We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good business hotel”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the Altstadt, surrounded by restaurants and similar, yet the rooms are quiet. Reasonable size room with very good facilities. Service was courteous and friendly, Breakfast was OK but could have greater v ariety of food. The price is reasonable for central Zurich, 7 minutes walking from the Hauptbahnhof, less than 5 minutes from the central tram location and 15-20 minutes walk to the business section of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Michael G

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at the hotel Alexander.

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked your stay very much.
We shared the happiness about your motivating review with all our staff.

At the end of this year we will also renovate the breakfast room. With the renovation we are also able to offer our guests a greater variety of food.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind regards

Your hotel Alexander team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    207
    79
    12
    6
See reviews for
90
164
59
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2012

On location, Alexander Hotel is situated in a convenient area which is a short distance across the river from the Zurich HB train station with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. It is also close to the main shopping tram line Bahnhofstrasse. Friendly and helpful service staffs, Breakfast is though decent and sufficient but limited. The only downside is that it can get get noisy at night as it is situated in the bar and restaurant area as well as next to the supermarket where stocks delivery during early morning with noises coming from the delivery truck can be very annoying. The truck is normally parked on a small dead end street between the hotel and the supermarket. Given this is a small hotel, unfortunately all the rooms are either located facing the bars and restaurants below or on the small street thus trying to avoid the noise at night is virtually impossible unless it is on early Sunday morning where all the shops are closed. Apart from the noise, the overall experience with the hotel is good. We stayed there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed one night in September 2012 with my wife before a flight back to the US. We stayed in the lowest possible cost room (room 314).

Overall, this is a pretty standard "holiday inn" level hotel. For ~$180/night, you get a clean room, a decent bathroom, and breakfast. If I was on a quick business trip, this would not be a bad hotel. There is a food right outside the hotel open 24/7 and it is close to the city center.

If you are vacationing, I would find another hotel.

A few items worth noting:
(1) Room does NOT have air conditioning. There are no A/C vents in the room. There is a portable, glorified fan that you can use however. I see this as false advertising. We found the room to fairly warm and, at a minimum, needed some more air flow. Opening the windows helped except that at 6am the stores next door get very noisy deliveries.

(2) Bathroom is nothing special. Typical wand shower head that never points normally.

(3) Internet is fairly speedy but does not work in the room. We were in a corner room (314) so maybe this is why but we could only connect to the wireless once we walked out of the room and got closer to the center of the building. Again, I see this as false advertising. If you claim free wifi, then you should make sure it works in all of the rooms.

(4) Breakfast is above average.

(5) We ran into a weird issue where cab drivers at the Zurich HB train station refused to drive us to the hotel because it was too close. While it is only about 1/3 mile, it is a long way to walk at midnight with 2-3 bags/person. Not the hotel's fault, but worth mentioning. The hotel reception told us that Zurich cab drivers are difficult and did not seem suprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awhsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Alexander for on a Saturday night during August. The location is in the old town of Zurich and within 15min walk from the Central train station. Many of the attractions are within walking distance and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is modern, the rooms are clean and the reception staff helpful.

However there are minor downsides, which include:
- Flaky Internet connection. Requires a unique activation key for each device. Also, each time you disconnect for a period of time (i.e. an hour or more), you will require a new activation key. Not a big deal but can be a hassle should you wish to use the Internet at different times of the day and if you have multiple devices.
- Can be noisy on a Saturday night. We stayed on the second level and could clearly hear the music from the bar next door up until midnight. Perhaps it is quieter during the weekdays.
- The walls between the rooms are not very sound proof thin and we could hear the conversation of the couple next door from our bathroom.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor on Saturday nights to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice room, clean and confy. Customer Service wasnt so good. I asked an information about the bill and the person at the reception was touchy and snappy. A part frm that it was a good esperience.
Very central, as you walk out you are in the heart of zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Simone D

We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Alexander. Thank you very much.

We continuously focus on enhancing our service to fully meet customers’ requirements. It is thus even more pleasant to notice that we are being on the right track.

We shall be giving the topic called friendliness our best attention and assure you that every endeavour will be made on our side to prevent such evaluations from appearing again. We apologize that you appear to have been attended to without due friendliness.

We wish you to have a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

The team of the Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went for a business trip in a few weeks back, the hotel is newly renovated with very comfortable bed, it is in a very central location, short walk from Zurich Bhan and right in the old town with many restaurant choices, there is also a grocery store around the corner from the hotel. it is overall great value for money, the only disappointment was the breakfast, you will be better off getting something from local bakery or coffee house. Staff is very friendly. Kristy was at the front desk when i checked in, she recommended a restaurant for dinner and even order for me (the waitress didnt speak much English). i will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear penpen

Thank you very much for your kind review concerning your stay at the hotel Alexander.

It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff.
Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will stay with us again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The recently renovated Alexander has a lot going for it. It's in a great area, only a few minutes' walk from the Central Station, the river and the lake. The streets outside are lively, day and night, but there were no noise problems in my room. My room was ultramodern, sleek and comfortable. I loved the room's simple, bright, minimalist style, the crisp linens, the super cleanliness. The bathroom was excellent. I appreciated inclusions such as the continuous power supply with power sockets for UK, French/German, and Chinese/Australian plugs. Breakfast was just what I was looking for, and the staff, in the breakfast room and in reception, were welcoming and helpful. The room rate, booked on the hotel's website, represented fine value in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#20 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing