We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #36 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is not far from railway station on a narrow street with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked a street but it was quiet. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMacVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear JohnnyMacVictoria_BC

We thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your good compliments have an enormous motivating effect on our team, and they support us in our daily work. We always endeavor to give our customers a sincere, obliging and professional service which we keep trying hard to enhance.

We will be pleased if you tell your friends and acquaintances about your affirmative experience during your stay at our hotel.

We would love to accommodate you soon again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards

The team of the Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    212
    80
    12
    6
See reviews for
93
165
61
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked in advance into the Alexander Guesthouse which is across the road from the hotel. On arrival, wet, cold and a bit tired we were upgraded to the hotel. The room was modern, had everything we needed. Chocolate on the pillow, two bottles of water and two eating apples! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent. We had selected this location as it was only ten minutes walk from the railway station, so easy access back to the airport. Despite being in the busy centre of the city the room was entirely sound proof. We requested extra pillows and these were delivered immediately. An excellent location for exploration of the city, the old town and down to the lake. Plenty of choice of restaurants. We returned a fortnight later only to be upgraded again - is this to do with the grey hair!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear yvonnecumbria

Thank you very much for your kind review concerning your stay at the hotel Alexander.

It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff.
Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will stay with us again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked three rooms for our last night in Switzerland. The close proximity of the hotel to the train station made it an ideal choice. The pedestrian-only street was filled with cafes and shops which made a fun atmosphere. It is close to all the places we wanted to walk on our brief visit to Zurich. The rooms were recently renovated, were very clean and had good lighting. The included breakfast was good, and the freshly made scrambled eggs were especially delicious. We highly recommend this hotel as a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Fred G

We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Alexander. Thank you very much also for your review.

We continuously focus on enhancing our service to fully meet customers’ requirements. It is thus even more pleasant to notice that we are being on the right track.

We will be pleased if you tell your friends and acquaintances about your affirmative experience during your stay at our hotel. It goes without saying that we will also be pleased to see you again here with us.

Yours truly

Hotel Alexander’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is ideal for a comfortable, clean base in Zurich. The railway station is only 10 minutes away.
There are plentiful eating places right outside in the street which is a colourful and interesting location to be in.
Facilities were good, and the bed very comfortable, staff helpful. All you could want.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Karlin55

We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal.

We acknowledge it with big pleasure your compliments about our staff. Your compliment means very much to us. It motivates us and shows that we are doing a good job.

We thank you again for your review and hope we can accommodate you soon again.

Best regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stayed in a newly renovated double room, which is clean, cosy and bright. They even provided us an electric kettle for boiling water. The only to complaint is the shower water is a bit weak. The counter staff are very friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel is good and convenient with many restaurants nearby. Tram bus no. 4 run to and fro train station every 7 minutes to the stop Rudolf-Brun-Brucke in 2 minutes, which is just a minute away from the hotel. This has made our trip with baggage more convenient and easy. And save us lots of time and energy every time we travel with train. And it is valid with Swiss pass.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jessieblk

We thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your evaluations have an enormous motivating effect on our team, and they support us in our daily work. We always endeavor to give our customers a sincere, obliging and professional service which we keep trying hard to enhance.

We wish you a nice day and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place was close to the train station. We got there early, (overnight flight from the US). The front desk lady was so nice, and booked a tour of Zurich for us. We left our luggage, had complimentary coffee and a piece of fruit before we went out and explored. (This was great, because every thing is expensive in Zurich.) When we came back to check in, they upgraded us the the main hotel which included free breakfast. The breakfast was plentiful and fantastic. We ate fondue that night in the bar next to the hotel- and if you show your room card holder, you get 5 CHF off. The place is centrally located in a great walking area. We had faced the street, but because it was rainy, it wasn't really noisy. I would suggest ear plugs and eye shades, just in case. Overall, a very pleasant experience. (The room/showers were small but very clean and functional, as usual, I'm not really in my hotel for much of the day. There is no ipod docking station, but the tv does have radio.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear KGN86

Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander and your motivating review.
It’s a great pleasure for us to read your kind compliments about our staff. We always try to make our guests feel at home.

We wish you a nice day and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

The staff from Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed in the main part of the hotel. The room was clean and quite, the shower was excellent and the bed comfy. Exactly what you want.

Breakfast is a little plain but was the same as other hotels in Switzerland

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear GaryKennedy

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback following your stay at the Hotel Alexander.
It is always a pleasure to receive good feedbacks about our staff.
Our housekeeping is very happy to read about the cleanness of the rooms.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we can welcome you here soon again.

Kind regards

The staff from Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
779 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#47 of 139 in Zurich
532 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#24 of 139 in Zurich
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 139 in Zurich
940 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing