We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
234
259
87
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
234
259
87
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location train station air conditioning restaurants and shops pedestrian street across the river short walk twin room main station within walking distance rooms are small central location nice breakfast included breakfast expensive city clean hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 603 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

Good Reception especially Luigi & Katharina. Good for Family’s . Location is awesome and the breakfast too. All is awesome here. Thank you very much for everything. We really enjoyed it. Hotel Alexander best

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kabirifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix H, Inhaber at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear Kabirifamily

We are very pleased that you have chosen Hotel Alexander for your stay. We would like to thank you very much for your evaluation on Tripadvisor. It is nice to read that you felt so comfortable with us and were satisfied with all the services we provided.
Many thanks for the compliment to our reception team. We are pleased to note that you have noticed the positive behaviour of our staff. Because what honours us more than satisfied guests?
Your compliment means a lot to us, because it motivates us and proves that we do our job well.


Many greetings from the beautiful old town of Laura and the entire Hotel Alexander team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Value for money, right in the middle of restaurants, coffee shops and bar, staff are friendly and helpful. Walking distance to shopping area. Good breakfast and free flowing coffee. There's also welcome coffee and fruits at the lobby.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank blackchrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix H, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Dear blackchrystal
We say thank you for such great feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to mention our central location and our friendly staff so positive and commendable. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are ready for your next stay at Hotel Alexander Zurich with mobile Wifi hotspots and free admission to Zurich Zoo. We wish you all the best, Rina and Team-Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019

The locationof this small hotel is very convenient and the staff was helpful and pleasant. From the front desk who helped us book a tour to the bellman who showed us where to park,everyone made our short stay in Zurich memorable and enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briant848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix H, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Brain t


We are very pleased that you have chosen Hotel Alexander for your stay. We would like to thank you very much for your evaluation on Tripadvisor. It is nice to read that you and your companion felt so at home with us and were satisfied with all the services of our hotel.

Thanks a lot for that compliment. We notice with delight that you've particularly appreciated the friendliness of our employees. Having happy customers is like having another feather to our cap. Your compliment means the world to us. It motivates us and is affirmative proof that we're doing a good job.
We hope you will remember Zurich positively and look forward to welcoming you as our guest again.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future and remain with warm greetings from Zurich.

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Alexander.

The whole team of Hotel Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two evenings en route back to the US. Since we were traveling into Zurich via train fairly late in the evening, location was the ultimate deciding factor. For that, you cannot go wrong here. Centrally located to shops, good restaurants, and the lake, everything is accessible within walking distance. While the rooms are on the small side, it is not unusual for the older/central part of town. However, the rooms were clean, well appointed, and has all the essentials you may possibly need. The front desk staff was also attentive and made great restaurant recommendations. They also offered complimentary WiFi hotspots which turned out to be super helpful as we explored the city. Breakfast spread is standard continental with a few hot options (scrambled eggs and bacon). Overall great value for a restful weekend stay in a wonderfully convenient area.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank iamtracex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix H, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear iamtracex

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us.
How gratifying that you and your husband liked it so much with us in Zurich's old town, with its many restaurants and shopping facilities.
The whole team was very content about your feedback, for us it is always a big compliment when our guests were perfectly happy with us.

The biggest compliment would be, of course, if you would choose our beautiful hotel during your next visit to Zurich.

Friendly greetings

Laura-Lou and the whole team from Hotel Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Excellent hotel, with superb service. Staff professionally and kindly. The rooms are clean and functional.
The hotel is quiet and quiet, and is located in the center of Zurich.
All recommendations for staying in Zurich

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valentina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix H, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear Valentina V

Thank you for your great review!
We are very happy that your stay was so nice and that you enjoyed it in the wunderful old town of Zurich.

Feedback like yours motivates our whole team!
Come back to Zurich soon, we would be very happy to welcome you again as our guest!

Friendly greetings

Laura-Lou and the whole team from Hotel Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews