We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly service”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #40 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great location, friendly service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Zurich is an insanely expensive city and I admit I chose on price. Given the good location, I was potentially expecting a run down slightly daggy hotel. I was totally wrong!
The service was excellent and when I contacted them to let them know I would arrive very late due to missed flights etc, they replied quickly (maybe half and hour!!) telling me this was no problem and upgrading me from the Guesthouse to the main hotel for my troubles. This made my life much easier given the hour.
The breakfast was excellent, just what I needed for my big day ahead.
It was no problem to leave my luggage there for the day and they even had a little ticket system to ensure no-one else could take it.
It was still pretty pricey but everything in Zurich is, so relatively speaking it was pretty good.
I was passing through for a night only but it would be comfortable for a longer stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_Nicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Roaming_Nicster

We would like to thank you that you have chosen our Hotel Alexander and that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked your stay very much. We always try that our guests feel like at home. Your compliments about our staff do encourage them to do their best work each day.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind regards from Zürich.

Your hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    207
    79
    12
    6
See reviews for
90
164
60
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at Hotel Alexander in June for 1 night on our way to Paris. The room was a good size & very modern, brd was also very comfortable. Would definarely stay here if we returned to Zurich, great location & easy walking distance from the main train station! Very good price for expensive city

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear TAW

Thank you very much for being our guest.

You’ve been able to benefit from our central location which is quite a good thing. The location right in the beautiful historic city center of Zurich also means to be in the vicinity of the main railroad station, the river Limmat, the boardwalk of the Lake of Zurich. The famous Bahnhofstrasse and the university are within a short walking distance. The great culinary variety in the historic city center, called Niederdorf, is quite outstanding.

Thank you once more for your evaluation. It is essential for us in that it enables us to continue enhancing our service quality. We hope to see you again soon and wish you a good time.


With best regards from Zurich

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with this choice of hotel. The hotel is a leisurely 10 minute walk from the Zurich HB. The rooms were very clean and made good use of the space provided. The bathroom was spotless and again the utilisation of space was very good. As we arrived early in the morning, having just arrived from our long connecting flight from Australia, we were offered breakfast as our room was not yet available due to the hotel being booked out the night before. The breakfast buffet includes the normal continental fare that is regularly topped up by the ever efficient waitresses. Scrambled eggs are available for those who wish to have something warm for breakfast. Bahnhofstrasse is a short walk away for those who want to do some window shopping. We saved CHF15 per night by booking in advance using the hotel website. A well recommended hotel in the centre of Zurich.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Deslen

We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal.

We acknowledge it with big pleasure your compliments about our staff. And we will share it with our waitresses from the breakfast. Your compliment means very much to us. It motivates us and shows that we are doing a good job.

We thank you again for your review and hope we can accommodate you soon again.

Best regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is not far from railway station on a narrow street with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked a street but it was quiet. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMacVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear JohnnyMacVictoria_BC

We thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your good compliments have an enormous motivating effect on our team, and they support us in our daily work. We always endeavor to give our customers a sincere, obliging and professional service which we keep trying hard to enhance.

We will be pleased if you tell your friends and acquaintances about your affirmative experience during your stay at our hotel.

We would love to accommodate you soon again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards

The team of the Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked in advance into the Alexander Guesthouse which is across the road from the hotel. On arrival, wet, cold and a bit tired we were upgraded to the hotel. The room was modern, had everything we needed. Chocolate on the pillow, two bottles of water and two eating apples! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent. We had selected this location as it was only ten minutes walk from the railway station, so easy access back to the airport. Despite being in the busy centre of the city the room was entirely sound proof. We requested extra pillows and these were delivered immediately. An excellent location for exploration of the city, the old town and down to the lake. Plenty of choice of restaurants. We returned a fortnight later only to be upgraded again - is this to do with the grey hair!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear yvonnecumbria

Thank you very much for your kind review concerning your stay at the hotel Alexander.

It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff.
Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will stay with us again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked three rooms for our last night in Switzerland. The close proximity of the hotel to the train station made it an ideal choice. The pedestrian-only street was filled with cafes and shops which made a fun atmosphere. It is close to all the places we wanted to walk on our brief visit to Zurich. The rooms were recently renovated, were very clean and had good lighting. The included breakfast was good, and the freshly made scrambled eggs were especially delicious. We highly recommend this hotel as a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Fred G

We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Alexander. Thank you very much also for your review.

We continuously focus on enhancing our service to fully meet customers’ requirements. It is thus even more pleasant to notice that we are being on the right track.

We will be pleased if you tell your friends and acquaintances about your affirmative experience during your stay at our hotel. It goes without saying that we will also be pleased to see you again here with us.

Yours truly

Hotel Alexander’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is ideal for a comfortable, clean base in Zurich. The railway station is only 10 minutes away.
There are plentiful eating places right outside in the street which is a colourful and interesting location to be in.
Facilities were good, and the bed very comfortable, staff helpful. All you could want.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Karlin55

We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal.

We acknowledge it with big pleasure your compliments about our staff. Your compliment means very much to us. It motivates us and shows that we are doing a good job.

We thank you again for your review and hope we can accommodate you soon again.

Best regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing