We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but great location and modern rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #37 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but great location and modern rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I had a great time staying in this small but perfectly situated hotel. The rooms have been perfectly renovated and although small they are well appointed. The noise from the pedestrian street can be a bit annoying at night but it didn't bother me too much. No restaurant on site for dinner but it's right in the middle of everything so dinner choices are plentiful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Peter S

We would like to thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander.
We are even more lucky to read on tripadvisor that you liked your stay very much. It was big pleasure for us to read your compliments witch we share with all the staff.

There is the Restaurant Alexis in the same building us we are, but they have a separate entrance. The also serve some very tasty traditional Swiss dishes.
Show them the little envelope you get together with the room key card at check in and you even get a reduction of 5.00 CHF.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards from the hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    205
    79
    12
    6
See reviews for
88
163
57
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place is within a few walking minutes of Zurich's central train station. It is in the heart of the historical center of town. Lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Can"t beat the location. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. My room was spotless, the bathroom recently renovated, and remarkably quiet although being on one of the most "touristy" streets of Zurich. A nice touch are the welcome drinks and fruits in the room. The bed is comfortable, the TV channel selection has something for everybody in multiple languages... Breakfast is alright, but a bit pricy; with what they charge for breakfast, one could expect more warm food options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemca13090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear aam545,

We would like to thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander.
We are even more pleased to read on Tripadvisor that you liked your stay very much. It was a big pleasure for us to read your compliments witch we share with all the staff.

You’ve been able to benefit from our central location which is quite a good thing. The great culinary variety in the historic city center, called Niederdorf, is quite outstanding. And also we are in the neighborhood of the most attractive places of interest of your beautiful town.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Zürich.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
726 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Zurich for one night on Christmas Eve 2013. We arrived in Zurich around 11am and went to the hotel hoping to just drop our bags, but our room was available. YAY! This room was SO NICE! The hotel was very reasonably priced for a city that's so expensive. It was one of the most expensive hotels on our entire trip, but for Zurich, it was a great deal. Very clean and modern! We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again if we're ever back in Zurich! The breakfast was GREAT and all staff was very kind and accommodating!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear VEE1225

We would like to thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander.
We are even more pleased to read on tripadvisor that you liked your stay very much. It was a big pleasure for us to read your compliments witch we share with all the staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Zürich.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is given five stars within the context of its location and pricing. This is a relatively basic no frills hotel, but came at a great rate in an expensive city. The hotel is very well located in the heart of the Old Town, just a few minutes' walk from the station.

Staff were friendly and welcoming.

Double room was of a decent size, as was the en suite bathroom. Very clean. Free wifi throughout the hotel, and nice touches of complimentary water and apples in the room.

Given the price, the breakfast exceeded expectations - a full continental range, not just pastries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear aber_james,

Thank you very much for your kind review concerning your stay at the hotel Alexander.

It is a big pleasure for us to hear your compliments about cleanness of our rooms. We definitely share your comments with our diligent housekeeping.
We also would like to thank you for your nice commendations about our continental breakfast buffet. We place great value on quality, freshness and origin. Most products are made in Switzerland.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Zürich.

With our kindest regards

Kind regards from the hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here just for a night - wish I'd found it last time I was in Zurich. Good location, good price - fairly small room but it was only to sleep in. Clean and friendly staff. You need to try the traditional schnitzel at the Alexis bar next door - a good feed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Keith2014

We would like to thank you that you have chosen Hotel Alexander and that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied of our services and products. We are trying to provide you the best service and to make you feel comfortable. Your good compliments do encourage our team to do so - thank you!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

We have also informed the Alexis Bar about your compliment on there traditional schnitzel and they were very excited to hear.

We wish you a nice day and hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

The team of the hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent value hotel in great location in old town close to bars and restaurants. Staff on the front desk very friendly and helpful. Excellent airport pick up service which they can organise.

I will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Jetqueen

Thank you very much for having had the privilege to be your host.

Thank you very much for the compliment you’ve paid us.
Your compliment means very much to us. It motivates us and shows that we are doing a good job.
We are thankfully aware of our privilege of being located in the beautiful historic city center of Zurich. Most places of interest are within walking distance like the main railroad station, cultural sites, restaurants, the river Limmat and the Lake of Zurich.

It goes without saying that we will also be pleased to see you again here with us. Please bear in mind that it is always convenient to make reservations as early as possible directly online on our website. Adopting that procedure you are sure to get our best quotations.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards from the hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

A very clean hotel. Some of the staff is very kind. Parking spaces are an adventure :-) The location is very good, right in the center, everything in walking distance. The hotel feels a little bit cold though, it is not very personal. And the owner seems to hate cats, since traveling with a cat to this hotel is impossible...
Overall its not bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs Alissa19

Thank you very much, it was great honor to host you in our Hotel Alexander. Your comments will help us improve the request of guests.

We are thankfully aware of our privilege of being located in the beautiful historic city center of Zurich.
Whatever looks annoying to us must have pretty much the same effect on our customers. Good housekeeping is thus of paramount importance. We always do our utmost to keep it on a high quality level.
Our personnel incessantly strives toward your well-being. Our rooms are thus subject to rigorous inspections.
We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards from all the staff of the hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#34 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing