We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #40 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Before I begin I must Mention that the hotel pricing in Switzerland is OUTRAGEOUS for the quality of room you get as a whole. Now that I have that done I can get on withe review. Based on the pricing around us I can say that the room we had which was in the Guesthouse & was located behind the Hotel was reasonably priced when compared to those around us. The room was OK but my wife wasn't to keen on the single beds being set up on opposite side of the room but they were comfortable. The only complaint we had was the street noise from the street below as we were near a nightclub. I had to open the window at night or else the room got stuffy. The actual location of the hotel relative to sightseeing was very good & it wa only a 5 minute walk to the train station that takes you to the airport, VERY HANDY. The staff were all very nice & pleasant. The breakfast area was quaint but well supplied. We would go back but ONLY because the hotels in the area were twice the cost & no better in overall accomdations.

  • Liked — Location to sights & train station
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGACanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    199
    79
    12
    6
See reviews for
86
159
57
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed in Alexander hotel with our little daughter for 2 dayes in May.

Our no-smoking room on the upper floor was cozy, clean and had a nice view to the pedestrian street of Old town. As the weather was hot we were happy to have efficient air-condition in our room. Friendly receptionists and good cold buffet breakfast.

The only thing we did not like was very boring porter who seeks tips too active.

We can recommend this hotel as good central accomodation for reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location and air-condition
  • Disliked — Porter
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenkaold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

Great location in the heart of old town with great access to cafes, the lake etc. A couple of strip clubs nearby on the same street add a little seediness to the area, but I found them to be not a problem the night we were there. The street it is located on is pedestrian access only so getting there by car is tricky but doable. The rooms are clean and neat, and the staff was nice. All in all it was a good stay.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank skip487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

I stayed in the main hotel section of this place for a few days in July. It's a genuine bargain for Switzerland (although if you're on a budget this is probably the wrong country in which to travel). Situated smack in the middle of town, we had a nice clean, cosy & quiet room at the back, with efficient, life-saving air-con, plenty of room & generally pleasing decor (although there was a picture of some English naval battle or other which may or not appeal). The one problem was the staff, who are friendly enough but don't seem to know what they're doing, and I got into a bit of a battle when leaving since they'd charged me for an extra night in June (for which I hadn't booked) on the grounds that I'd failed to show up! Only after my persistent refusal to pay for a further 3 nights was the matter rested - but I'll be keeping a close eye on the credit card bills. It's probably due to incompetence rather than corruption, but [-------] you never know ...

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank paulde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

I landed in this hotel during my recent visit to Zürich and was most surprised to find such a wonderful hotel at such reasonable prices. Given I was in Zürich during a high-occupancy time (watch convention, Zürich marathon, Spring Break, etc), the price wasn't through the roof.

I say I landed here because I shopped around and this was the first hotel I found with three nights open at a reasonable price (150 SFR/night).

The rooms all have WiFi internet access (purchased extra in blocks of time, but not expensive); the breakfast was par (free continental breakfast, charge for eggs and such); and the service was very comfortable.

The hotel itself is located on Neiderdorfstraße, right in the heart of Old Town, and is an easy walk to Lake Zürich, the main trainstation, Bellvue, and multiple nearby tram stops. Resturants, shops, bars, and with streets closed to traffic define the Old Town Area. The hotel was about 5 minutes walk to the Grössmunster, 10 to the trainstation, and 15 to the lake.

A very good hotel for a reasonable price in the heart of one of the best areas in Zürich. Go for it!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank VagabondMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#35 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#26 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing