We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favourite hotel in and around zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

great and modern and most importantly clean rooms, friendly staff with good language skills, 24hrs reception, free wifi and even a voucher for a welcome drink in the restaurant. breakfast is from an extensive buffet. charged extra but totally worth it. public traffic to central zurich with three tramway connections, local railway station is less than ten minutes by foot away.
highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UeliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Ueli

Thank you so much for your feedback and for your time sharing your impressions with other travelers.

It's great and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we could satisfy you with our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and wishing you all the best for the time being.

Sincerely
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Considering the fact that this is a 3 star hotel, the services were first class. The most touching feature was the welcome drink we received on our arrival, which was also a surprise for us. The room we had was as per our request, with a big balcony with a nice view. The room had all the modern amenities like a safe; hairdryer and a bathroom with various toiletries (really love the pleasant smelling body wash they had put there). However we thought that the fridge should also have been included in the charges instead of us paying extra for it. It would have been a really customer friendly touch. We had some really memorable moments here. We didn’t have to pay extra for the breakfast (which was included in the room charges) and consisted of a big healthy spread ranging from cereals, orange juice, eggs etc. The free net access was also a nice touch. The hotel takes customer service very seriously as the staff went above and beyond trying to make us comfortable. The tram is very close to the hotel, making our exploration a comfortable affair.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Kyle

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We love to spoil our guests.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel - friendly staff, ideal location, good value for Zurich. The hotel is easily reached by train or tram from Zurich airport. Take tram 10 or 14 (about a minute walk from hotel) to Zurich HB. Breakfast is 18 chf, which is not bad for Zurich standard. Cold cuts, bread, eggs, yoghurt, cereal, orange juice, coffee - quite delicious. We requested for a room with balcony and got just that. The room was a good size and the bathroom was surprisingly very spacious. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sternen Oerlikon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear StefT22

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel itself is quite average. But several things make it distinctive. Firstly, staff. They are amicable. We find umbrellas in rains, advice for roundabouts and a price reduction for very late checkout. Secondly, location. Its between the airport and city center. So, everything for a short stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Gregory

Thank you so much for your time to share your experience at the Sternen Oerlikon hotel with us and with other travelers.

We are happy you liked your stay with us and that our team could be supportive to you.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

first time in zurich n why i choosed the hotel because of the good review in tripadvisor. Indeed it was good and up to my standard.

Breakfast was good and fresh. welcome drinks upon arrival and you may choose to have it at the bar.nearby to coop supermarket and also tram/train. The staff was helpful and definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Miko C

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was comfortable in regards to amenities. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the shower was large and the bathroom modern. Even though the air conditioning worked we still found our room quite stuffy.

House keeping always did a great job at cleaning the room!

This hotel is located close to transport both trams and trains.

Staff were friendly and welcoming but weren't able to assist us in planning day trips outside of Zurich and we had to manage this on our own.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chef8627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear chef8627

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked our beds and pillows and thank you for the compliment to the housekeeping for doing a great job.

I'm very sorry we weren't able to help you with the planning of your day trips. It's good you tell us, so we have the possibility to improve our service. We already had an in-house training for this with our front office members.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcoming you again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid July 2013, and was thankful for the room AC as we didn't realize how hot it was going to be during our stay (upper 80's). We booked our room through Priceline and they offered two room types, a street side room and for a little more money they offered an inside room facing the courtyard. This is misleading as there is no courtyard. We stayed in room 416 which was not on the street side and was very quiet but the view was of the back of other buildings. This was no fault of the hotel, just misleading information from Priceline. We arrived around 1pm and was allowed to check in. During our stay the staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean with a queen size bed instead of 2 twins pushed together which was nice. The bed was on the firm side, not hard but very firm. The shower was incredible and included shampoo and body wash. You would never know by the size of the shower that you were in Europe, you could bathe without touching the walls or the curtain. They also provided face cloths which you don't usually get in Europe. The room was equipped with a hair dryer and a safe and for an additional fee you could get a fridge and/or coffee/tea making facilities in the room which would be great for an extended stay. They had a good sized elevator and in the lobby there was free access to a computer. Breakfast was included in our room rate and we also received two free welcome drinks and two free 24 hour public transportation tickets which was above and beyond what we expected. Breakfast was a variety of cereals, breads, chesses, meats, yogurts, juice, fruits, and one nice additional touch was they cooked to order eggs per your request. This is a great location, Tram 10 is a direct 15 min. to the airport at no additional cost and the old town is about 10 min. in the opposite direction and the tram stop is a block away from the hotel. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and the local supermarket is Coop which is a 3 min. walk from the hotel. Compared to the prices at the down town hotels, this hotel is by far the best choice for Zurich. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TACOB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Tacobob

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with other travelers.

We are very happy you liked your stay at our Sternen Oerlikon hotel and it's great we could surprise you with our summer package offer.

Providing perfect service for a fair rate is one of our important ambitions.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again at our house.

Sincerely yours,
Susy Pfister
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 138 in Zurich
450 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,356 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#42 of 138 in Zurich
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#43 of 138 in Zurich
565 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#19 of 138 in Zurich
864 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing