We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; Friendly welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; Friendly welcoming staff”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed two nights en route to Zurich and chose this hotel from review on Trip advisor. Their hotel website is very helpful with directions to the hotel and we had no trouble following them and catching the train from the main station which only took 5 mins. Our welcome was very professional and friendly - a basket of fresh fruit is by the front door which is a nice touch! Our room was on the 4th floor and was generous - we had more than enough room. liked the touch of 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water - there is no fridge or tea/coffee facilities but given that we hardly spent any time there except to sleep not a problem and there is a small bar area in the foyer if needed. Bathroom clean and great shower. Great soundproofing - didn't hear a thing from any other room.

Breakfast was delicious with the usual array of various meats, cheeses, rolls, pastries, good range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and eggs.
location - whilst a little way out of the main tourist area we chose this hotel on affordability as well and truly it exceeded our expectations. The transport card is 24 hrs and about 8 CHF each and trams 14, 10 and 11 were within a stone's throw to whisk us back in for our sightseeing - approx 15--20 min trip.

Room Tip: We had room 415 which looked out over the back of houses towards the church -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Virginia

Thank you very much for your very extensive feedback to your stay.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

For 2014 we wish you all the best and lots of happiness!

Best regards

Susy Pfister
your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    163
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
108
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

If you need to stay in Oerlikon area (you can get from there to the city center by train in 7 mins or by tram in 20 mins) Sternen Oerlikon is a very good choice at a very fair price for Zurich. Personally I like it more than Swisshotel Oerlikon which does offer a better view to be fair. The design is very nice, modern, minimalist but comfortable, very clean with very helpful staff. The breakfast is good and the coffee excellent. The restaurant/bar very nice to grab a bite or for a late drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, General Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Traveller

We thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

It is nice the see that we could persuade you with the design of our house and our hospitality.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stay at Zurich.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and couldn't be happier with location from airport and in quieter/cheaper location than Central. Room was beautiful and modern and front desk very happy to answer all enquiries. Breakfast Buffett whilst only hot food eggs (3 ways) and toast, is just whats needed to start the day with all the other delicacies Zurich tourism has to offer. Taxi from airport approx €40 whilst tram only a couple of Euro one way. Tram stop only 15 steps from front door and approx 20min to HB and inner city shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, General Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for your time to give as a great feedback concerning our stay at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon. It is nice to share your experience with other travellers.

We are glad to read that we could persuade you with our services and you enjoyed your stay at Zurich.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again for another trip to Zurich.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ideally located, very easy tram ride from the airport and the stop is just outside the hotel. There is no way I would want to stay closer to Zurich which is about another 10 minute tram ride from the hotel, as this hotel is in a lovely precinct with markets on Saturday and a lovely pub around the corner. Zurich centre is good to visit but good to get out of also! The staff at the hotel are excellent, breakfast is adequate, rooms are small but very very clean and well maintained with a really nice shower. Overall a really good hotel experience!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Wilson

Thank you so much for your review and for your compliment. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we could satisfy you with our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.
In the mean time we wish you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for a week at Sternen hotel during our trip to Zurich. We read reviews on Trip Advisor about it when we were searching for a good budget accommodation and Sternen fit the bill. It is a nice 3 star hotel that is easy on the pocket. Our arrival was greeted by a warm staff with inviting smiles that warmed our hearts. We knew then and there that Sternen was the correct choice for us. The fact that us tired souls got treated with welcome drinks was great and we loved their generosity, a very touching gesture indeed. Our rooms were lovely and the bathroom as simply delightful. The toiletries in the bathroom were ample and the room amenities like TV etc, worked well. The place was very nicely maintained. We were not even charged for the breakfast. They even provided a fridge. We had an amazing time here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinadrian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we could satisfy you with our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel budget hotel with first class services. On our arrival we received a welcome drink which was a nice surprise. The room we booked was with a big balcony and made for a nice view. The room had facilities like a safe; hairdryer. The bathroom had toiletries necessary for a comfortable stay. One could get a fridge after paying a meager amount. The breakfast was a big healthy spread consisting of cereals, orange juice, eggs etc. They also provided free internet connection too. The hotel is a customer friendly budget heaven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairar_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Traveller

We thank you very much for your time to share your experiences with other travellers.

We are happy to read that we could offer you a nice stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again durning your next time at Zurich.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at this 3 star hotel for 4 days and enjoyed first class services here. On our arrival the hotel offered a welcome drink which was a touching, guest friendly gesture. Our room was small but nice and cozy and cleans with a balcony with a great view. It had various modern facilities like a safe, a hairdryer, TV etc. The bathroom with spick and span and had various toiletries that were more than sufficient. We were not charged anything for the breakfast which was plentiful, healthy and tasty with orange juice, eggs etc. The hotel’s hospitality made our stay memorable and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for your time to share your experiences at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers.

We are happy to read that we could persuade you with our service and hospitality.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
418 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#37 of 138 in Zurich
527 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 138 in Zurich
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Property: Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing