 138 in Zurich
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#37 of 138 in Zurich
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $120 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing