We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for visiting Zurich's main sights”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #37 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Zurich's main sights”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Accommodation in Zurich is very expensive! We had booked into the Guest House but were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the hotel. Rooms are small but this wasn't an issue for us as we were out and about all day anyway. Bathroom was small and compact but very clean and modern. WiFi is available free of charge and staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel (and the guesthouse) are an easy walk from the train station and are located in amongst the old town and many restaurants. Bahnhofstrasse is also an easy walk.
On the downside, the pillows were awful and there were no alternatives available. Also, Saturday night was very noisy with (drunk?) men hanging around outside various bars in the street below.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Niederdorf Str may be noisy on weekends as there are bars close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear 695Penny,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our hotel Alexander.

It’s a big pleasure for us to read that you liked it very much.

We do only have to different types of pillows. One “normal” and one without feeders for allergic guests.
If our pillows are too soft please feel free to order a second one at the reception.

We hope to see you soon again.

We wish you a nice day and a lot of interesting trips around the world.

Best regards from Switzerland

The hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    205
    79
    12
    6
See reviews for
88
163
57
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel we book it in the last minute and was a surprise that was so close to all main places in Zürich. I think the rooms were recent renovated because they look like new. Normally for the price you pay you would expect a bigger room, but what I understood, for Zürich hotel style this is standard. Slept very good in the big bed and was very confortable for me and my husband. We are thin people so had no problems with the space. Breakfast was very good and well suplied.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Virlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Ana_Virlan

Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander and your motivating review.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you and your husband liked your stay very much. We are very glad that you were satisfied with our service. This should be the kind of service we are aiming to give and it is great to see that it works.
Your feedback does encourage us very much - thank you!

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The team of the Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've stayed on Niederdorfstrasse previously but this was our first time at the Hotel Alexander. It's an easy walk from the station, but it's also readily accessible by tram (#4 from in front of the station to the second stop over the river, Zürich, Rudolf-Brun-Brücke).

The hotel's not large, and the rooms are quite simple with modern timber furniture, good heating and cooling and a small desk. There's a small lift, and the staff were wonderful, offering tourist advice and making a dinner reservation when we elected to travel further than the many places outside the front door.

We had a room for three that included a double bed and single bed, and there really wasn't a great deal more space in the room, particularly when we needed access to three suitcases. But the bathroom was a good size, and the breakfast was simple but quite reasonable (although not a par with those of our Salzburg or Vienna hotels' buffets).

The location is wonderful, particularly if you grab the public transport pass and jump on and off the trams. We also took the both the Polybahn and the Dolderbahn up the mountains on our side of the river. When travelling with a young teenager, it's also nice to realise you're near one of the calmest red-light-like districts in the world!

(Note: We stayed at the hotel on 27 & 28 December 2012 but I've left it too late to write the review and TripAdvisor has already removed the “Dec 2012” box.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawlinsgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Nawlinsgk

Thank you very much for your kind annotation. It was a big pleasure for us to accommodate you in our Hotel Alexander.

We also want to thank you for your great comments about our
staff.

Due to our central location you were able to explore our beautiful old town with it small boutiques and lovely stores.
The Polybahn brings you up to the University and with the Dolderbahn you can explore the near countryside of Zurich in a very convenient way. Also they are both included in the 24 hours daily ticket.

We wish you a nice day and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Your hotel Alexander team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ad Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

this hotel is very nice and loceted in the center of the old city of Zurich .. they are friendely and i will recommend all my frineds to visit it when they will come to Zurich .. and i will come to this hotel again and again and again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Ali A

It seems you are doing well. 
We thank you very very much for your kind review on you stay in our hotel Alexander.

It was big pleasure for us to read your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

We wish you a nice day and a lot of interesting trips around the world.

Kind regards

The hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were disappointed to book a room in the Alexander Guesthouse (annexe to Alexander hotel) which online said cots could be provided for under 2s free of charge - and then when I rang to check with the hotel they said the room was too small and we'd have to upgrade to a bigger room in the hotel, not the guesthouse, for nearly 50% extra cost.
In the end, the room itself was nice, service OK, breakfast and location good. But the extra 50chf cost was not welcome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymraesynyswistir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Cymraesynyswistir

Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander and your review.
Thank you very much for your kind estimations about our room and the breakfast in our main building.

We apologize we could not achieve all around your request about the baby cot in the room.
We do have baby cots on request and they fit in the most rooms in the Guesthouse but not in every room.
In order to have the cot, please ask right when you book the room. In case we cannot provide you any cot you know this right away.
As the room standard in the Guesthouse is not the same as in the hotel we have to charge soon extra fee.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The team of the Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Location was a 10 to 15 minute walk from the train station across some cobbled streets in the old part of town. The room & bathroom although basic & small, were very clean. Reception staff appeared friendly & accommodating. Breakfast was in a cute little room & had a good range, starting about 6:30 which was good timing. The tv had English speaking channels which sadly thrilled me, what can I say, not entertainment as such but I was able to watch some shows late at night on BBC2 or something like that. We liked that there was an inbuilt power point system in the wall which had various country types including Australia/Asia for us, great thinking. Airport transfer shuttle was convenient & reliable in the morning. It sadly was a little noisy at night with street noise drifting in. Keep in mind that this is not a luxury hotel nor does it profess to be one, so if for short term needs & if on a budget, it is very adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carebear79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Carebear79

Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander and your motivating review.
We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal.

Whatever looks annoying to us must have pretty much the same effect on our customers. Good housekeeping is thus of paramount importance. We always do our utmost to keep it on a high quality level.
Our personnel incessantly strives toward your well-being. Our rooms are thus subject to rigorous inspections.

Will you tell your friends and colleagues about your pleasant memories of our place? We would appreciate that very much.

We wish you to have a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

The team of the Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice hotel, conveniently located in the heart of Zurich Altstadt and very close to the central station. Good breakfast, comfy bed, surprisingly big choice of TV channels plus fresh fruits available at the reception and in the room. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nautilia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Nautilia27

Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander and your motivating review.
It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked your stay very much. We are very glad that you were satisfied with our service.
This should be the kind of service we are aiming to give and it is great to see that it works. Your feedback does encourage us very much - thank you!

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
722 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#34 of 138 in Zurich
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
557 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
870 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing