We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alexander
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
185
225
85
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
225
85
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationtrain stationair conditioningweekend breaktwin roomrestaurants and shopsshort walkacross the riverbreakfast was includedwithin walking distancefree wifimain stationhotel locatedstreet noisenoisy at nightwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 517 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We (2 couples) were suppose to stay in the cheaper "Guesthouse" but were upgraded from the "Guesthouse" to the Alexander Hotel. Our rooms were very nice, stylish, good beds with comforter, great bath/shower, sound proof windows (kept most of the street noise out. The hotel is in the midst of the entertainment are with many bars and restaurants. Helpful staff got us checked in quickly and helped us with shuttle bus transport to the airport the next morning. Overall a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Maybe a room on a higher floor would have been a bit quieter, we were there on Saturday night and had parties going in the street until very late.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MkErn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear MkErn

We would like to thank you that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

It took a lot of time and energy to renovate the Hotel at the beginning of this year so we are glad if our guests appreciate our efforts.

Our staff give also their best to make to feel at home.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that you will stay with us again.

For the latest news please check our website or join us on facebook or on twitter.

Kind regards from Zürich.

Your hotel Alexander Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

It is a good 3star hotel in the city center. Rooms are small but they are recently renovated and they have everything you need. Breakfast is included in the price but is rather moderate. Price is average for Zurich.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tgk-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear tgk-1

We would like to thank you that you have chosen Hotel Alexander and that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied of our services and products. We are trying to provide you the best service and to make you feel comfortable. Your good compliments do encourage our team to do so - thank you!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards from Zürich

The Hotel Alexander Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I travel to Zurich quite a lot and tend to stay in different hotels. This is one of the first ones I would like to go back to. 1 major point is the central location, only a short walk to the bahnhof but also in the middle of some nice and cute restaurants. 2nd major point: a modern and clean room with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom and 3rd major point: they thought about the business traveller! 4 different types of plugs at the desk, European, swiss, uk and US. Now converter needed. It is a small detail but very much appreciated.
Next to those 3 major points, reception was friendly, there was some mineral water and swiss chocolate complementary to the room and breakfast was nice

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Visited Zurich for a day, and even if the room wasn't ready yet, the staff/personel were all very courteous to keep our luggage so we can start walking around. They speak fluent English. I reserved triple room and seeing that I had a taller 16 year old, they offered to give us 2 separate rooms for the price of one. As other reviewers alluded to, water bottles and fruits in the room were even included.
The common spots to visit are all within walking distance. The surrounding was very lively and shops are only a few steps away. Very accessible to the main train station too, just a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Kaloving

We thank you very very much for your kind review on you stay in our hotel Alexander.
It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff.
Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day.

Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to welcome you soon again.

We wish you a nice day and a lot of interesting trips around the world.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

As a regular traveler to Europe I've become accustomed to small hotel rooms, but this one wins the prize! The "big double bed" is actually slightly smaller than a Queen (made up of 2 beds pushed together which is what you get almost everywhere in real Euro hotels) and at the foot of the bed there was 2 ft of space (less the wall mounted tv) on the window side less than 2'6" and on the entry door/armoire/table/desk etc side a tad over 3 ft. Now, where to put a suitcase to open it? Only on the bed. But it is uber-modern, cool lighting and decor.

Sizewise, the bathroom belongs on a 70's cruiseship (in steerage), but it's also uber-modern, funky fittings and absolutely ingenious use of space. Pity about the terrible water pressure.

Breakfast was a stripped down, bare basics version of what is sometimes called "continental". No wonder it's always included in the rate, the good news is there's a dozen eateries within ten paces either direction on the street.

Which brings me to the really good news: location. I took a taxi from the airport as we were on an extended trip and had baggage, and it was late, and raining... Nice taxi driver turned off his meter on second run around the block (?) .... it's not so easy to find this place; but when you do, it is in the perfect location for walking around Old Zurich.

Nearby are numerous eateries, nightclubs (a few too many very brightly lit sex shops) and everything else you could ever want. Postcard pretty pictures at every turn.

If you are very small, and travel with just a small backpack, don't do breakfast, this place is absolutely perfect for you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews