We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fantastic place to stay - not too far away from the downtown area , easy to get to from the train station (either one), quiet, clean with AC and very helpful staff. Nice to be in a neighborhood rather than the busy hub.

Room Tip: We stayed in #316 which was in the rear of the building, off the street. Very quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for your feedback to your stay at Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

It is nice to hear that you liked the hotel and the location. We are happy you appreciated our service and hospitality.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best greetings

Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Zurich is a notoriously expensive city, but with Sternen Oerlikon, I truly felt like I got a great value. Very clean, quiet, comfortable, and modern rooms. Really nice breakfast (and great coffee!). The location is obviously not in the middle of Zurich, but its only a 7 minute train ride into the Zurich HB, which is super convenient (plus, I got a free 24hr pass for transportation, which was a really nice surprise!!). The staff at this hotel was probably the nicest, most helpful hotel staff I've ever dealt with in my life. If I'm ever back in Zurich, I'll definitely be staying in the Sternen Oerlikon, and I highly recommend it to anyone else looking for a wonderful hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleychristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear traveller

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your experience at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers.
We are very glad to hear, that you had a nice time at Zurich and you appreciated our hospitality and service.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon during your next visit at Zurich.

Best regards
Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, so much, i have booked it twice till now, and each time i travel to Zurich i plant to stay at the same hotel. Rooms are very modern, quiet and clean. Bfast was not included, but there's a Starbucks in front of the train station and a supermarket close by. Location is excellent, close to Oerlikon train station and tram stops to go to the city centre or the airport. I would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rabbitbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon with other travellers. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay that much, that we could welcome you already two times. May be you will find time to try our breakfast buffet in the breakfast lounge or our express breakfast at the bar next time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards
Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Sternen Oerlikon hotel for 2 nights and found it to be great value for money in Zurich - which is an expensive city by anyone's standards.

The city is a 20 min tram ride away but knowing the trams stop at the front door every 7 minutes and the fact that we were also given a 24h free pass for all public transport, this was not a negative at all.

Rooms are very modern and clean - the hotel has recently been completely renovated.

Breakfast is fresh and complete and you can even press your own oranges if you would wish to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rianbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Travellers

Thank you very much for your comment about your trip to Zurich and your stay at Hotel Sternen Oerlikon. We are lucky to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We would be glad to welcome you again for your next visit in Switzerland.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A very clean, well designed hotel, courteous and professional staff, good location. Good value for an expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, off the main street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_J_BChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear traveller

Thank you very much for your good feedback to your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you liked it. Thank you also for the compliments regarding our staff. They will be lucky to hear that they do a great job.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Best regards
Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently spent a Saturday and Sunday night in this hotel. My selection was made on it's price and location which I knew was not in central Zurich. Tram routes 10,11 and 14 were all near by and the centre could be reached within 15 mins. The airport is also on the 10 route. The best option travel wise is a 12 Franc 24hr travel card. I requested a quiet room and was given one on the 4th floor with a view over a courtyard and a church. I experienced virtually no traffic noise until the rush hour on Monday morning and even that wasn't too bad. However the church bells rang on the hour, did a major peel on Sunday morning and went beserk at 7am on the Monday so my stay was not as peaceful as I would have liked. I was provided with 2 small bottles of mineral water for the 2 days my wife and I stayed there. There is no minibar/fridge in the room, if you want a fridge you can hire one for 20 Francs. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but they could be bought in reception and taken to your room. There was also a small bar in reception. A full breakfast was offered at 18 Francs or a coffee croissant and juice at 8 Francs. I didn't bother as there are plenty of local bars, shops and restaurants. Free apples were available in reception. Wide double bed with fairly hard matress and 2 single duvets. Bathroom toiletries etc provided, shower only and smallish towels. Curtains let in the morning light as they were unlined. All in all a fairly cheapish place but certainly lacking in those odd touches that could make one's stay a bit more pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear guest of Hotel Sternen Oerlikon

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We also would like to thank you for the very large information about all extras in our hotel and the surrounding. Future travellers will be happy to know all these things in advance.

It would be a pleasure for us, to welcome you during your next visit in Zurich.

Best regards
Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Visiting Zurich for years on business. Have been a regular guest at Hotel Continental, Swissôtel, NH Oerlikon and Radisson Blu Airport. Sternen Hotel is a three star with four star quality. No gym and only one set of towels, but modern rooms, free internet, good breakfast at a fair price and clean, clen, clean. Great Vietnamese restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Business Traveller

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon. It is a pleasure to read, that you enjoyed your stay. Also that we can compare us with other hotels in the region.
We hope we might welcome you again at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon for your next visit at Zurich.

Best regards
Susy Pfister
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,243 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
424 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#35 of 138 in Zurich
539 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $135 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing